We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice located but too crowded and noisy”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #224 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a nice hotel centered located but it's too crowdy and noisy.
Clean and convenient located just 1 block from Picadilly St and 1 block from Green Park subway station.
Rooms are average sized and clean.
The negative is some of the tourist staying at the hotel, they are noisy, shouting at the corridors when returning from their drinks at early morning not respecting the rest of the others, kids banging doors and screaming,...complained about that and was offered a new room, fair but the nigh was over!.
When taxi came to pick me up for the airport and asked for my name told I had never been in that hotel and almost left. Service in that respect is awful!!
There are many smaller and nicer hotels in the neighborhood for the price and you are not treated as another number.
I'll think it twice before returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the end of corridor rooms, if you are lucky you can have a good rest.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MigueAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us.
I was, however, so sorry to hear about the disturbance you experienced from other residents and please do accept my personal apologies for this. I will certainly follow up on the points you have raised and would like to thank you for your feedback.
I do hope you will return to stay with us on a future occasion so you can experience The May Fair as I would have liked you to on this visit.
In the meantime, I send my best wishes to you.
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,705)
There are newer reviews for The May Fair Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,418 - 2,424 of 4,704 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had great time in this fashionable hotel, this time we came for a family trip , the team at the front desk, concierge and dining room were very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was very good.
Guest relation were very helpful before and during our stay. We will come again with pleasure .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Eran,
Thank you for your kind review.
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I really like this hotel, it has a really nice relaxed feel when you walk in. The location is great - just round the corner from Green Park tube meaning you can get to everywhere in central London easily. The reception staff are good, there were sweets in the lobby when we checked in which went down very well!! We stayed in a family room which had 2 bathrooms which was useful as there was myself and 2 friends staying and there was a tv in one of the bathrooms!! Very impressed!! Basically I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cufccaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I was so pleased to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay at The May Fair and liked the family room you were allocated.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Lovely room, beautiful big comfortable bed, nice service, excellent atmosphere in the bar and fab dj. You can only use the spa as part of a package at an extra charge, and breakfast was £30 each so we didn't bother with that. Lovely breakfast round the corner for 1/4 of the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hoochie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel lived up to all expectations without providing anything particularly special. The hotel has a busy, polished feel and is in a great location for central London. Right next to the tube, near shops, bars, amazing restaurants and a great area for wandering around.

The room was a little smaller than I expected but was nice especially the bathroom. i was on the top floor and heard no traffic noise but the banging of doors in the morning was so loud and horrible!

The price of the hotel was good, but the restaurant. bar and room service are expensive. Breakfast wasn't included and although it was good service was really poor. The staff in the actual hotel were efficient and friendly though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Maddie,
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for your additional feedback which I will most certainly take on board and thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I do hope this will not deter you from returning to The May Fair on a future occasion.
In the meantime, I send my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Myself and a friend had a truly fantastic experience at the Mayfair recently. Prior to arrival, I informed the hotel that it was my friend's birthday and a bottle of prosecco and some beautiful macaroon's were waiting in our room for us. Staff were out of this world and did everything to make our stay truly fantastic and accommodate all of our requirements. Everything about the hotel is world class... I would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Lauren,
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear you and your friend had a nice time with us and enjoyed your the additional amenities in your room for your friend's birthday!
We do hope to welcome you both back again soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. A very nice room with a good wifi connection. The location is perfect in the middle of London, though still with easy access to the nearby parks where I went for a run. Business facilities, including the booking of a breakfast meeting, worked really well also.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Casper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Casper,
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to hear you were happy with the Hotel for your business trip.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#139 of 1,072 in London
1,748 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#387 of 1,072 in London
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#52 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#168 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £262 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing