We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“iconic”
Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #49 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

its been 30 years i reside at The Dorchester occasionally when i am in London, and i have never been disappointed. No wonder its one of the main choices for tasteful vips. even through its refurbishment, it has never lost the classic, elegant and relaxing feel. Sometimes you feel like in 'Richie Rich' home. The restaurants are exquisite, the tea room wonderful, and the service unmatched. peace of mind for me every time.... and when i need something done, trust the efficient concierge to handle your every whim.
not to mention the eye candy of the limited series cars that can be found as soon as you walk out of the hotel. the hotel is extremely pricey, of course, but that is all to be expected.

thank you to the whole staff for making my 0 complaint stays possible.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank conteCaudulloA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear AntonioCut,
It is a pleasure to hear you have been staying with us over the past 30 years and how much you enjoy all aspects of your visits. I will pass on your thanks to everyone here and we look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,089 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here recently and was not disappointed. Although the design is of a more traditional style and not what I would normally go for, the experience was outstanding. From check in to departure everything was seemless and the staff where most professional. As you would expect the quality of everything is outstanding and this place really sets the standard of any five star establishment we have stayed in elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peteradams12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Peteradams12,
Many thanks for your kind review of your recent stay. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently and cannot fully comprehend on here how immaculate this hotel is . From the moment you are greeted by the friendly concierge team it becomes immediately apparent how things are going to go from this moment on. The oppulence of the foyer, then the grandness of the tea room stretching down into the hotel is stunning . We checked in and the girl at the reception then escorted us to our room on the fourth floor . Me and the wife were in two minds as to whether we should take our shoes off when the lift door opened, the carpets looked brand new, the walk to the room took us around the floor space which was absolutely spotless.
The room was lovely, it had a sort of historic feel without being dated . Because it is one of the most famous and grandios hotels in London I was expecting it to be really good , but it was excellent to be fair. We had drinks on the balcony of one of the suites on the 8th floor as we were attending an awards evening as my wife had won an award for the Company she works for . We then went and had dinner in one the suites , the waiting staff were great , there was about 20 of us eating, and they were attentive , friendly and polite.The food was excellent . Visited the bar for a drink after dinner , very plush bar with friendly bar staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Sean J,
I am delighted to hear how much you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you had the opportunity to celebrate your wife’s award with drinks on the balcony in of our suites. I will share your kind review with the rest of our team and we looking forward to seeing you both again soon. Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My Husband treated me to a surprise afternoon tea at The Dorchester. We had the most amazing time. The food was beautiful and you can eat & drink as little or as much as you can manage. The scones were so lovely and warm that we ate a few more... It would have been rude not to finish off the Cornish clotted cream and home made preserves. The staff made you feel so welcome and nothing was too much for them. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear Victoria72,
I am delighted to hear how much you and your husband enjoyed your surprise afternoon tea. I am glad you enjoyed all the scones and homemade preserves and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Words are not enough to describe it.Our room 231 was beautifully furnished,spacious, very clean, the bathroom huge and fully equiped. The staff more than helpfull, smiley and polite. The concierge very helpfull in anything we asked for. Everything was just excellent!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear lidi A,
Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel is beautiful, the service is fantastic and the cocktails, served by Paulo are the best I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzilacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear suzilacey,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Dorchester. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time here and will pass on your kind words about the cocktails to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

As a surprise for my mums birthday booked afternoon tea for the family. Amazing surroundings, staff, music and food. An endless supply of sandwiches, tea and cakes plus a surprise little birthday cake and candle for the birthday girl. You can not fault the quality. I would strongly recommend as a treat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear Anna T,
Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind review. We are delighted you chose The Dorchester to celebrate your mother’s special day and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#12 of 1,077 in London
962 reviews
Mayfair
Claridge's
Claridge's
#42 of 1,077 in London
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,751 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 1,077 in London
4,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#47 Luxury Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £428 - £900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing