We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
Ranked #253 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked a secret hotel through lastminute.com and found ourselves at the Jumeirah Lowndes in Knightsbridge. The location was ideal for exploring London. I hoped to use the spa facilities at the sister hotel nearby, but as it was a late booking, it wasn't surprising to find the spa fully booked. I'll have to leave that treat for next time. I was pleasantly surprised to find that I had been chosen to receive a surprise package. This consisted of free breakfasts for two, a room upgrade, a bouquet of flowers, a box of spa products and candles, a box of chocolates, 2 tickets for the London Eye and £100 to spend in the restaurant. Needless to say, we had a wonderful time. I thought that the level of service was just right, attentive without being overpowering. The desk staff were really helpful and knowledgeable, and the restaurant staff took great care to ensure that we were able to enjoy our meal and get to the theatre on time. All the members of staff we encountered seemed to enjoy their work and appeared to be genuinely caring. Thank you all so much for a fabulous treat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aqualass2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed our "Surprise Package". I am pleased that you enjoyed the levels of service that we provided, and hope that you might return and be able to spend some time relaxing and being pampered in the Peak Health Club and Spa at our sister property. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel has been refreshed and looks lovely. The staff here are amazing, remembering us after our last visit 9 months ago. Rooms are spotless, service is amazing, staff are worth 10 out of 10. Stay here if you are in London you will not be disappointed !

Room Tip: Try not to be near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADY VICTORIA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind words - it was great to have you back and I am pleased that you liked the newly refurbished bedrooms. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I arrived at 7am, after an overnight flight from JFK, expecting to be asked to wait for check-in time, but to my surprise, I was able to check-in right away. Kudos to Elvira at the desk. Staff are all warm and welcoming.
My assigned room was in pristine condition, with lovely linens, and all conveniences. Being only one floor up, the view was unremarkable, only the terraced fire escape and some neighborhood roofs, but still let in lots of light without sacrificing privacy. Bathroom is well appointed - even if it takes a few tries to choose the correct faucet. Superb soaps and shampoo, fresh scented so both men and women can use. Bar fridge is expensive!! as one would expect, but Waitrose supermarket is literally steps away, so you can buy snacks or breakfast cereals, fruit etc. Be aware, however, the bar fridge is computerized, so even if you take items out to make room for your own, you may be charged for the bar fridge items.
The pool at the sister hotel should not be missed. It is literally 2 minutes walk to get to and is also pristine. It is 20 meters long, so a decent lap pool, not only to splash about in. Well behaved, accompanied children are also welcomed. There is also a steam room and sauna, as well as a fitness center.
There must be hundreds of eateries in the area. Be aware that it is EXPENSIVE to eat out in London. Expect to spend $US50+per person, at any restaurant for dinner. There is also a built-in 'gratuity' in place of tipping, usually 12%. You can ask to have it removed from the bill in most places.. should you desire.
It is a 10 minute walk to the Tube station and Harvey Nicks, 15 mins to Harrods, and 20 mins to the V&A. Please don't miss the V&A, it's a donation for entry, and even if you just go for lunch and the museum shop, it's worth it. The lunch I had there was delicious and the best value in Knightsbridge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to get you to your room straight away on your morning arrival. Thank you also for highlighting all the fantatstic things that there are to do and see in our neighbourhood, and I am glad that you got to enjoy the facilties at The Peak Health Club and Spa at our sister property which as you point out is literally less than two minutes away. We do hope that we might be able to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I managed to book a surprise hotel stay in London for our anniversary.
I booked the Jumeirah Lowndes (boutique hotel) for it's convenient position to our itinerary for the day .We have used Jumeirah hotels in Abu-Dhabi and Dubai, so knew what to expect. The Hotel is situated in a very nice square, and is a very safe part of London.
I got a reasonable rate room, not base, but not top level.
The staff were very polite, as in all Jumeirah hotels. The service was exceptional.
We needed valet parking, which was highly efficient .The room was of a very high standard, and all the usual comforts were there.We loved the decoration of the hotel, and the rooms very clean.
If i was going to have one negative it would have to be the exterior appearance! I know you don't look at the outside from within, but we avoided any outside photo shots of the building. It was not in any poor condition or disrepair, but it looks like a 1970's block of apartments.
That said we loved every minute here, the Terrace lounge food was excellent and the staff refreshingly helpful and polite. The costs were not high considering where you are in London. Harrods being a 10minute walk, and Hyde Park the same. All the museums are within easy walking distance.
If you need a comfortable, reasonably priced hotel in London, then you wont go far wrong with the Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel.
We loved it, and would recommend it to our friends, family and any travelers who want comfort at a fair price.

Room Tip: The Fitness center, Pool and Spa are located in the sister hotel Jumeirah Carlton Tower, however thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 333Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate that the building does not represent an architectural huighlight within its neighbourhood but hope that what happens inside the hotel more than compensates for this! Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It is with shock and regret that it must be reported that a jewel of London's boutique hotels has fallen. Whilst the service as ever is second to none as you would expect from a Jumeirah. A dear friend has been badly vandalised. The peace and quiet of the retreat that was the Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel is no more.

It is very hard to understand why such a cheap refit and redesign has been allowed by the Jumeirah group. The rooms have lost all their old character charm and warmth. For reasons beyond understanding all the doors have been replaced and the large mirrors that gave the rooms a feeling of space removed. In the past there was a satisfying clunk when the sturdy door closed behind you and you were in an oasis of quiet, now every word is heard in the corridor and guest in adjoining rooms may as well throw open the door and join the party.

The re-design is a disaster with a Premier Inn refit. Rooms that had a luxurious and understated charm now have the minimalist feel of a motorway Motel. The Jumeriah team would be well advised not to repeat the mistake at the flagship Carlton Tower. A night or two at the Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel was something to look forward to - sadly no longer.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not book a room with an adjoining door or you will be listening to your next door n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CitybreakWestcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review and obviously I am very disappointed that you are not happy with the recent refurbishment of the bedrooms. As the person overseeing the project I am sad that you no longer look forward to coming to stay with us.
I would just like to mention a couple of points in response. The first is that we did not replace any of the doors or door furniture – they are exactly the same doors as they were before with the only difference being the change we made to the surface treatment. I am therefore at a loss to explain why there is any change in the acoustics of the room, but appreciate that this affected your stay.
With regards to the mirrors, as you say we chose to replace the mirrors over the bedhead with artwork. However, we understand the sense of space that the mirrors created and so relocated them to the wall adjacent to the bed and have actually increased the square meterage of mirrored surfaces in the rooms.
The new furniture is admittedly less traditional than the previous fittings, but the design scheme aimed to contemporise the look and feel of the room, and through the improved quality of the fabrics and furniture, to increase the sense of luxury.
I would be very happy to speak directly with you on any of these points, but I am sorry that the new product is not to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Jumeirah always deliver high quality of stay around the world? The answer is yes, as a frequent traveler to Dubai and the first meeting with Jumeirah for 7 years ago, when its possible I always try to stay at Jumeirah.
This was the first time inn London and first stay at Jumeirah Lowndes, a perfect Hotel inn quiet surrounding only a few minutes walk to shopping, parks and typical English pubs. The staff was only a second away to give you a helping hand or just make sure that’s every thing is ok. The breakfast, a lot of fresh fruits, perhaps for a not so small man from Sweden could have some more to choose to, but topping with perfect prepared Egg Benedict the breakfast was complete.
The room was very nice and the sleeping comfort inn the beds was as you expect for Jumeirah very comfortable. Just a perfect weekend stay. As another not so small man from Austria said: Ill be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5starswed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words and I am pleased that you enjoyed both the location and the service of the hotel, and that these matched the standards that you have come to expect from Jumeirah. We hope to see you again - Hasta la Vista !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for the first time. Have stayed in Jumeirah hotels in Dubai and would not stay anywhere else. Thought I would give this hotel a go as I was travelling with my teenage son.
This is a wonderful, relaxing hotel. Perfect for singles and families as this is a very informal hotel, but this does not mean any reduction in the high standards of service you expect from a Jumeirah hotel. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful, extremely comfortable rooms and good quality food and drink. all located in a very safe area of London with green and open spaces.
For London prices this hotel also offers good value.
What more could you want.
Returning next week with all of the family.

Room Tip: Executive room with balcony overlooking square on 6th floor quiet and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JGB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review, and we are delighted that your enjoyment of your first visit prompted you to return with the whole family. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#146 of 1,076 in London
661 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#11 of 1,076 in London
997 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#86 of 1,076 in London
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#35 of 1,076 in London
803 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel

Address: 21 Lowndes Street, London SW1X 9ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#130 Business Hotel in London
#147 Family Hotel in London
#184 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £184 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel is a chic, contemporary retreat set against the timeless backdrop of Belgravia Village. Stay with us and enjoy local insights and tips from our knowledgeable doorman, al fresco dining on The Terrace during the summer months and access to one of London's most exclusive health clubs, The Peak Health Club & Spa. Overlooking a serene, leafy London square, this 88-room boutique hotel is just yards from Knightsbridge’s most fashionable stores, including Harrods and Harvey Nichols, as well as the individual boutiques and cobbled streets of Belgravia. Guests can enjoy modern British dining at Lowndes Bar & Kitchen, outdoor summer dining at The Terrace and a collection of superbly appointed, contemporary bedrooms and suites, all with complimentary Wi-Fi. You are also welcome to use the facilities at The Peak Health Club & Spa at the nearby Jumeirah Carlton Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Lowndes London
Hotel Jumeirah Lowndes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing