We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Best”
Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #37 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

World class hotel, bar and service all around. Best location in Mayfair with easy access to Hyde Park, 10 minutes to Palace and good 'ole Pubs closeby. Excellent security. Not cheap but worth every penny. Added bonus - If you love oggling fine cars then their car park will not disappoint. Just don't touch.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear BP,
I thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your most recent visit to The Dorchester. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the location and service of The Dorchester and that your overall experience was to your satisfaction. I hope to have the opportunity and welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager & Regional Director – UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    217
    80
    29
    22
See reviews for
267
588
107
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Located in the heart of London, you can expect a top level service on a luxury environment. Expect a traditional-style hotel with well kept rooms with on a classic atmosphere. Expensive as you would imagine, you will be paying the premium location and heritage. Don't forget to try the signature dishes!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunoscosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear nunoscosta,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your most recent visit to The Dorchester. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and your overal experience was to your satisfaction. Rest assured that I will share your comments with everyone here and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manger and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great break had at this Hotel. you pay for what you get and we certainly got it. Food service bedroom bar restaurant were top notch. the sound proofing was good to as we had a room close to the busy road. Shame there was no swimming pool as this would had been a 5 star rating by me but we did know that before we booked. Doorman welcome was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear alan r,
Thank you for your complimentary feedback on your recent stay at The Dorchester. I am pleased you enjoyed the experience with us and that you appreciated the service provided. I will share your comments with everyone here and I very much look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

An enjoyable stay in a luxurious hotel, with a few lapses in service. Would I stay again – yes, however the lack of a swimming pool was a bit of a disappointment.

Arrival:-
The welcome by the doorman, and reception was warm. Check-in was informative, with an offer of a brief orientation before being shown to our rooms. The hotel is very well maintained, with stunning flower displays in the main lobby and promenade.

The Guest Room:-
The Deluxe King room was a reasonable size. The bathroom, although small and with a rather strange layout (the toilet located behind the door), had a separate shower and bath. The bed was comfortable. The turn down service was average, noting the slippers are the worst I’ve been provided and certainly not the level of quality I’d associate with a hotel commanding circa £500 per night. See photos.

Deluxe King versus Executive Deluxe King:-
Having booked two rooms as treating my parents to a few nights in London, I had opted for the Deluxe King for myself and the Executive Deluxe King for my parents. Aside from a slightly largely bathroom, and more recent décor, there was no noticeable difference between the rooms – certainly not given the ~£200 price premium for the Executive Deluxe.

The Bar:-
Good service; a reasonable selection of drinks and cocktails.

The Promenade:-
For reviews of breakfast and afternoon tea in the Promenade, please see my separate review.

The Gym:-
A small gym for the size of the hotel, with a couple of treadmills, a bike, a cross-trainer, a couple of weight machines and free weights. Surprisingly the hotel has no swimming pool.

Service:-
Throughout the hotel, staff were friendly and on the whole attentive. However attention to detail was lacking on a few occasions. E.g. my parents being provided with a room which had a letter advising of a prayer mat, etc being provided (one had not been requested) and breakfast on the second day not having an unused place setting removed. Pretty minor but not what I’d expect from such a renowned hotel which commands such a premium.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear nick164,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review on your most recent visit to The Dorchester. I am pleased to see that your overall experience was to your satisfaction. We do value our guests and their concerns are of great importance to us. Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to ensure that our service is constantly kept to the highest level meeting our guests’ expectations and needs at all times. I very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manger and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I went there in April for a WE, and it was really a great experience !
Beautiful place, friendly staff but very professional.

The only thing I would complain about is that we hear the cars on the park lane avenue from the bedrooms (maybe not all of them but the one I had), but don’t worry you can sleep even with this (little) background noise !

(Sorry if I made mistakes I’m French ! )

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Joris D,
I thank you for sharing your most recent experience at The Dorchester. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to share your review with everyone here. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager & Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

best hotel in london you will feel the luaxury everywhere , room is the biggest in london and bathroom is nice marble, the staff are very helpfull
the house keeping are the best , best clean i ever seen in london
i cant forget how soft their sheets , i didnt have the chance to ask them about the brand
the breakfast is expensive i wish if they add it to the room rate

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aosh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Aosh2013,
Thank you for leaving such a kind review on your most recent visit to The Dorchester. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and left The Dorchester with such beautiful impressions. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with our team and kindly note that it would be our pleasure to provide you with further details on our bed sheet brand, if you would like kindly to contact us directly at the hotel. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager and Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

wonderful hotel and wonderful experience! turn down is the best -fresh bowl of fruit every night! it was just what I needed after a long day of shopping. the hotel can be a little stuffy (english) if you know what i mean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarabelle917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland_Fasel, General Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Clarabelle917,
It is a pleasure to read your kind comments on your recent visit to The Dorchester. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our turn down amenities and your overall stay with us. I will be sure to share your review with everyone here and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Roland Fasel, General Manager & Regional Director UK, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#54 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#7 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#23 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Property: The Dorchester
Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing