We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Connaught

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Connaught
Ranked #11 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Amazing hotel and service, brunch worth any price,recommend. Place of memories and so lovely atmosphere! I would Recommend to every one for a lovely date or nice surprise,drinks are not cheap ( one of the most expensive in London ) buy is really amazing place as the drinks you are pay for a service and quality. If Can go there you wouldn't think that was a waste of money for sure! They have two bars and both of them are amazing, really hight end! We have brunch and was absolutely perfect, make sure u book in advance because is very popular. A

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karolina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here last week for two nights with my wife and also my sister. We greatly enjoyed our stay. The staff are extremely good and work really hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. The rooms are large (ish), very comfortable, well appointed and spotlessly clean which at the prices charged are all minimum requirements. I'm not sure how many rooms there are but it seems to be a much more homely and intimate hotel than, for instance, Claridges or The Dorchester. The Coburg bar is very popular and certainly from 6pm onwards, extremely busy with a great buzz to it. My only dislike applies, I suspect, to all five star hotels or it does in my experience any way and that is that every square inch of public space has to earn its keep.For instance, when my wife and I arrived at about 3.30 and after being shown to our rooms we thought we would have a cup of coffee and a sandwich, something very quick so we could get on with the various things we had come to London to do. There is an informal bistro type restaurant called the Espelette situated in a very pleasant conservatory where they serve breakfast and also afternoon tea. When we got there afternoon tea was in full flow , sold very much as an 'experience' and possibly like tea at the Ritz , fully booked for weeks ahead. There is a perfectly nice foyer area outside the conservatory with a few tables most of which were also occupied by guests enjoying the full Tea service. The staff were perfectly happy to serve us a cappuccino and a sandwich but as I say there isn't really anywhere where you can just go and sit down and loll about. Essentially the same thing thing happened two days later when I returned to the hotel at about two thirty wanting a late lunch and looking forward to eating it in the Espelette but when I arrived they explained that they were setting it up for afternoon tea and again I was seated in the foyer area. There is nothing particularly wrong with this but it is a shame that some of the style and grandeur of these great hotels has been compromised by this need to make every square inch pay for itself.

Room Tip: Superior King rooms are a respectable size but have VERY limited hanging space so a Deluxe King room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x8mca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Connaught, with two other couples, for a 50th birthday celebration, one night only, a Friday. We began the visit with a Champagne lunch in the Coburg Bar. Really excellent service from terrific staff and some great light lunches on the menu. I even managed to fit in a quick business meeting with a colleague. The room was very good, very traditional and all the better for it. Although we chose to eat at Scott's that night, we sampled both of the other bars. Pre-dinner drinks were in the Champagne Room, worth a visit and go for the house tonic with your gin. Really excellent. After an amazing supper at Scott's we came back to the Connaught Bar for a nightcap. Really buzzy, clearly the place to be.

The next morning we all met up for a terrific cooked breakfast. Tons of food, probably too much, in fact. Great location for the breakfast, a bright, airy conservatory and the service there was, once again, impeccable. The Connaught is perfectly located for a little early Saturday morning shopping in Oxford Street.

I have to add that this could have been a very different review. We had a couple of issues when checking in but the management took care of them quickly and effectively and we even got a bottle of Champagne by way of apology. A really kind and honest gesture. My only gripe is that we had to pay extra for breakfast, £70-odd per couple from memory, which I really think should be included in the £500 per night cost of the room. We'll be back and I highly recommend The Connaught for a special night in London.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twa203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Instead of writing pages up and down, I just want to say. This hotel is outstanding in every way. The reception, the service on arrival and the room is truly a experience itself. The price matches what you get and can expect from a hotel like this. It has kept its charm and reflects generations of good British style.

Room Tip: Choose the old rooms, the new fancy ones are only fancy, and a bad copy of the real fancy rooms at B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RovingNorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie S, General Manager at The Connaught, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and truly hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

With my best wishes,

Nathalie Seiler-Hayez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Firstly I should say that we are not accustomed to staying in quiet such finery, but it was definitely amazing in every way. From the moment we arrived,to the moment we left (and beyond), the hotel staff were amazing and couldn't have been more attentive. They intuitively knew what we may require and very discretely went about getting it done for us. The 'butler' was available to unpack for us, arranged for our clothing to be ironed in super quick time and they even offered professional shoe cleaning if we had wanted it. The food was excellent, as was the bar and drinks and all the staff were highly trained and very professional. The bathrooms and rooms were spotless and only used the best quality products, linens etc. They even had a special robe and slippers for our son, which was a small thing that made a big difference. If you are looking for total efficiency, service and quality, I don't think you could ask for more. Definitely not a budget friendly hotel, but if you can afford it - it lives up to it's reputation and I'd highly recommend it. We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the more modern section. Can't compare it to the others, but it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy-totheworld-elvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie S, General Manager at The Connaught, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

With warmest wishes,

Nathalie Seiler-Hayez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

After an awful experience down the road at The May Fair Hotel, a business associate and I decided to visit The Connaught. The service was immaculate, it took no more than three minutes for our glasses to be refilled in the bar seating area on what was a reasonably busy tuesday afternoon - a huge transition from The May Fair (fifteen minutes before giving up and doing it ourselves).

The service was very personal and warm from a lovely gentleman from Hong Kong (or Macau, I don't recall) with whom we had a long conversation with.

100% satisfaction from me, I'll be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie S, General Manager at The Connaught, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

I am delighted you enjoyed your experience and appreciate you having taken the time to write a review. I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

With warmest wishes,

Nathalie Seiler-Hayez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We enjoy our travel and we enjoy experiencing our hotels. Whilst we live close to London it is still good to try some of its hotels on occasions. This occasion was valentines day and we stayed just the one night.

The room itself was in the new wing, it was a good size room, very good bathroom (with the exception of the in bathroom TV that was in the wrong place). Unfortunately no view but for one night that isnt a problem. The only thing I would say was that the room had little character. It was like many business hotels I have stayed in, not a bad thing but not what I expect when paying for the likes of Connaught.

After dinner we tried to go into one of their main bars (Coburg or Connaught bar) for a drink but unsurprisingly both were full. We were told that they'd ensure we got the next table available but no one looked as if they would be leaving soon so we went to go back to the room. As we did we passed what was until recently the cigar room and now a new bar. Its so small and out of the was that it isnt listed in the materials in the room and is hidden away on the website. Where as the others focus on cocktails and variety this focuses instead on exclusive drinks with a number of fine champagnes that would normally be over a thousand a bottle but here is available by the glass.

A great night was spent chatting to the barman Rusty and he did mention that the rooms in the older part of the hotel retain more traditional character than the wing where we were staying.

Overall the service was excellent, certainly natural and very friendly. There were only one or two slips - at breakfast we were told we were too late down by one chap who then wandered off and second later another 2 members of staff said that of cause breakfast was still available. Similarly when we came back to collect our luggage and flowers the concierge took a while to bring them and when they eventually did the day old flowers were all dead. Dont know if they'd left them without water or next to a radiator but they shouldnt have been in that state.

The rest of the time however they were friendly, approachable and would do everything that they could to help. Reception is fairly small and with many non-residents coming to visit both the bars and restaurants it is fairly full but that didnt detract from the service.

We will certainly return in the future but will insist in staying in the older part of the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astaroth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,878 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 1,077 in London
437 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,077 in London
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
1,491 reviews
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel and Residences
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connaught? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connaught

Address: 16 Carlos Place | Mayfair, London W1K 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
#49 Business Hotel in London
#51 Romantic Hotel in London
#132 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £438 - £1,030 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Connaught 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the beating heart of London’s Mayfair Village, The Connaught redefines the British luxury experience. An expertly judged blend of tradition with the utmost modernity, The Connaught is the insider’s choice for connoisseurs in the art of living well; where highly personalised service and a passion for hand-crafted detail, mixes effortlessly with a contemporary boldness that captivates and draws you in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Connaught reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Connaught Hotel London
Connaught Hotel London
Connaught London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing