We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #212 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Nice environment and very friendly and efficient afternoon tea team. Would go back to it anytime. A nice place to take your guests and impress them! Central London near Oxford Street and Hyde Park. Ideal for shopping and relaxing time at the same time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maria Eugenia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Maria,
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us.
Your compliments were really a pleasure to read and we do hope to welcome you back soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,443
    1,133
    540
    292
    216
See reviews for
729
1,828
238
1,038
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed during the August bank holiday - pleased that when we arrived at 11am the room was ready for us to check in.

The location was fantastic, close to Green Park station with loads of top-class restaurants nearby (we chose Novikov). The hotel furnishings and surroundings are nice, nothing spectacular and I would say the same for the room. Considering the price of this hotel the room was no better than a standard decent London hotel, we were not blown away but neither was there anything wrong; it was distinctly average.

We were disappointed that the refreshments in the room used uht packaged milk and there were no treats (biscuits or chocolates) which other 4/5* hotels usually provide as standard. We called down to room service at 9.10am on the Sunday morning to request fresh milk for tea/coffee and were told it was on its way - by 10.15 we had given up hope and checked out. This was disappointing as when paying over £200 per night for a room you'd think they could provide some fresh milk.

Reception staff were friendly as we're housekeeping staff who greeted us with welcoming smiles. Rooms came equipped with everything that you would expect without anything extra to make you think 'wow'.

We probably would not return to this hotel as the service we received did not match the price paid, and the facilities did not make up for this lacklustre service. We got the impression the hotel prioritised a small number of VIP guests while the others were left by the wayside. On our return to London will will stay in the InterContinental just around the corner.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GibsonM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
I was so sorry to read your feedback about the facilities here at The May Fair and may I personally apologise that you had a disappointing visit with us and the Hotel did not meet with your expectations. I will certainly take on board your constructive comments and follow up with my team.
I do hope you might reconsider and stay with us again so you can enjoy the Hotel as I would have liked you to on this visit.
In the meantime, I send my best wishes to you.
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday as a theatre hotel break as a treat from our daughter.
We have travelled extensively on holiday all over the world staying in some beautiful hotels.
Check in was awful our room was not ready until 3.30 we were told we would receive champagne and chocolates sadly they never arrived. It was also my birthday on the Saturday which the hotel were informed of, not even the hotel card as such was given, we've stayed in hotels where we've celebrated birthdays anniversaries and have always received a complimentary something such as bottles of wine, flowers cakes etc. so have to say felt rather let down.
The room itself was pleasant with a lovely bathroom but would have liked a bath.
The breakfast was excellent I have to say with a huge variety of things on offer
However eating felt rather cramped as the tables were close together.
There is a bar which we had a couple of drinks at have to say we were entertained by a couple of champagne Charlie types who definitely had one too many.
The service at this hotel is very good from door staff, concierge, bar staff and restaurant staff.
We had an overall good experience and the location is superb.
What I would say to the manager try and make it a more personal stay for your guests, as it's the little touches that bring people returning.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harry02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Harry,
Thank you for your review and for choosing The May Fair to celebrate such a special occasion.
I was sorry to hear that this was not recognised and please do accept my personal apologies for this. I have most certainly taken your comments on board.
I will also be following up on your further feedback with my Heads of Department.
Thank you for your kind compliments about the service of my team and I will of course pass on this positive feedback to them.
I do personally hope you will return to stay with us Harry as I would really like you to enjoy The May Fair as I would have liked you to on this occasion. Perhaps I will also have the opporutunity of meeting with you.
In the meantime, I send my warmest wishes to you and your wife.
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

If you love London that this Hotel puts you right in the middle of everything. And if you add modern spacious rooms, friendly staff and good rates, then you get a Gem. Very rare to get this combination in London. I simply adore this hotel.

Room Tip: Book deluxe room or higher and insist on including breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying with us here at The May Fair.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home".
In the meantime, I send my best wishes to you.
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Over the years we have stayed in a number of London hotels and always found them wanting. No more. The May Fair is superb. Got it all. Great location, great service, great rooms and great restaurants. The concierge and front door staff cannot be beat. Always so friendly. Same for the front desk staff. Taxis always waiting in front. And what a great location in the heart of Mayfair and just a block from Picadilly. The public areas and all the rooms have been recently done over at obvious considerable cost, and the result is an amazing place. Our room was very decent sized. Dining in the new hotel restaurant was exceptional. With the dollar the way it is to the British pound, nothing is reasonable any more, but for the value this place was well worth it. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyr932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Jeffrey,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I was absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for your kind comments.
We are all so pleased that you now class The May Fair as your new "home away from home" and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With my warmest wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just returned from a family 2 night stay at The May Fair. Hotel was pre-paid but they still required a deposit of £300.00 per room for our 2 night stay !
Luggage was not delivered to our rooms, so after waiting for 20 minutes I decided to go back to reception where our luggage was in full view of all in the main lobby. I then pushed the trolley myself to the lift and up to our rooms ( accompanied by one of the 4 bell boys / concierge who we're standing right next to it. )
The rooms were tiny , one slightly larger than the other. Best thing about the rooms were the toiletries !!!
Complementary newspaper was not delivered on the second morning - no explanation or apology .
When checking out, I was not asked if I enjoyed my stay, so I had to initiate that conversation.
Car parking £55 / 24 hrs....
We normally stay at The Berkley Hotel which is a world away from this.
I will never stay here again, and would warn anyone to think twice before booking. While I was checking in a gentleman was heatedly complaining about his room and demanding to be moved, and on checking out an Australian lady was also complaining about her room. ( she recommended The Sanderson )

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Derrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I've stayed at most of the 5 star hotels in London over the years, from the stuffy ones to the ones that leave you wondering "How is this place a 5-star?". The May Fair is certainly one of the best in London. Very hip, cool hotel. Great staff, the newly refurbed restaurant is excellent and the breakfast buffet is unlikely to be beaten by any other hotel in London. The bar scene is very lively in the evening, but an appropriate place for business meetings during the day as well. All in all, you'll be very impressed and pleased with your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMarije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May811, General Manager at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your compliments were a pleasure to read and we do hope to welcome you back again very soon.
With my best wishes,
Inderneel Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#158 of 1,069 in London
1,663 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,069 in London
1,404 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#383 of 1,069 in London
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,177 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#35 of 1,069 in London
3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Property: The May Fair Hotel
Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#48 Spa Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#162 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing