We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a top place to stay but breakfast was a little chaotic”
Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #36 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still a top place to stay but breakfast was a little chaotic”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We love staying at the dorchester and always enjoy our overnight stay at the beginning of December when we go to London for Christmas shopping. As ever the room and staff were great.
However, arriving for breakfast at around 10.00am on Sunday morning we found people having to queue and we were being told of a wait time of 30-40 minutes. The two girls behind the lecturn were getting a little flustered as people were getting angry and walking away. I accept that there are only so many seats and tables but the staff must have had some idea as to when people turn up for breakfast plus, it's the Dorchester and we're are paying good money for great service. Things seemed to improve a little when management arrived, but by then the damage had been done. Our actual wait was still around 20 minutes. It won't stop us visiting again but you don't expect this sort of issue at London's best.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Peter C,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at The Dorchester and I am delighted to read that you chose to stay with us prior to your Christmas Shopping. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the room and service but I am disappointed to read about the wait for breakfast in The Promenade. All feedback is of value to us and I can assure you that we will address your concerns and I look forward to welcoming you back personally when you next return.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    217
    80
    29
    22
See reviews for
267
589
107
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I decided to take my mum to The Dorchester for 3 nights for her birthday. We were treated like royalty from before we even arrived. I emailed ahead to explain the purpose of our visit, and they ensured that notes were added to our booking. To our surprise we were upgraded on arrival. On a side note, Rod Stewart was standing in the lobby! When we arrived to our very spacious room, there was a lovely Birthday Cake on display, with a huge fruit bowl, box of chocolates, and a letter from the manager welcoming us to the hotel. What a great start to our trip. I made a reservation at China Tang, the in-house chinese restaurant. It was probably the best Chinese restaurant we have ever dined at. The quality of the meat was superb. I'd highly recommend it. We used the bar a few times during our stay. Sat next to Chris Eubank and Matt Goss. Another lovely experience for my mum! Breakfast was probably the best thing about our stay. The amount/quality was second to none, and the service was very attentive. I will return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear CraigNewcastle,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such kind feedback of your recent stay at The Dorchester. I am delighted to read that you chose us to celebrate your mother’s birthday with us and how welcomed you felt during your stay. It will be a pleasure to share your feedback with China Tang and the rest of the team and I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon again.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Having gone to London for a random day out, our car decided to misbehave, so knowing we were unable to get home (2hrs away) we checked into the Dorchester....we were not dressed to the nines, and probably looked a little dishevelled, yet the staff couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and accomodating, upgrading us to a wonderful suite with a jacuzzi bath, lounge and dining room! We've stayed in many hotels, but will now go out of our way to stay here! The front of house staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Instructdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Instructdrive,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent stay at The Dorchester and I am delighted to read that we were able to accommodate following your car troubles. It will be a pleasure to share your review with the team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

I agree it has the history and great location but i don't think the service no longer befits the definition of a luxury hotel. I woke up in the morning to find that there is no toothbrush and no toothpaste available in our room. For the amount that they charge you would think that they can afford a toothpaste right? I then called up room service to send me one, waited hour and no one showed up. Now the worst part is that this place has I think most neglected security service. What I lost was an insignificant and perhaps a trivial stuff. Oh well, so what someone else wanted it. Not jewelry and not cash money. After checking out I called back the hotel to request them to look for the item I lost. I informed them that I either left it in the hotel room or someone just snatched it while it was under storage with concierge. The security personel promised to call me back. It's been two days now and I haven't even received an apology call. It doesn't matter what I lost but it's lack of attention and negligence that really bothered me. For fellow travellers, not worth staying. The hotel has become somewhat lackluster in service and attention.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tuyashka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Tuyashka,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at The Dorchester. I have been able to go over the details with our security staff and I am sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Please can I politely ask that you contact me directly here at the hotel?
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Revisited The Dorchester Nov.18-28. The festive season was in full swing and the hotel decorations were terrific - especially in the Promenade. As always, the service was perfect - with special mention to the breakfast, bar, and housekeeping staff. But more important was the feeling that the folks know this is my London home away from home - from the minute I arrive, it's like stepping through my front door. Thanks to all - and have a wonderful Christmas!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phildiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear phildiver1,
Many thanks for taking the time leave such kind feedback on your recent visit to The Dorchester. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay and how much you like our Christmas decorations in The Promenade. Wishing you a wonderful Christmas and I look forward to welcoming you back here on your next visit.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a three-night stay at The Dorchester and found the hotel, whilst undoubtedly very good, fell short of expectations.

Let me begin by saying that the staff were all excellent. Everybody we dealt with was polite, professional and friendly. My girlfriend and I were usually greeted by name and room service was always quick and courteous.

My main gripe is the blatant avarice of the hotel's owners. Now, I know that other top flight hotels adopt similar practices but there are much more affordable places to stay which offer such facilities as full satellite television (The Dorchester offers a very limited selection of channels), complimentary wifi (£19.50 per day here) and a complimentary minibar (£3.50 for a packet of crisps, when I've just paid £450 for the room? Really?) as a matter of course.

Further to this, the room service menu states that a delivery charge of four pounds would be added to each order. I assume that this surcharge doesn't reach the waiter, who is probably on not much more than the national minimum wage, so it is most rapacious of the hotel's owners to exploit customers in this way. I'd rather not have to pay a delivery charge and tip the waiter in cash.

At least they notify you in advance that you'll be charged for room service. At check-in, the hotel informed me that as well as the total cost of the room, they would be taking an up-front fee of £200 per night to cover room service and other charges. I would have had no objection had I been forewarned of this, but no mention of this policy was made at any point during the reservation process.

As far as the hotel is concerned, the public areas are all of a high standard and The Promenade Bar, in particular, stands out. All food and drink was of a high standard but our room, whilst spacious and with a beautifully appointed bathroom, had a few minor flaws, ill becoming of such a prestigious property: not one of the lampshades in our room was correctly aligned; the docking station for iPods was so worn that it would only play if the device was physically held in place; there was dust on one of the bathroom shelves; the television wasn't correctly formatted, so that widescreen broadcasts reached beyond the parameters of the screen; the fruit bowl wasn't replenished on a daily basis.

Overall, I'd say that The Dorchester is a fairly average five-star hotel and doubt that I'll be going back there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SprinterSacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear SprinterSacre,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent stay at The Dorchester and I am sorry to read that aspects of your visit did not live up to your expectations. I would very much like to discuss this with you further so can I kindly ask that you contact me directly at the hotel.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This hotel is superb in every way. The service is attentive and helpful while allowing a high degree of privacy without incessant interruptions. The staff is wonderful. Our room is large and traditionally furnished in understated elegance. The hotel has a lively chic international clientele. The food is very good. Reception was efficient, elevators quick, bath water very hot and fast, room service delivery less than 30 minutes, wall outlets convenient for charging phones, room lighting varied and abundant....really am enjoying my stay!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NANCY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Nancy H,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at The Dorchester. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how much you liked all aspects of the hotel including the food, rooms and service. Once again, thank you.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#53 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#6 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#24 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Property: The Dorchester
Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing