We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Cozy hotel with good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
Ranked #265 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small Cozy hotel with good staff”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel in Jan this year on a business trip. I have stayed earlier at the Jumeriah in Dubai so the hotel turned out to be very different from what I had thought. However I read the description they have on the site and was pleased to find that it accurately depicted the hotel.While the Dubai hotel is all grand this one is very cozy and has a very different feel to it. The rooms are well equipped and have a more boutqiue look.The staff is excellent and very helpful. The nearest tube station is a 10 minute walk. The hotel shares a few facilities with the Carlton tower (the health club and the spa).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy123S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in a "smaller" Jumeirah hotel. I am glad that our colleagues made you feel welcome and were helpful during your stay - perhaps we might be able to welcome you back in the future?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    187
    50
    17
    6
See reviews for
83
199
38
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have been staying at the Lowndes or the sister hotel the Carlton Tower for nearly 10 years after years of travelling to London and facing some real nightmares to stay in on my own - either location or the hotels themselves. It is great to stay somewhere safe, comfortable and where the staff are highl trained to look after you and be helpful. The Lowndes is quite small (and about to be refurbished after 4 years) but the rooms function well with very comfortable beds, desk and Wifi , plasma TV and adequate size bathroom. There are suites on many floors and the entire 6th floor with large rooms, dining and sitting rooms. The restaurant has great food -more comfort than Michelin - but at least when travelling it has the local Brithsh fare and also middle eastern/ far eastern, and often good seafood and steak. It also has an outside Terrace with heating and in the summer months one of the largest outdoor Terraces in the area. Great location for shops, tube, bars, restaurants and for business as well.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony or a small jnr suite for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and I am delighted that you continue to enjoy your stays with us. The team look forward to welcoming you back next week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a small intimate hotel. We drove from Newcastle so pulled up outside in the car. The first member of concierge/bell staff we encountered was very helpful, unloaded our bags, advised us where the local car park was (for £36 per day as opposed to the £48 the hotel charges) and watched the car while we checked in. We were promptly checked in on arrival and our room was ready early at 1pm which was a bonus.

The next member of staff who brought our bags to the room was so miserable. It had been badly raining outside and as opposed to being jovial about it and making polite chit chat (everyone was wet) he barely grunted, made no eye contact and sighed an awful lot. We had the pleasure of his company again on checkout and he was equally as bad. He loaded our car up with us but made no effort to communicate what so ever.

The rooms are very clean and the products in the bathroom are delicious. Unfortunately the bathrooms are very small and claustrophobic. But the water is nice and hot with good pressure and there are two types of shower over the bath (handheld and fixed). I slipped standing up from the bath, there are slip mats provided on the glass shelves about the toilet which I was not using at the time but i did hurt and bruise myself so be careful.

The bedroom is adequate size and the coffee machine is lovely. We were in room 310 just outside the lift and I can sleep through anything so wasn't disturbed but my partner said it was very noisy.

The bed is definitely in the top 5 comfiest beds i have ever ever slept in. Hairdryer was really powerful, TV was great, lovely robes and slippers too.

We did not include breakfast as we love going a 1 minute walk around the corner to the Belgravia Patisserie Valerie.

We paid just under £700 for a Deluxe King Room Only on Lastminute.com

The location of this hotel is the best selling point of all. Walking distance to all sorts and plenty taxis available!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise for the lack of positivity shown by one of my colleagues which reduced your satisfaction with the stay although I hope that the remainder of the service you received was satisfactory. Thank you again for your positive review and I hope that we can welcome you back at some stage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay in the Jumeirah Lowdnes, the junior sibling of the nearby Carlton Tower, with which it shares some facilities. While the hotel is well situated for hi end shoppers, visitors focussed on art and culture or the financial district might be better located further east. There is good public transport nearby.

The public areas are quite limited for a five star hotel but the sidewalk and rear open-air eating areas are attractive (when the weather permits their use!) and unusual for London.

Our ‘Executive Room’ and its bathroom were relatively small but intelligently designed and well equipped, with plenty of storage and good lighting. The room also had an E facing balcony but we were permitted to use it only after signing an indemnity stating that we were doing so against the ‘strong advice’ of the hotel!

We thought our pre-paid rate of c. $425 per night reasonable value by contemporary London standards. Some extras were relatively inexpensive for a five star hotel but calls from the room phone cost up to $22 per minute!

WiFi is fast, free and uncomplicated throughout the property. All the staff we met were pleasant and professional.

There is a range of breakfast options in a pleasant room with a mix of buffet and table service - we appreciated the offer of a quality light continental at a low price.

Overall, a pleasant and complaint-free experience in a well designed and well managed property.. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights and loved it. It is situate 5 minute walk from Knightsbridge tube station on the Picadilly line and Harrods and other premier shops. It is a modern hotel but the interior is very pleasing.
The staff are wonderful, very pleasant and courteous. Checking in was fast and pleasant and we were offered drinks on our arrival.
We were offered an upgrade to a junior suite but at a cost, so we decided to take the room we had been assigned. It was perfectly adequate for our needs. The bed was just right and the pillows the way we like it. It was clean and housekeeping certainly kept up the standard.
We had thought that breakfast wasn't included but our room choice allowed the continental breakfast in the mornings. An English or Arabic breakfast would have cost extra. There was no need for either though as the choice at the buffet was large and delicious. We never went hungry in the morning!
I would certainly recommend this hotel to either the business traveller or a couple on a weekend/week's break to London. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairetje88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay and I am pleased that the facilites and services provided met your expectations. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Many thanks again for your kind words. Ian Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel is great. The staff are fantastic and its certainly worth booking in here. Great location, central London It's very clean, the rooms are very small and can be a bit noisy but the overall experience more than makes up for that.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LADY VICTORIA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided to you by our colleagues. We hope to see you again soon. Ian Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Certainly one of London's best located Hotels, The Lowndes is part of the Jumeirah group. The rooms are small but cosy, and they are very nice. The breakfast is really good and quite ideal for business meeting in the morning. The only problem is that tables are a little to close to each other. Nevertheless as per budget it is difficult to get a better place in London. You have access to the Carlton Tower Spa and Pool.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGastronomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here as well as the spa and gym facilities at our sister hotel on the other side of Lowndes Street. We hope to see you again soon. Ian Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#129 of 1,069 in London
610 reviews
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,069 in London
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#38 of 1,069 in London
740 reviews
Knightsbridge
Millennium Hotel London Knightsbridge
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#94 of 1,069 in London
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel

Property: Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
Address: 21 Lowndes Street, London SW1X 9ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Business Hotel in London
#199 Luxury Hotel in London
#207 Romantic Hotel in London
#269 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel is situated in London’s leafy and fashionable Belgravia village. Each of the 87 bedrooms has been beautifully finished in contemporary style and boasts complimentary high speed wired and wireless internet connection, nespresso coffee machine, plasma television, and iPod dock. The hotel features Lowndes Bar & Kitchen - a relaxed restaurant offering all-day dining - and in summer, the Terrace for al fresco dining. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to The Peak Health Club and Spa, located across the road at our sister hotel, Jumeirah Carlton Tower which features full gym equipment, 20m indoor swimming pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Lowndes London
Hotel Jumeirah Lowndes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing