We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #221 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just returned from a family 2 night stay at The May Fair. Hotel was pre-paid but they still required a deposit of £300.00 per room for our 2 night stay !
Luggage was not delivered to our rooms, so after waiting for 20 minutes I decided to go back to reception where our luggage was in full view of all in the main lobby. I then pushed the trolley myself to the lift and up to our rooms ( accompanied by one of the 4 bell boys / concierge who we're standing right next to it. )
The rooms were tiny , one slightly larger than the other. Best thing about the rooms were the toiletries !!!
Complementary newspaper was not delivered on the second morning - no explanation or apology .
When checking out, I was not asked if I enjoyed my stay, so I had to initiate that conversation.
Car parking £55 / 24 hrs....
We normally stay at The Berkley Hotel which is a world away from this.
I will never stay here again, and would warn anyone to think twice before booking. While I was checking in a gentleman was heatedly complaining about his room and demanding to be moved, and on checking out an Australian lady was also complaining about her room. ( she recommended The Sanderson )

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Derrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,463 - 2,469 of 4,764 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

I've stayed at most of the 5 star hotels in London over the years, from the stuffy ones to the ones that leave you wondering "How is this place a 5-star?". The May Fair is certainly one of the best in London. Very hip, cool hotel. Great staff, the newly refurbed restaurant is excellent and the breakfast buffet is unlikely to be beaten by any other hotel in London. The bar scene is very lively in the evening, but an appropriate place for business meetings during the day as well. All in all, you'll be very impressed and pleased with your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarkMarije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your review and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your compliments were a pleasure to read and we do hope to welcome you back again very soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and we will definitely be returning.
It's just around the corner from the Green Park tube station so it's easy to get to. It's also within walking distance of Victoria Coach Station, although I wouldn't advise it if you have a lot of heavy luggage.
The hotel itself is exactly what you would expect from a 5 star hotel......the staff are very helpful and polite and the rooms are very sophisticated.
We arrived 5 hours before check in so we could leave our luggage there while we explored, but we were allowed to check in and access our room for no extra charge.
We had breakfast included which was also very nice. It was a buffet breakfast so you can have either a continental or full english.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stac_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your wonderful comments too.
We very much hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had a great stay in August, only one night but would have loved a few more. Staff were very accommodating & friendly. Room was upgraded on arrival. Great location, 3 minute walk from Buck Palace. Lots of the 'beautiful people' swanning about and was fun to watch the conspicuous display of extreme wealth off the other guests. Very nice hotel indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your kind compliments and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

we was staying a week ago. when we arrived we was upgraded to Junior Suit. Wow... the room was amazing very, very spacious, with 2 huge TV, lovely UK flag fridge full with bubbles :) Bathroom was very clean and large. Bathrooms products "Essential Elements" was amazing. You have IPad for use in the room, where you can do everything by it, control room temperature, order room service, book table in restaurant. Is amazing and experience was getting better :) Restaurant!!!! what a choice of sea food, and meet all keep for 28 days. food and service was just amazing. We had best meal in wonderful atmosphere with most helpful staff. Beds super comfortable. Breakfast ... what a choice!!! From healthy fresh to full English Breakfast. Highly recommend! Thank you all, hotel staff, for making our stay so amazing!!!! we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gintareged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the Junior Suite you were allocated.
Thank you also for your compliments about our new addition, The May Fair Kitchen. I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I booked a wrong date by mistake online. As I was going to a wedding I needed to stay there. I phone the hotel the day before the wedding to find out that I put the wrong date on my booking and I was informed the hotel is fully booked. I asked if I can get a refund but I was informed that my booking was made under advance purchase rate and cannot get a refund nor change the date. Then I wrote an email to the manager. As a 'gesture of goodwill' they agreed to change the date. I phoned the reservation numerous occasion but was unable to get someone on the phone for 3 hours. In fact I don't need to stay in London but I am forced to stay there because I cant get my money back. While I was able to get someone on the phone, there was no professionalism and customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank Raden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Raden,
Thank you for your review which I was most disappointed to read.
Our Front of House Manager has tried to make contact with you to no avail and may I therefore ask if you would be so kind as to call the Hotel, when you have a moment, so you can speak with him directly.
Thank you Raden.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel on Carlson points and they gave us a really spacious room on the 8th floor. Really comfortable bed and plenty of space in the room. Very well equipped bathroom and well designed shower, so that you could control the water temperature without having to stand in it! All the basics and all the extras that you could need were in the room and it had a kettle, rather than one of those stupid coffee makers, so you can make a proper cup of tea. Restaurant also good for breakfast.

Room Tip: Being a member of the Carlson Club may be an advantage as it is a Radisson hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank phil0047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Phil,
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments were a pleasure to read and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#132 of 1,076 in London
1,815 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#19 of 1,076 in London
1,445 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,076 in London
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#383 of 1,076 in London
2,248 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#55 of 1,076 in London
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#50 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#166 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £250 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing