We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first review of the Dorchester detailed it needed improvement, no i can confirm everything is exemplary!”
Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #56 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I am a huge fan of grandiose, old fashioned hotels such as the Dorchester, I have stayed here no less then 10 times, and felt it worthwhile to re-affirm The Dorchester's status as one of the worlds best hotels.
I love the levels of service, the pride that goes into every aspect of the hotel, i love the fact that i once arrived in a friends old heap of a car rather than my usual one off classic super car, and i was offered the same glowing welcome (it's the simple things in life eh?)
The rooms are always a delight, the cocktails are second to none, the room service is magnificent.
I had one bad trip to the Dorchester a couple of years ago, but now i feel they have stepped up their service levels to maintain their fantastic levels of service!!!

a huge well done to everyone at the hotel in their monumental levels of service.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieLansdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear Guest,
I’m very pleased that your recent visits to The Dorchester lived up to your expectations.
We certainly strive to provide impeccable service throughout all areas of the hotel and I’m happy to hear that you found this to be true.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kostas Sfaltos
Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

I am not in the habit of staying in such luxerious places, but through a combination of a special offer and a 50th birthday, the opportunity finally presented itself.

Was it worth it?

I must say that it was worth every penny. The luxury and relaxed charm was evident everywhere and unlike other grand London Hotels, everything was very bright and beautiful.

The staff were brilliant and there was a total lack of snobbery that made you feel very welcome no matter what your personal circumstances were.

Breakfast was faultless and the bed was the largest and the most comfortable that i have ever stayed in.

There was one very small criticism. Despite the price of the room, there is no complimentary tea/coffee facilities in the room. We had to fill our boots with extra tea at Breakfast.

Room Tip: Look out for special offers on the website. They make a vist just about affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear Guest,
I’m very pleased to note that your stay at The Dorchester lived up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Dorchester in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kostas Sfaltos
Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I took my daughter and friend to The Dorchester Hotel, London, for an Afternoon Tea as a treat for her 40th birthday. I must say, wow. It was lovely. We had a choice of four diff menus, from £34.50 each or highter depending if you had Champagne with the tea. We did, just the one glass each, different sandwichs (with crust cut off of course), scones with jam and clotted cream, and an assortment of cakes, great. The icing on the cake was the pianist played Happy Birthday and the hotel supplied a small birthday cake on the house. A lovely experience had by all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grannyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PromenadeDorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very pleased to note that you and your daughter had an enjoyable birthday celebration over Afternoon Tea at The Dorchester.
On behalf of us all here at The Dorchester, I very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Renaud Gregoire
Director of Food and Beverage
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This was my first but not my last stay here; Check in was done by 2 male reception staff members; true professionals. Very polite and easy to talk with. The building is beautiful inside; high Art - Deco at its best. The room was lovely and the bathroom large and marbled.
I could go on all night and bore you!!, but all I can say is give this place a try; its worth the cost for the experience. True class

Room Tip: they are all individual; let the reception staff choose for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rikkimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear Guest,
I’m happy to hear that your stay at The Dorchester lived up to your expectations. I will certainly pass your feedback to the rest of the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kostas Sfaltos
Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The Dorchester is truly one of the poshest and most exclusive hotels in Central London. It has a very traditional feel as its been around for a while but is still very well kept and beautiful inside. The lobby area is spectacular and the interior truly gorgeous. The staff are very polite and helpful. This is one hotel where you are likely to rub shoulders with the Elite, Upper class and Celebrities of the world. Spotted George Clooney with his girlfriend hanging out with Topshop owner, Phillip Green! Stayed here for about four nights on a short trip to London and it was well worth the price. Always thought it would be more expensive as it has such a good reputation but got a pretty good deal. Had a great time going to the Bar downstairs in the Chinese restaurant every single day - a great place to let your hair down, have a drink and chill away from the 'uptight' Aristocratic feel of the rest of the hotel. Note this is not a 'party' hotel so if you are looking for that check out the W in Leicester Square or the Sanderson. However if you are looking for real 'upper class' treatment this is the place to be. It is definitely worth the stay. The location of the hotel is ideal, 2-5min taxi ride to Oxford Circus/Bond Street/Knightsbridge so perfect for shopping. The rooms are pretty traditional looking but didn't have a problem with it - it's spacious, clean, bathrooms clean, no faults. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and hope to stay here again sometime.

Room Tip: Booked via GrandLuxuryHotels.com and got a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Dear Guest,
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Dorchester. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. The China Tang Bar is a lovely place to enjoy unique cocktails; I’m glad that you found this to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kostas Sfaltos
Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This hotel is a classic well known luxury hotel, ideally located at parklane. Staff is kind and helpfull at check-in, although reserved and not over-fiendly. My room was located on the 4th floor, at the side- back of the building! The room was enjoyable of temperature, but the bathroom on the other hand was freezing cold. Nice healthy fruit attention next to the bed. I had a classic english room with a double door from my entrance door, which blocked all noise coming from the corridor. Although the windows are not sound proof, especially the one in the bathroom not. If you're planning a luxury quit bath, please be advised it will be one with car sound. I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed it. I just would like to advise some male staff to put on their smile and greet guests with a simple goodmorning, good afternoon or good evening. I missed the extra touch in this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svalkenborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Dorchester; thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We value our guests’ comments very highly and will certainly take note of the points that you have mentioned.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Dorchester in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kostas Sfaltos
Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Great location for business and leisure. The lobby area has an excellent decor and ideal for short meetings. Rooms, service, breakfast - all fab !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Dorchester and hope that we assisted in making your business trip as pleasant as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kostas Sfaltos
Executive Assistant Manager, Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Mayfair
Claridge's
Claridge's
#44 of 1,077 in London
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,684 reviews
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#89 of 1,077 in London
436 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#9 of 1,077 in London
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £494 - £978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing