We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Chaine Young Professionals Awards Dinner”
Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #43 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Chaine Young Professionals Awards Dinner”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This iconic London establishment is truely one of the great hotels of the World. You get what you pay for was never more true - and at The Dorchester, it's done with style. The attention to detail is quite outstanding and quality is unquestionable.

We had an amazing weekend - the highlight being an awards dinner - where the food on service were quite exceptional.

The rooms too are beautifully appointed - we had a recently refurbished room and were very impressed even though there was no view.

A word of warning - take care in the bar - ones bar tab can soon mount up without much effort.

Room Tip: The recently refurbished rooms are exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Protraveller5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Protraveller5_11,
Many thanks for taking the time out to leave such kind comments on your recent stay at The Dorchester. I am delighted to read how much you enjoy staying with us and that your highlight was your dining experience and service. I will share your comments with the team involved and I look forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.
Kind regards, Stephane Lafon, Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,203
    223
    83
    31
    23
See reviews for
274
611
108
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Maybe it's just me, but, some of the worlds great hotels seem to have a certain air about them, sort of "are you sure you should be here"?

Well that's not The Dorchester.

It's every bit as grand and luxurious as you imagine / expect, yet from the chauffeurs to pick you up, the doormen, concierge, reception staff (offering to escort to the room) through all other staff I saw in my 24 hour stay, everybody genuinely seemed happy to be working there and for you to be their guest.

Every company is only as good as its employees and this is one great hotel.

Great Dorchester English breakfast in The Grill also....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear lee_the_traveller,
I am delighted to read your kind comments on your recent visit to The Dorchester and to read how highly you valued the service. It will be a pleasure to share your feedback with the team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit here.
Kind regards, Stephane Lafon, Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is superb! The service is outstanding and the whole package from room service breakfast to cocktails in the excellent bar, with celebrities, is just magnificent!
I would recommend this to everyone for at least a once in a lifetime experience.
I can't wait to return again. Both my wife and I loved every second!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B11boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PromenadeDorchester, Director of Food and Beverage at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear B11boss,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a kind review of your recent stay at The Dorchester. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the whole experience including breakfast and cocktails in the bar. I look forward to welcoming you and your wife here again on your next visit.
Kind regards, Stephane Lafon, Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Va.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My last hotel review was of a Super 8 Motel in North Carolina, so take this review as you see fit. The Dorchester is at the opposite end of the spectrum -- from redneck to red carpet. We stayed there for one night in late November 2012, and it was fantastic. We were given a small suite, I think. It was a large room with a sitting area, and a bathroom to die for, all marble, glass and chrome. See photos.

A welcome plate of fruit was delivered to us shortly after we got to our room. The windows opened a bit, which was nice for some fresh air, if not necessarily energy efficient, as the weather was cold, gloomy and damp.

We spent little time exploring the hotel. Yet the brief experience I had there was divine. We had dinner at the hotel, a large group event in one of the meeting rooms, cocktails first, then food. It was good and fun and festive, but not especially memorable.

Two comments: a lamp beside the bed was short-circuiting each time I turned it on. We called the front desk and an electrician arrived shortly afterwards. He changed the light bulb and thought that had taken care of the problem, but as he turned and walked away, it went out again. So he immediately unplugged the lamp, took it with him,and brought us another one right away. No real problem for us, just a glitch, maybe no one had turned on that lamp recently. We had great service throughout our stay.

Secondly, my husband stayed at The Dorchester, again for one night, in mid-December 2012. I'd gone home to the US, he was at the end of a multi-continent tour. He said that his room on the return leg was nothing like our luxurious digs three weeks earlier, just a small space without many special touches. So the moral is that not all first experiences repeat themselves.

Still, I'd go for it -- live in the lap of luxury.

And as a P.S., after checking in early in the day, we went to explore and found The Athenaeum Hotel nearby, which serves a delicious -- and deliciously expensive -- cream tea. Pure pampering. Put that on your to-do list, also.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrsrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear rrsrichmond,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with your husband and then his later return visit at The Dorchester. I am delighted to read how much you and your husband enjoyed the whole experience including the suite you stayed in, the dining experience and the service. I was sorry to read about the lamp, though you are right, these things do happen from time to time. I am more concerned that your husband’s return experience was not like the first visit and I can assure you that this is a key focus for the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester on a return visit to the UK and please contact me directly to make the arrangements for you.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Booked the Dorchester for a special weekend break as a christmas gift for my wife. To be fair, we don't normally stay at such lavish hotels but this was a special occasion.

It's hard to explain why its so special, it just is. The staff are so attentive, but not over the top. The hotel interior is amazing and our room was beyond comfortable.

Breakfast on the Promenade was out of this world.

Yep, it's eye wateringly expensive, but as a special treat its well worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade - you might just get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoojar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Hoojar,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent weekend break at The Dorchester. I was delighted to read how much you and your wife enjoyed the accommodation provided and breakfast in The Promenade during your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

If you can afford it, this is the place to be. Great location, glitzy neighborhood. The staff is the best I've ever seen. Hotel of stars and famous statesmen. It is an easy walk to three tube stops, shopping, and great food. And one of the best parks in the city, Hyde Park, is right across the street. I could not recommend this more.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Buck S,
Thank you for you kind review of your recent stay at The Dorchester. It was a pleasure to read how much you appreciated your stay including the service and location for shopping and walks in Hyde Park. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Took my husband to this hotel for his 60th birthday. it was amazing from the moment we stepped up to the reception desk. We were received like celebrities and given room upgrades without even asking. Everything was incredible. We had a birthday cake and huge bowl of fruit plus champagne in the room. They even gave my husband a birthday card. Attention to detail was outstanding. Bars, restaurants and staff were all the best ever. we have stayed in top class hotels all over the world but the Dorchester is our number I. Can't wait to go back, but this time it will be for two nights! Many thanks to a truly great team x

Room Tip: Sixth floor and above views are great. Try to get a Hyde Park view - Amazballs! . Lift very fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eve_meager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear eve_meager,
I am delighted to read how much you and your husband enjoyed your celebratory stay for your husband’s birthday and it was a pleasure to read how much you appreciated the room upgrade, birthday cake and champagne. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team here and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you both on a return visit soon.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#51 of 1,069 in London
1,103 reviews
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#23 of 1,069 in London
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,069 in London
1,423 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#10 of 1,069 in London
848 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#8 of 1,069 in London
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Property: The Dorchester
Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Luxury Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing