We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel”
Review of The Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Capital Hotel
Ranked #42 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel”
Reviewed 29 February 2008

We had a wonderful 10-day stay at The Capital Hotel. The service was superb. Every staff member went out of their way to help us.

After reading some over reviews, I expected a rather small room, but was very pleasantly surprised by the size of our executive king room. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of space in the room. The bathroom was small, but it was fine for our needs. We took the package that included a full breakfast and transfers to and from the airport. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and the sherry in the evening.

We had been told that the hotel was accessible. It turns out that there are a few steps leading into the hotel, but the doorman and/or concierge helped us each time we came or left. Someone who is entirely wheelchair-bound might have difficulties, but we had no problems.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Superb service
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank broadwaybaby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    112
    29
    18
    4
See reviews for
136
319
73
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2008

I spent a long weekend at the Capital earlier this year... Please see my other reviews, I am generally positive, but this place was entirely disappointing.

The room was quite small despite being a 'suite', EVERY little thing seemed to be extra, and no service was given with a smile... the breakfast was perhaps the worst part - that is waking up to the scowls from the staff.

The best part of the hotel is certainly the night staff, they are courteous, friendly, and helpful.

This place could be a terrific spot, but the staff needs to be a little more accommodating and friendly.

  • Liked — The location, building, and room in general were the most attractive qualities of the Capital
  • Disliked — The restaurant staff, and front desk. Others, concierge etc. were much more helpful.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jfburkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

I have stayed at the Capital twice, and I highly, highly recommend it. The staff are gracious and quick to rectify any possible problem, no matter how small, without excuses or any possible 'blame' on the visitor, as some hotels might. It is elegant, comfortable, quiet, charmingly decorated, and the bathrooms are luxurious. The turn down service is great, and while I didn't personally eat at the restaurant (though I heard it's wonderful), I did love the breakfast (I didn't order from the menu, but ate from the 'buffet' -- cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurts, danish, etc) and that and the individual French presses of coffee were perfect. The hair dryer broke in my room and within a few minutes I had a new one brought to my door. It is a small hotel and they ask you to leave your keys at the desk when you leave for the day or whatever, which at first I thought a bit odd, but by doing so you quickly get to know the staff (and it is a small hotel as I mentioned, so it doesn't take long to become familiar), and this does actually make the stay nicer. And best of all, the location is FANTASTIC. It is in one of the most elite areas of London, a one minute walk from the tube, a 3 minute walk from unbelievable shopping, and if you are there on business, it truly does feel like "coming home" after a long day. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, it is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travler019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

I stayed at the Capital for three nights in early October. This was my third stay at the hotel. When I arrived, I was upgraded to a junior suite. The suite was large, furnished in a traditional British style and very comfortable. I would agree with other reviewers who have said that standard rooms are on the small size, but, in my opinion, only by American standards. The bathrooms are large and well appointed. I did not eat in their dining room. However, I did have room service breakfast each day which was on time and very good. I also had a couple of light meals in the bar. The barmen were very, very helpful with suggestions from their menu and had obviously been trained in more than just mixology. In fact, the entire staff at the hotel was most accomodating. This is a very English small hotel in an excellent location. I absolutely will stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, staff, rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kjeffr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2007

Recommended by a friend, and never regretted a minute. The manager and concierge set the scene as we arrived - wonderfully friendly, cheerful and welcoming. As we entered the lift the concierge returned to enthusiatically helping an American guest with the day's crossword - only in a small intimate hotel in London!
My room was a little smaller than I expected although it and the well supplied bathroom both very well appointed and most comfortable. Without my own notebook to access the wireless network available the otherwise room based internet via TV was too slow to be of any use, and my charge was cancelled immediately upon notifying the desk. The guest reception level internet access was fine for brief tasks.
Breakfast was plentiful and of a good selection, although my colleague's omlette was not the kitchen's best.
Breakfast and bar staff were most efficient and friendly, and the duty concierge always happy to make a recommendation and have a chat.
Fabulous situation a few meters to Harrods and not much further to Kensington tube station. Couldn't ask for better.

  • Liked — The service and helpful attitude of the staff.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank StefAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2007

Eric Chavot cooks like a God!
This is a beautiful small hotel on the door-step of Harrods, very nice rooms, exemplary service and best of all has a great restaurant!
Highly recommended by Michelin guide, the cooking here is phenomenal, and the lunch time offering is an absolute bargain. the intensity of flavours and quality of ingredients quite simply make this one of the best places anywhere in the world for food.Its an experience not to be missed.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The restaurant and cooking by Eric Chavot
  • Disliked — Probably room size
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank viveksingh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

We booked through the hotel's website and got a room with a king bed includive of full English breakfast and free car service to and from Heathrow for $433/night (exclusive of VAT). We loved the hotel and the staff. The location is excellent (next to Harrods and near Knighsbridge tube stop) and the breakfast was excellent (the hotel's restaurant is very good). If you don't get breakfast at the hotel, there is a very nice cafe at the end of the street. The room itself is small (like all London hotel rooms) but the furniture is lovely antique furniture and the bathrooms have Molton Brown products. The tv's are new with satellite programming and wifi is avaialble in your room. There is also a free computer you can use to check email in the lobby. We will stay there again!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank beccarod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,069 in London
908 reviews
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#113 of 1,069 in London
420 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#126 of 1,069 in London
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
COMO The Halkin
COMO The Halkin
#5 of 1,069 in London
511 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#31 of 1,069 in London
668 reviews
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#23 of 1,069 in London
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Hotel

Property: The Capital Hotel
Address: 22-24 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
#49 Family Hotel in London
#78 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capital Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests for 45 years The Capital Hotel in Knightsbridge, remains under the guidance of its original owner David Levin and his daughter Kate Levin. Few hotels in London can boast of such outstanding staff loyalty, family heritage and the ability to remain true to classic British design. An award winning grand hotel in miniature, The Capital Hotel Knightsbridge has all the advantages of a large establishment, yet exudes warmth, understated exclusivity and personal attention to detail, which only a privately owned luxury hotel can afford. This discreet London Hotel and adjacent luxury Knightsbridge apartments sit proudly on Basil Street, close to Harrods and just a few minutes from Knightsbridge Tube Station as well as Harvey Nichols, the Victoria & Albert Museum, Hyde Park and the designer shops of Sloane Street. The Capital also has their own award winning vineyard, Levin Wines, in the Loire Valley and a bakery that delivers to high end restaurants, hotels and clubs across london, The London Bakery. Next door sits the Levin Hotel, a 12 bedroom townhouse and The Metro Bistro also run by the Levin family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing