We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #210 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My stay at May Fair was comfortable. The hotel is well maintained. The location is outstanding.
My room was clean and comfortable, well-appointed with all required amenities available. The bathroom was very spacious. The buffet breakfast is good.
Overall a very good stay, but personally I prefer boutique hotels.
Not sure it is worth the price, (although adequate for the location)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank einavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,444
    1,133
    540
    292
    217
See reviews for
730
1,828
238
1,039
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very nice hotel, attentive staff, dedicated, patient.
Reactivity good deal with a problem of air conditioning, quick change room and offers very nice compensation.
Fiorella was perfect and really listening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoisP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your compliments were truly a pleasure to read.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have stayed here twice for business in the last 12 months and have found it to be much improved. My latest stay was very comfortable. It's a great location and a very well maintained hotel. The rooms are very clean and well appointed.

The staff is the most noticeable improvement. They are attentive and helpful unlike a few years ago when they couldn't be bothered to assist in any way. There is a very large staff working the lobby.

The buffet breakfast is very nice. Pricey but not for the area.

When I was checking out all of the people working the desk were busy with other clients. A manager noticed I was waiting, came over and quickly checked me out. He then asked if I needed transportation to the airport. I said I would get a cab and he offered to arrange transportation. He walked me to the concierge who arranged a car which arrived in minutes. The cost was similar to that of a taxi and so much more comfortable. I had never received this type of service at the Mayfair in the past. It is a welcome change. I will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njfamilyvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review.
I was absolutely delighted to hear how happy you were with your recent stay and thank you for your kind compliments. I was so pleased we were able to make you comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Nice bar where we had cocktails and lunch on arrival. Room was beautifully furnished in a modern style. There was a bottle of bubbly left out for us which was very sweet (special occasion). Super location. Recommended for a romantic. / city break. Cigar lounge was quirky; have a drink there even if you don't smoke...

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 3PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review.
I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit and we do hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

In writing this a loyal guest of 10 years to the Mayfair hotel.

During this time I have seen many a staff come and go, most are extremely pleasant and more then willing to help, my stay is always comfortable hence why I've returned so many times.
However !!!!!!
This weekend I booked in as per usual and on check in was greeted as usual with all the respect as if I was a VIP, then I went to my room were I had a bottle of much needed complimentary champers on ice and then I settled down to sleep.... Throughout the night a door was being slammed but all it took the next day was a quiet word with the lovely and amazing danelie the guest relations manager whom at once moved me to a suite,the sweet was as usual clean, beautiful and and luxurious and that's were I was for two nights.
The next day on calling room service I was to that under no circumstance was they to let me have food as my card was declined????
Being a loyal and regular customer I was shocked by the way the receptionist dealt with it and instead of calling me she put the block on my account? After a call to my bank I was told it was because too many transactions were going through at once from the hotel.
After speaking to paul mace regading this it was all sorted and between him and Janice another lovely manager I was happy to stay another night despite feeling like I was a criminal.
On being moved to another room I was called by my bank and told more transactions were being taken so I went to reception and after losing my temper and nearly ending up in tears I was eventually given the chance to speak to the GMwho straight away was sharp on the ball and very attentive and extremely helpful.
My point is that after staying here for ten years and never having a problem it was disappointing that I had to go through that but I will and prob always will remain a loyal guest the hotel and it's staff give or take a few :) all hotels have a bad day but maybe if you tried again it may be put right.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryleymiasofiacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review.
I was delighted to hear how much you have enjoyed your stays with us. I was, however, so sorry to hear that you experienced such a problem during this visit and please do accept my personal apologies for this. I will certainly follow up with the Front of House Manager.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libbins78
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The May Fair District is one of the nicest areas in London! Shopping, food, etc etc etc is all within walking distance. The food is amazing, drinks are creative (and pricey!), and service is impeccable. We stayed two nights and would recommend to anyone to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbins78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was a birthday present to my partner, one that didn't disappoint! Looked after by Pau - cannot fault the service we received from him. We upgraded to the Deluxe Room for that extra bit of comfort, I cannot fault the cleanliness and general condition of the room. The 'famous' Mayfair bar justified the reputation. Lively as you would expect on a Saturday night, great selection of drinks and table service all night.

Thank you to all the staff that were always very polite and ready to help. Highly recommend, will definitely be visiting again.

Room 506, Arrival 03/05/14

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenFitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Lauren,
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us on this special occasion.
Thank you also for your compliments about Pau and I will be sure to pass these onto him.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#156 of 1,068 in London
1,663 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,405 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#383 of 1,068 in London
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,177 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,068 in London
3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Property: The May Fair Hotel
Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#48 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#161 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing