We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Even at this price”
Review of The May Fair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The May Fair Hotel
Ranked #224 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Simply great place for a London shopping/Theatre treat. I like staying in Mayfair, and this place (second trip here) doesn't dissapoint. It is glamorous and rooms are decent size, service great, and not too snobby. After a great mohito and martini at the hotel bar we walked around aimlessly for a restaurant (there were plenty, we are just useless at deciding), could not decide where to go, and ended up back at the Amber restaurant in the hotel - great meal. Its a very good place to treat the missus, and you won't feel out of place. OK, the bar is not cheap (£9 for a good cocktail) and restaurant isnt bdget (£90 for two with wine and 2 courses) but it was very good value, especially for London. If you can get a room for £200 then its value, less stuffy than the Westbury (still v good) and the restaurant and service are better.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayFairHotel, Charles P. Oak at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2009

Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for staying at the May Fair Hotel, and for taking the time to share your feedback online.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and got to take in a show.

I sincerely hope with have an opportunity of welcoming you back to the May Fair sometime in the future.

Regards
Charles P. Oak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,101 - 4,107 of 4,899 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2009

My partner and i stayed at The Mayfair last sunday the first of november 2009.We chose one of their allergy friendly rooms.The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Our room was very nice indeed,not much of a view but clean and fresh.We had a drink at the bar which was great,even on a sunday evening it had real atmosphere.
The hotel is in a lovely location,handy for just about everything.We both had a very comfortable and pleasant night's sleep.A real delight.The mayfair is definately a five star
experience! Ms A lediard ,Bath ,England.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westgirlnrbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayFairHotel, Charles P. Oak at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2009

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for choosing the May Fair Hotel for your recent stay in London. We very much appreciate you taken the time to complete your review online to share with others.

I am delighted you got to experience our new allergy friendly room and glad it meet your expectations.

I would like to thank you for this very helpful feedback and I sincerely hope with have an opportunity of welcoming you back to the May Fair sometime in the future.

Regards
Charles P. Oak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Only stayed one night in a big, comfy, bed. Nice Bathroom. Good Breakfast buffet, hot food cooked to order.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayFairHotel, Charles P. Oak at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2009

Dear Reviewer

Further to your recent stay at the May Fair Hotel I am in receipt of your feedback which you very kindly took the time to complete online.

Your review serves as a great motivator to the team here at the Hotel.

I would like to thank you for this very helpful feedback and I sincerely hope with have an opportunity of welcoming you back to the May Fair sometime in the future.

Regards
Charles P. Oak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

This was an outstanding hotel...clean, great service and location. In particular the concierge staff members were attentive, accessible and very knowledgable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichBlackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

I had chosen this hotel just for the position and for the good report seen in Trip Advisor but unfortunately was a terrible experience.
Though a friend i booked 2 normal room because an upgrade was promised due to big avaibility of the hotel. Instead no upgrade at arrival despite a Silver card of Gold Point Plus showed at the check in.
At 4 pm, one of the two room was not ready, the luggage stand 20 minutes alone in the lobby, and after 15 minutes they gave as the 350 room (one of the worst and smallest). The room was small and noisy in the night (3 floor just in front of Nobu and other clubs and restaurant).
They didn't clean the day after because we forgot to use MAKE UP ROOM botton, and when we did at 8.30pm was too late.
The last day we ask a late check out at 3pm just for one room to leave our luggage and use bathroom but they asked 20 GBP each our.
Finally, just 3 lifts,always busy, often the key card wasn't working. A man who worked there said that always happens.
Forget it if you are looking for luxury and enjoy other hotel in this wonderful city

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marioworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayFairHotel, Charles P. Oak at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2009

Further to your recent stay at the May Fair Hotel I am in receipt of your feedback which you very kindly took the time to complete online.

Feedback such as this is essential to ensure we constantly monitor our standards and procedures to eliminate errors.

Naturally I was very disturbed to read the catalogue of errors and problems you encountered during your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies, it would be churlish of me to try and justify the myriad of incidents you had to endure.

Please be assured that I take your complaint extremely seriously and these issues have been brought to the attention of the relevant Heads of Department, along with the entire larger management team.

With regard to your complaint about the noise coming from the street, I am deeply upset that after such poor service you were also inconvenienced by this.

Naturally I fully appreciate that you are now reluctant to return to the May Fair but I would like to stress that complaints of this nature are rare and that we would welcome the chance to change your current perception.

Regards
Charles P. Oak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a two night break in the May Fair Hotel, London.
It is just minutes walk from the Green Park tube station, had a good sized bedroom (we stayed in a deluxe room with terrace), a lovely restaurant (where Mel B, ie ex Spice Girl ,was at the next table!) and two good bars.

I would definitely stay here again when next in London.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMA555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayFairHotel, Charles P. Oak at The May Fair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2009

Dear Reviewer

Further to your recent stay at the May Fair Hotel I am in receipt of your feedback which you very kindly took the time to complete online.

I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and was even able to do alittle star stopping!

I would like to thank you for this very helpful feedback and I sincerely hope with have an opportunity of welcoming you back to the May Fair sometime in the future.

Regards
Charles P. Oak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Having wanted to stay at this hotel for many years I finally got the chance. I had looked on their website to enquire about rooms and prices. Not understanding how to book a twin deluxe (I could only see superior twin) I called the reservation directly. I told the person on the phone my wish and told them I needed a twin room (I would have been visiting with my father). I was told the price would be £722.20. A double Deluxe would have cost £488 and once I asked why was there such a steep difference in price when only two people would be staying in the room (eg like a double only the fact I wanted a twin room) I was told very rudely and abruptly that, and I quote "well if you can't afford the price I have stated why are you interested in staying at this type of hotel" and the phone was put down on me.

I have been extreamly upset about the comments. I no way was I ignorant or angry towards the member of staff (whose name I cannot remember as I was so shocked at the time) and I did not expect to be spoke to in that way. I have stayed at Radisson hotels before and never had any troubles but this has extreamly upset me.

If you want to stay at this hotel you better let the Hotel see your bank balance first as they don't seem to want "other" people to use their hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePromise27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#114 of 1,077 in London
1,923 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,396 reviews
Mayfair
The Westbury Mayfair
The Westbury Mayfair
#419 of 1,077 in London
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#391 of 1,077 in London
2,303 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The May Fair Hotel

Address: Stratton Street, London W1J 8LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
#47 Spa Hotel in London
#86 Family Hotel in London
#108 Business Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
#164 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £225 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The May Fair Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious May Fair Hotel is located in sophisticated Mayfair, resurgent again as London's true luxury quarter. The May Fair puts you in a peaceful spot right in the heart of the West End, between all the great parks, theatres, galleries and attractions of London and with direct underground links to Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The May Fair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Fair London
Mayfair Hotel London
May Fair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing