We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Small Hotel, Great Staff - A Peaceful Retreat in London”
Review of Draycott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Draycott Hotel
Ranked #25 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Small Hotel, Great Staff - A Peaceful Retreat in London”
Reviewed 10 July 2009

My husband and I loved our four night stay at this gracious and beautiful small hotel. We stayed in the gorgeous Ashcroft room. It had a huge floor-to-ceiling window and balcony overlooking the large garden in the back of the hotel. The décor was traditional, but not dowdy or overly frilly. The room had a four poster bed, a large sitting area by the fireplace, a table (with fresh flowers) and chairs by the beautiful window, a writing desk, and another desk near the bathroom that I used as a dressing table. It was perfectly quiet, and the air conditioning worked well.

Read the hotel’s website for a better description than I can write. Everything they say is true. If you get the impression that this might be a stuffy or intimidating place, we can assure you that it is not. The staff was welcoming, helpful, and considerate. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.

The location is convenient for sight-seeing, just a couple of blocks from the Sloane Square Underground station. It is possible to walk to many attractions (and lots of shopping) from the hotel.

I have been speculating on why this hotel is not in the Fodor’s guide. Perhaps it is because it is not up-to-minute with some of the current trends in luxury hotels. Our room did not have a large flat screen TV. (This was not important for us.) The shower was in the bathtub, and it was not feasible to turn on the shower before getting into the tub (unless you don’t mind getting water on the floor). The water was hot within a second, so this wasn’t really a problem even for me, a person who hates being cold. Breakfast was good, but not a highlight.

We didn’t want to leave, and we’d love to return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enchanted7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    92
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
122
190
115
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Perfect location next to Sloane Square yet on a very quiet street. Wonderfully decorated large rooms with the best bed we have slept in in years. Relax in the comfortable lounge or charming library and enjoy complimentary afternoon tea and buscuits or champagne in the evening or hot chocolate at night; we indulged in all three! The elegant lounge opens onto the private gerden of Cadogan Square. The draycott is pure indulgence.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2009

In my view the hotel provides an excellent service, the rooms are clean and tidy, service is good and the staff very pleasant. Breakfast is a little bit of a disappointment, and overpriced. The hotel has an excellent location and the public rooms are very well appointed. The staff make every effort to make you feel special, the only slight criticism is that it is not very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveFosterx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We had a very nice view of the garden but the room needs money spent on it.

The bathroom had many faults Stained loo,handle that was difficult to flush,wash basin taps required two hands to turn off,no mat to avoid slipping in the shower.
The towels were very worn.Bed cover stained and the safe did not work.
The service at breakfast was poor.

The staff are pleasent but I have the impression the Management are sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CroftonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I have stayed in many of the rooms at Draycott and all are comfortable and spacious. The efficient air conditioning was also a big bonus in such a character/period style hotel. The breakfast was lovely, especially the porridge. Staff great especially Dino and Ali.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwmbran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South-Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I love this hotel and like everything else it is even more beautiful when the sun is shining.

I visited the Draycott last weekend and there were so many children and parents enjoying the sun in the garden and it just added to the home away from home feeling. Having to spend my weekend (Mothers day back home) away from family on business, I though it would be a lonely working experience.

It was such a wonderful atmosphere that I spend the afternoon in the lovely drawing room drinking tea, watching the children and reading the paper.

You often return too places you visit during your travels and most of the time it is not as good as you remember. We tend to over romanticise the memory. I was bowled over to be even more impressed than the first time I stayed.

Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hertz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Vesinet, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Don't get me wrong: the Draycott is a very charming place, excellently located and with good service and well furnished rooms (we stayed in the Lewis Caroll suite, good choice).
The issue is that, due to the great reviews, I was expecting a little more from a 5*:
- like better service for the breakfast,
- door man to take our luggage at the check-in as well as the check-out,
- people helping us for the champagne 5-o'clock tea,
- plates to be removed from our room the day after the dinner,
- laundry bags to be removed from the stairs.

Therefore, a little disapointed though

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#103 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#39 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Draycott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Draycott Hotel

Property: Draycott Hotel
Address: 26 Cadogan Gardens, London SW3 2RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in London
#30 Romantic Hotel in London
#38 Family Hotel in London
#57 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Draycott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Town-House Hotel situated in Knightsbridge, around the corner from Sloane Square & tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Draycott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Draycott Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing