We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”
Review of The Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Berkeley
Ranked #63 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I have spent two nights in this hotel for my business trip to London. The hotel locates on Knightsbridge with a very short walking distance to the Hyde Park or Harrods. Both the room and the bathroom were large in size and clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    176
    62
    31
    19
See reviews for
169
328
51
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed few times at The Berkeley on my business trips and have to say that their service is truly amazing. The rooms are nice old English style but have been updated [very much like the rooms in Claridge's]. The health club upstairs is worth of visit and the restaurants and bar in the hotel are also to be recommeded.

And above all - it's just a short stroll away from Harvey Nicks and the rest of the shops :)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on lover levels facing Hyde Park .. at least I could hear and feel each tube passing und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanango, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stylish and spaces are large and it feels like home.

Room Tip: Maybe pick a room that feels like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakenblaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

This is third time I've stayed here over the years and have always been impressed with the hotel, upkeep, location (proximity to pubs, fine dining options, Harrods and other stores, as well as to Hyde Park, and tube), and staff service, and fitness area. Just a wonderful place for business travel from overseas and I would expect just as well for vacation travel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

A truly memorable stay for my partners birthday. From the minute we checked in (with a fabulous upgrade) to the minute we left the staff looked after us so well.

Don't look any further book this hotel you will not be disappointed - a very special experience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karensc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The Berkeley occupies one of my favorite locations in London. It is a three minute walk to Hyde Park corner and tube with at least a dozen buses to all over London and a five minute walk to the Knightsbridge tube station and numerous other buses. It is walking distance to the V&A , the Natural History Museum and Harrods. For that reason alone The Berkeley now being renamed just Berkeley, is one of my favorite London hotels.
The staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. I like the small lobby…It is more like a living room, and the small tea room with some of the most creative tea cakes in London. That being said the guest rooms can vary, especially as to size and condition. Even the junior suites are not that big. If you reserve suites, be sure to understand the difference between the superior and deluxe junior suite. The deluxe junior suite is about 25% bigger( at about 560 square feet) than the superior junior suite. The superior junior suite is about 431 square feet. If the room has a balcony that is included in the square footage. That being said ,the smaller suite (called superior) is adequate for a weeeks stay, but not at all grand . The term superior junior suite is a bit confusing as it is not better or bigger than the deluxe junior suite . They are refurbishing many rooms and I would ask for a recently updated room if it is available.
The hotel adds a 5% surcharge which they say is discretionary and I assume accounts for the attentive service. It is not clear who is covered by this gratuity. Does it cover the concierge, bellman and chambermaid? It would be nice for them to be specific, when you check in, as to who is covered. You might ask.

The Blue Bar is always busy and fun and small . Koffman's restaurant is very convenient, not pretentiious and always provides a solid meal at with out an inflated price.

All in all, it is a homey sort of place with a great many repeat customers.

Room Tip: Overlook the church...I loved the bells. The street is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celebrationtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed at The Berkeley for a special birthday trip into London with my husband. We both really loved the hotel.

All of the staff were excellent. Genuinely friendly and attentive at all times. We were offered an upgrade on arrival which was lovely. We were given room 339. This room has a massive bathroom with separate shower and bath and a good range of toiletries. I forgot to bring toothpaste and hairspray which the hotel quickly sorted out for us.

The bedroom was also a good size with a very comfortable king size bed. We were offered tea and coffee on arrival and started our stay with coffee and biscuits in our room. The room doesn't have a very pretty view, it looks out on to a pretty uninspiring courtyard but this didn't bother us. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. At turn down they left out a small selection of fresh fruit which I thought was a nice touch.

We tried the cocktails in the Blue Bar and really enjoyed them. At first we were seated in part of the room off from the main bar with a view looking out to the street at the front of the hotel but quickly moved to sit in the bar area, which we thought had much more of an atmosphere. The bar staff were very welcoming and attentive.

We ate dinner in the Caramel Restaurant. The food was very good and again great service.

Breakfast was excellent. Lots of choice.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Next time we will try out the Marcus Wearing restaurant and the spa.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#25 of 1,068 in London
250 reviews
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#102 of 1,068 in London
415 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#127 of 1,068 in London
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#38 of 1,068 in London
741 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#5 of 1,068 in London
510 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley

Property: The Berkeley
Address: Wilton Place | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in London
#48 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Luxury Hotel in London
#65 Business Hotel in London
#78 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Berkeley 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within our breathtaking collection of rooms and suites – which are amongst the most spacious in London – we have many with private garden terraces and quiet balconies. All our rooms and suites skilfully combine comfort, stylish design and the latest innovations, to meet the needs of the modern traveller. Marcus Wareing offers two Michelin-starred dining at his eponymous restaurant, Marcus, within The Berkeley; the stars come out for award-winning cocktails at the Blue Bar; and fashionistas join us for Pret-a-Portea, our catwalk-inspired afternoon tea served in the beautiful Collins Room. On the seventh floor of The Berkeley, our pool and luxury Bamford Haybarn Spa provide a calm retreat with views over the London skyline. The Berkeley is located at the edge of Hyde Park in fashionable Knightsbridge, a short walk from Harrods and Harvey Nichols. Behind the hotel sits the residential area of Belgravia: a charming enclave of Georgian terraces, cobblestone streets, independent shops and traditional pubs, which conveys the feeling of an English village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Hotel London
Berkeley London
Berkeley Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing