We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of The Connaught

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Connaught
Ranked #9 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Just returned from London and stayed at The Connaught for the first time ever. I have been traveling to London for 25 years and have frequented Claridges, The Berkley, and The Savoy. The Connaught was always tired as I remembered and I was timid about giving it a try. I'm no longer confused and am now a "regular" at The Connaught. The hotel which was completely redone in 2007 is unparralled in its service, its ambience, its comfort, location, and staff. No need to look at the rest of this review. Everything will be checked "Excellent". Get to London and stay at The Connaught. I can't wait to go back, maybe next month, just to stay there. Happy Holidays!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hmay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

The Connaught is exactly what a 5 star hotel should be! From the moment you arrive the service is impeccable. The gentleman who checked me in was professional and welcoming, he made sure to ask me if there was anything I required during my stay and arranged my wake up call and coffee to be delivered whilst escorting me to my room.

You feel as if they take care of your every need before you need to ask. The room I stayed in was spacious. The bathroom with its separate shower and all the other luxuries ticked all the boxed and they have converted me to the Bamford products!

I did visit the bar in the evening for a night cap and once again the service was amazing.

If you are looking for a elegant hotel that offers traditional British service with discretion and warmth this is the perfect London hotel. I most certainly will be staying there again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katiie_will_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We've stayed at the Connaught for 3 nights november 2011. It's really a great hotel, wondefull location , nice rooms and very very nice service. I only have one remark to make and that's the bar. The Connaught hotel has 2 beautiful bars but we couldn't get a table. We were 7 in total and we know that's a lot but in my opinion if you stay 3 nights and you book 4 rooms it is unacceptable that you can't have a drink at the bar in your hotel after a day of shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weegschaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheConnaughtLondon, General Manager at The Connaught, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us in November. I was delighted to read your very kind comments, however, so sorry for your experience in trying to get a table in the bar.

I fully appreciate your disappointment and offer my sincere apologies and this is something we are currently addressing in order to find a solution for all our guests.

I hope we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back and please do let me know if I can ever be of assistance, as it would be my pleasure.

Nathalie Seiler-Hayez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I often stay at Knightsbridge hotel but chose The Connaught this time around and was delighted with the stay from the warm, professional check-in to the comfort and spaciousness of room, a a handwritten welcome note, plus all of the automatic features in the bathroom. Breakfast in the main restaurant was delicious! Location in Mayfair is perfect walking distance to wonderful restaurants, shopping...and the Aman Spa is very well done (although not of the standard of the Aman spas in Asia.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is a great place to stay. Some reviewers comment this is expensive, and it is, but fairly priced for the quality of the property in a central London location. Tea and breakfast were very good, not exceptional, the bar is good especially if you like cocktails. Again, $16 USD for a drink is steep, but again, you are in London and if you are form the US get used to the dollar not being the big kid on the block any more. This will be our go to lodging in London moving forward.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Happy freindly staff who know about service and keeping customers happy.
Pool is nice, when you get in feels warm, can just float away..
Got the feeling nothing was to much trouble and they even managed to sneak the breakfast trolley into the room without waking me up! Unforgettable hotel.

Room Tip: More money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank city6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Excellent attitude from most of the staff, especially reception and the in house butlers. Some snobbery from the bar staff and service not good at all in the Espelette. Rooms are very small considering the price and the lack of any real lobby for guests to sit is a nuisance.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuganoBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,075 in London
422 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,075 in London
2,835 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,075 in London
3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,075 in London
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught

Address: 16 Carlos Place | Mayfair, London W1K 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#49 Business Hotel in London
#51 Romantic Hotel in London
#132 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £531 - £847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Connaught 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the beating heart of London’s Mayfair Village, The Connaught redefines the British luxury experience. An expertly judged blend of tradition with the utmost modernity, The Connaught is the insider’s choice for connoisseurs in the art of living well; where highly personalised service and a passion for hand-crafted detail, mixes effortlessly with a contemporary boldness that captivates and draws you in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Connaught reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Connaught Hotel London
Connaught Hotel London
Connaught London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing