We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice!”
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #39 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really Nice!”
Reviewed 8 October 2007

We booked through the hotel's website and got a room with a king bed includive of full English breakfast and free car service to and from Heathrow for $433/night (exclusive of VAT). We loved the hotel and the staff. The location is excellent (next to Harrods and near Knighsbridge tube stop) and the breakfast was excellent (the hotel's restaurant is very good). If you don't get breakfast at the hotel, there is a very nice cafe at the end of the street. The room itself is small (like all London hotel rooms) but the furniture is lovely antique furniture and the bathrooms have Molton Brown products. The tv's are new with satellite programming and wifi is avaialble in your room. There is also a free computer you can use to check email in the lobby. We will stay there again!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank beccarod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    107
    28
    18
    4
See reviews for
129
310
69
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

Having enjoyed a stay at the Capital a few years ago on a family trip, I books rooms for myself and two colleagues for a business trip in August. The hotel staff were superb in every respect. While the room, like so many, was on the small side (I had a suite the prior time, which was quite large), it was completely comfortable and quiet. Having read several reviews on Tripadvisor that warned of air conditioning problems, I contacted the hotel in advance about this -- the temperature control was absolutely perfect. I enjoyed the hotel so much that I am returning in November and bringing a client. I hope to be a frequent guest.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds, great restaurant for terrific breakfasts and elegant dinners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Seasoned_traveler_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

WARNING do NOT stay at this hotel-they are liable to cancel your booking without notifying you. Thats what what happened to me after a 24 hour flight.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank diblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralLondon, General Manager at The Capital Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2007
I would like to clarify that the guest booked the apartment house next door to the Capital hotel. As he booked a second stay later in the month here at the hotel in a junior suite we offered him to stay at your junior suite too. I do understand his disapointment in not having a apartment for this stay but he declined the offer to be at the Capital Hotel.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

What a wonderful Hotel The staff were amazing and so very helpful. The room was so comfortable. I had a single room and it was perfect. I slept so well. In an excellent area so close to Harrods and shopping as well as the Knightsbridge Underground Station. Within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Just loved it and will return on my next visit.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank fitzstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

Flew EOS and took the Picadilly line to the Knighsbridge Station which is less than a block from this 5 star gem. Had a good sized mini-suite on the 6th floor which included 1 1/2 bathrooms.
Internet rate of $713 US including a full breakfast in their handsome dining room was a bargain - based on current UK prices - and included a private car to Greenwich where we boarded the "SilverShadow.". The well trained staff was outstanding and the cocierge recommended dinner at Toto which was an excellent choice. Excellent location close to Harrod's and on a quiet street.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Merchants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

We heard about The Capital from friends and just loved it. It is everything you'd expect from a very English hotel (except with warm and efficient service!). So much attention to detail is paid here - from the beds and linen to the delicacies served for afternoon tea. We'll be back!

  • Liked — Excellent service and wonderful beds
  • Disliked — The sandwiches served with afternoon tea
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PhilippeMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

We stayed for three nights to begin a trip to the UK and found this an extremely pleasant small hotel.

Particularly enjoyed the restaurant - they have an amazing chef! I recommend at least one dinner there - did not find better in all of London.

Only drawback, from a North American perspective, is the relatively small size of the room.

  • Liked — personalized, friendly service
  • Disliked — small room size
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ottawaguy-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#120 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#82 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Levin
The Levin
#279 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#6 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 22-24 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#49 Family Hotel in London
#78 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests for 45 years The Capital Hotel in Knightsbridge, remains under the guidance of its original owner David Levin and his daughter Kate Levin. Few hotels in London can boast of such outstanding staff loyalty, family heritage and the ability to remain true to classic British design. An award winning grand hotel in miniature, The Capital Hotel Knightsbridge has all the advantages of a large establishment, yet exudes warmth, understated exclusivity and personal attention to detail, which only a privately owned luxury hotel can afford. This discreet London Hotel and adjacent luxury Knightsbridge apartments sit proudly on Basil Street, close to Harrods and just a few minutes from Knightsbridge Tube Station as well as Harvey Nichols, the Victoria & Albert Museum, Hyde Park and the designer shops of Sloane Street. The Capital also has their own award winning vineyard, Levin Wines, in the Loire Valley and a bakery that delivers to high end restaurants, hotels and clubs across london, The London Bakery. Next door sits the Levin Hotel, a 12 bedroom townhouse and The Metro Bistro also run by the Levin family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing