We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prestige all over”
Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #50 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This hotel is a classic well known luxury hotel, ideally located at parklane. Staff is kind and helpfull at check-in, although reserved and not over-fiendly. My room was located on the 4th floor, at the side- back of the building! The room was enjoyable of temperature, but the bathroom on the other hand was freezing cold. Nice healthy fruit attention next to the bed. I had a classic english room with a double door from my entrance door, which blocked all noise coming from the corridor. Although the windows are not sound proof, especially the one in the bathroom not. If you're planning a luxury quit bath, please be advised it will be one with car sound. I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed it. I just would like to advise some male staff to put on their smile and greet guests with a simple goodmorning, good afternoon or good evening. I missed the extra touch in this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svalkenborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Dorchester; thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We value our guests’ comments very highly and will certainly take note of the points that you have mentioned.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Dorchester in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kostas Sfaltos
Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

Great location for business and leisure. The lobby area has an excellent decor and ideal for short meetings. Rooms, service, breakfast - all fab !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Dorchester and hope that we assisted in making your business trip as pleasant as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kostas Sfaltos
Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We have been to The Dorchester several times and love the hotel .
The Hotel is always bustling ,Usualy we have done bed with breakfast but on this last occasion we booked dinner in the Grill.
Breakfast is always spot on and more than adequate portions.
always very enjoyable .
We took Family with us who as first timers at the Dorchester thought it was marvelous.starters were good
However 3 of us were not too impressed with the main on this occasion,,mother in law had Lobster which came with a sort of Rissotto didnt look to apetising and left most of it at the side of her plate 2 had the taster menu and were impressed with thier meal Deserts were ok but at Around£400.00 for 5 of us okay isnt quite good enough however i love The Dorchester and we will return but not for dinner .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judeHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PromenadeDorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I was sorry to learn you were disappointed with the lobster dish and I would very much like the opportunity to further discuss your comments as it is feedback such as this which allows us to continually strive for service excellence. I would be delighted if you could provide us with your contact details and a suitable time to reach you.
I was pleased however that you enjoyed the breakfast and your stay with us at The Dorchester and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Renaud Gregoire
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We have been staying here for the past few years, and without doubt it is the best Hotel in the World. Perfect service, wonderful surroundings, such high standards in all aspects. If you want to stay in London and spoil yourself this is THE place to stay. Have stayed in all the other top Hotels in London and nothing compares to The Dorchester !

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJBPimlico_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear Guest,
I’m delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time at The Dorchester; thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kostas Sfaltos
Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Like many reviewers, we have enjoyed afternoon tea in various establishments but none meet the impeccable standards of the Dorchester. From the attentive, friendly and efficient service to the delicious treats, the whole afternoon left us with a warm glow which matched our surroundings. Imagine sinking into your most favourite comy sofa, a pianist skilfully playing at just the right volume, a gentle, smiling face offering you any tea of your choosing with delicate offerings of sandwiches, pastries and scones. Add to that, the joys of conversation with friends of some thirty years and you have a recipe for a perfect afternoon. The most skilful of service kept the pace moving so that we left in time for them to set up for the final sitting. Of course it would have been great to stay and linger but why deny others this delightful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mimihop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PromenadeDorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I was incredibly pleased to hear you had such a pleasant time enjoying Afternoon Tea at The Dorchester. It is always our aim to exceed all of our guests’ expectations and I am thrilled we were successful. Rest assured I have since shared your kind comments with the team.
On behalf of us all here at The Dorchester, I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Renaud Gregoire
Director of Feed and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Having read some of the negative reviews I cannot believe that I stayed in the same hotel. From the moment we stepped out of the taxi and the welcome we received, until we left, every member of staff was friendly, helpful and extremely professional. The suite we had was exceptional, room service could not have been better and we really appreciated the extra touches left in our room.
From the Champagne served in the Promenade to the cocktails in China Tangs and breakfast in The Grill - everything exceeded our expectations. The concierge and reception staff could not have been more helpful with special mention made of Alberto who made us feel so special.
Joe at the theatre ticket desk was just a star and completed the wonderful experience to perfection.
We booked lunch at Cut at 45 Park Lane on Joe's recommendation and yet again the experience was exceptional and cannot be praised highly enough. The reason we were making the trip to London was to experience some things on my "Bucket List" - things to do before I die (not that I intend to do in the near future)
We can say without doubt that The Dochester made this trip better than we could ever have hoped and can recommend it without reservation. Thank you so much.
Moira and Cathy

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation of The Dorchester. I am thrilled to hear that your experience lived up to your expectations. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to the rest of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kostas Sfaltos
Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

A truely memorable afternoon tea at The Dorechester. Luxury without arrogance. Very few places can be so luxurios yet also make you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcdefghijkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PromenadeDorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. I am pleased to note you had such a memorable afternoon at The Dorchester. It is always our aim to ensure our guests’ comfort at all times and I am thrilled we have succeeded.

On behalf of us all here at The Dorchester, I do hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind Regards,
Renaud Gregoire
Director of Food and Beverage
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#57 of 1,075 in London
1,114 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,075 in London
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#18 of 1,075 in London
271 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,075 in London
422 reviews
Mayfair
Claridge's
Claridge's
#43 of 1,075 in London
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#49 Luxury Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £520 - £794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing