We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect stay”
Review of The Berkeley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Berkeley
Ranked #60 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have been a regular guest at this fantastic hotel for over 10 years. Its one of my favorite hotels anywhere as it is flawless, personal, luxurious and avantgarde. This is a boutique hotel in the true meaning of the word. The pool and the spa overlooking the park on the top of the hotel is a unique feature. All the rooms are decorated individually and got a style that you would like to "copy / paste" to your own home. The food is incredible at all the restaurants as well as drinks from heaven in the bar. Location next to the park is unbeatable as well!

Room Tip: A renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gudleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed here with my wife and young child for the first weekend in December and cannot speak highly enough of the hotel. The rooms,decor and food are all excellent but without doubt the service takes it to the very top level. All the staff were faultless and nothing was too much trouble. I really can't speak highly enough of this place and would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in a top hotel in London. The spa was excellent and the rooftop pool a real gem which is unusual for a city hotel but was hugely appreciated after a long day outside. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

In the heart of Knightsbridge, this is one of the most exclusive hotels in London.
If you like a traditional stay and wish to receive the best service, this is the place to go.
A traditional hotel, with very gentle staff and a top-quality concierge service to book restaurants, theaters and whatever you wish.
The Blue Bar is excellent to have a drink in the evening and the Koffmann's restaurant is a French bistro serving delicious food!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LadySimonaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great service, not too in your face or over the top. Just right.

Room was lovely, looking over church. Bed was the most comfortable I have slept in.. except my own. The shame was climbing out of it when we had to leave.

We ate outside the hotel so had drinks in the blue bar beforehand. Service was excellent. Some fab olives... We had the Sancerre.. very good.

On returning back to the hotel after diner and a nice walk around the Winter Wonderland in Hyde Park we had some coffees and a G&T in the other bar/restaurant area. The G&T was little strong even for me. But the coffees and biscuits/chocolates were very nicely done.

Breakfast was fab. One of the best I have had. The combination of a lovely full English and some tasty fruit, great selection of fresh bread was great.

All in all a great hotel and well worth the stay.

Christmas decorations also looked very cool.

Room Tip: Get one over looking the church at the rear. Quiet and very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radders44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Lovely, helpful staff who really pay attention to every detail. Beautiful room (as always) with a delightful bathroom. Fantastic breakfast with so much choice and the quality of all on offer was superb. Superbly situated for Knightsbridge nd Kensington.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janandpaulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A great hotel, centrally situated where the meaning of luxury and service knows no boundaries. the new spa adds to the experience as well as the rooftop swimming pool. Food is unparalleled and the Blue Bar has to be the best champagne bar in London.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have stayed at the Berkeley a number of times for work, but this most recent time, it was for one night with my husband while on holiday. By comparison to other London hotels I have stayed (Savoy, Metropolitan, Connaught, Claridges, Langham), my favorite is the Berkeley, because, in general, I have the least number of faults or complaints with my stays there. The rooms are fine, fluffy white sheets and nice towels. The bamford soaps smell nice and one can request asprey products instead, which also smell nice. There is a lovely pool on the roof. Some of the rooms have little balconies.

The hotel is right across from Hyde Park and steps away from Harvey Nichols and Harrods. If one is coming from Heathrow, the Piccadilly line Knightsbridge stop is right nearby, so no need to transfer trains.

Having said that, the only complaints/notes I had during my recent stay are as follows:

1. Some of the rooms (probably the more expensive) have nespresso machines. I requested one this time and it was brought up which was very nice. The room service coffee was pretty terrible, so I really did appreciate having the nespresso machine in the room. Unfortunate that there isn't one in every room.
2. Apparently there is a different rate for one person v. 2 persons in a room. The explanation was "security" reasons. Not sure exactly what the security issue is. However, the lady checking us in kindly gave us what she referred to as a "double" room with no additional charge. Interestingly, the room did not look any larger than the rooms I have stayed while travelling alone. A bit of a mystery to me, though it all did work out this time.

All in all, the Berkeley is my favorite hotel in London.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiffysPillowBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#89 of 1,077 in London
436 reviews
Knightsbridge
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#18 of 1,077 in London
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#10 of 1,077 in London
524 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#9 of 1,077 in London
909 reviews
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#56 of 1,077 in London
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley

Address: Wilton Place | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in London
#48 Romantic Hotel in London
#57 Luxury Hotel in London
#65 Business Hotel in London
#78 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £387 - £619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Berkeley 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within our breathtaking collection of rooms and suites – which are amongst the most spacious in London – we have many with private garden terraces and quiet balconies. All our rooms and suites skilfully combine comfort, stylish design and the latest innovations, to meet the needs of the modern traveller. Marcus Wareing offers two Michelin-starred dining at his eponymous restaurant, Marcus, within The Berkeley; the stars come out for award-winning cocktails at the Blue Bar; and fashionistas join us for Pret-a-Portea, our catwalk-inspired afternoon tea served in the beautiful Collins Room. On the seventh floor of The Berkeley, our pool and luxury Bamford Haybarn Spa provide a calm retreat with views over the London skyline. The Berkeley is located at the edge of Hyde Park in fashionable Knightsbridge, a short walk from Harrods and Harvey Nichols. Behind the hotel sits the residential area of Belgravia: a charming enclave of Georgian terraces, cobblestone streets, independent shops and traditional pubs, which conveys the feeling of an English village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Hotel London
Berkeley London
Berkeley Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing