We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Service and Hospitality”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #225 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have stayed at The Mayfair Hotel several times before. This time was the best, and everything was perfect! The hotel's ambience is very 'chick' and 'elegant'. The concierge team were so helpful and professional. They managed all our restaurant bookings so efficiently. One of the best things i enjoy in this hotel is Sleeping quality! I highly recommend this hotel for Both Business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver_Zeitoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Oliver,
Thank you for your kind review.
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your special mention about Concierge.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,693 - 2,699 of 4,860 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Arrived today 3rd may Dropped car off for valet parking and checked in, all excellent until we arrived at the room, I booked champagne and strawberry's for our 20th wedding anniversary as a surprise. Absolutely disappointed as they were not in the room on arrival. Shower floor dirty, stained furniture. Not a good start to our anniversary celebrations.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankSandwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your review which I was extremely disappointed.
I was so sorry to hear the amenities were not in your room when you arrived and I do hope you will accept my personal apologies for this. I was also sorry to hear you were unhappy with certain elements of your room.
I do hope this was followed up by the team whilst you were in house and your Anniversary celebrations could be enjoyed.
If you would like to speak with me with any further concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
In the meantime, I send my best wishes to you.
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a short stay - lovely large room and bathroom but of especial note were the front desk staff who were so helpful and welcoming. The' people' difference does indeed make all the difference. Really made the trip.
Mary Welham

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Mary,
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay here at The May Fair.
Thank you also for your kind compliments about the team.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A friend and I decided to stay in this hotel in a relax weekend. We knew it was a little expensive but anyway - sometimes you have to live you life. We came to the hotel and got so surprised about the staff... I have never seen so excellent service and well informed employees. Really, all the staff we met was interested in helping you and give you information. We even got a cheap upgrade to a suite. The May fair bar was SUPER - and that was the reason we did not had a "relax" weekend as planned ... We went out every night and had an amazing weekend. I cannot say ANYTHING bad about the staff in this hotel. A special attention to a concierge guy called David, He gave us excellent service every evening!! WE COME BACK.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Kasper,
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments were truly a pleasure to read and thank you for your special mention about David.
We very much hope to welcome you back to The May Fair in the near future.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We visited the May Fair on Saturday 26th April as a special occasion and the experience was excellent - friendly, engaging staff, a perfect location and some very kind complimentary treats. The room was very comfortable and the bar was very lively in the evening. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Some rooms are above the reception/bar area and may be a little noisy in the evening but those would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Noel,
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your special occasion with us.
It was a pleasure to look after you and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here last Saturday night as part of my Stag night and have to say it's just about perfect. We booked a suite plus two adjacent room to have somewhere to chill out and watch some sport. Surprisingly the larger of the two adjoining rooms had a much smaller TV. Room service is very efficient.

All the rooms were of a decent size and well equipped. However none of the music players were compatible with modern iPhones which I found strange in a hotel of this quality. Also when checking into a suite it's usual to be shown to the room and have the features explained. We were given keys and off we went, prodding light fitting, remotes and ac controls as we went.

One of the reasons for choosing the May Fair was its Cigar Bar. Yep it was closed the night we stayed. The main hotel bar is good and I see it has its own tripadvisor page so I'll review it separately. Worth a visit but ensure you're ready for the bill.

The beds are very comfortable and the room was nice and quite. Breakfast is very good with a nice, if standard, range of options. Very well made fresh scrambled eggs.

All the staff we came across were very efficient, helpful and friendly as well as being smartly dressed.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the inner courtyard are quieter. Also press the button next to the far lift for qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuggyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your Stag night with us and many congratulations on your forthcoming Wedding!
I was so sorry to hear that you were unable to make use of our Cigar Room as there was a private party being held on the Saturday evening. I can understand this must have been disappointing for you and I do hope you will have the opportunity to return to visit us and enjoy this popular area in the Hotel.
We do hope to welcome you back soon and in the meantime, I send my best wishes to you.
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

All the staff were extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome, no request was a bother and are a credit to the hotel. The doorman was ever so helpful in helping me find the local car park and persevered with the instructions until I found it on the 6th attempt. Stayed in a deluxe room which was well equipped and the bed was really comfortable. I will definitely be staying here again. Keep up the great standards.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Chris,
Thank you for your review and I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your compliments about the team here. Pleasure to read!
We do hope to welcome you back very soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#116 of 1,077 in London
1,892 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,077 in London
3,369 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Westbury Mayfair
The Westbury Mayfair
#426 of 1,077 in London
1,505 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#70 of 1,077 in London
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in London
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#86 Family Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#123 Luxury Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £235 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing