We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but location, location, location!”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #217 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Libbins78
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Expensive, but location, location, location!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The May Fair District is one of the nicest areas in London! Shopping, food, etc etc etc is all within walking distance. The food is amazing, drinks are creative (and pricey!), and service is impeccable. We stayed two nights and would recommend to anyone to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbins78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,463
    1,143
    542
    296
    219
See reviews for
744
1,833
240
1,050
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was a birthday present to my partner, one that didn't disappoint! Looked after by Pau - cannot fault the service we received from him. We upgraded to the Deluxe Room for that extra bit of comfort, I cannot fault the cleanliness and general condition of the room. The 'famous' Mayfair bar justified the reputation. Lively as you would expect on a Saturday night, great selection of drinks and table service all night.

Thank you to all the staff that were always very polite and ready to help. Highly recommend, will definitely be visiting again.

Room 506, Arrival 03/05/14

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenFitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Lauren,
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us on this special occasion.
Thank you also for your compliments about Pau and I will be sure to pass these onto him.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Attended on a business trip so cannot comment on price but can comment on the quality of this hotel
Staff were all amazing and could not do enough for you
Made to feel very special indeed
Room was immaculate and was to a very high standard

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights. We arrived far early from check-in time but luckily front desk staff found available room quickly and let us in. It was very good move for us after having long flight.
Room was clean and spacious with good facilities. Bathroom was also spacious with bath-tub, walk-in shower and two sinks.
Location is great for everything - Green Park, Bond Street, Buckingham Palace, etc. are in walkable distance.
One drawback was Wifi connection... It was unstable and slow.
Overall, it was good luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDunphee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us.
Thank you also for your feedback about the WiFi connection and I will certainly have this looked into.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very nice hotel in a great central location for the west end, and very quiet at night. Room was stylishly equipped and very comfortable, a spacious for a west end hotel. Very helpful and courteous staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAN71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your kind revew.
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive comments.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here with a frend for an extended weekend. Our choice was mainky driven by hotel's location and when we arrived we realized it was really the best choice. You can walk to most of the London "hot spots" from here, but if you're not willing to walk - Piccadilly subway line is just a few steps away. The stay was also great, mainly due to the very friendly and helpful staff, They really tried hard to ensure everything is working perfectly at every posible step. Breakfats offered variety of food and drinks and if someone wanted more or something else - the hotelf stuff was able to make these wishes come true. :) The room wasn't huge, but still ok, always clean and fresh, with a very big bathroom and all ammenities available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Kasia,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I am just so pleased the Hotel has met with your expectations.
Your feedback is a pleasure to read and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The May Fair again soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very nice hotel but not worth the price. The front desk does not provide you with any information about the hotel. We were not told that breakfast was included with our room. We complained to the manager and he just apologized. Meanwhile we spent like 50 pounds on breakfast during our stay. I felt the manager could have offered us at least a drink in the bar.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunpotion69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear you like the Hotel.
I was, however, so sorry to hear that you were not informed that breakfast was included in your room rate when you arrived at the Hotel. I would like to offer you my personal apologies for this and assure you I have since spoken with our Front of House Manager. I am pleased to hear he has made contact with you to discuss this and you are now more than happy.
I do hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay and please do let me know if I can do anything further for you.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#145 of 1,069 in London
1,698 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,069 in London
1,423 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#382 of 1,069 in London
2,204 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#33 of 1,069 in London
3,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Property: The May Fair Hotel
Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#49 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#165 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing