We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In every way, worthy of its reputation.”
Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #36 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In every way, worthy of its reputation.”
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Once in a while it is lovely to spend a little extra and stay somewhere special. My daughter and I came to London for business for a couple of days and decided to see why my husband spoke so fondly of The Dorchester. Now, we know. Discretion, luxury, style, and every possible amenity. The Alain Ducasse restaurant was truly outstanding - and very good value in its class for the lunch menu. View of Hyde Park on a perfect spring day was a bonus. I can't think why I would ever pay about fifty pounds less for an ordinary hotel, when I could spend a little more and feel this papmpered. A personal treat I shall repeat soon!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbofgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    218
    82
    29
    22
See reviews for
269
593
107
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bombay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

what can you say about the hotel that is legendary for its service and hospitality.
they do more than more to keep that reputation..

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Family74Bombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

My husband and I chose The Dorchester for our wedding on May 2nd and had an amazing time. From visiting the hotel to plan our day up until we checked out the staff were superb. We were married in the Pavillion and Penthouse room on the 8th floor overlooking the city and had an amazing day.
We had a suite overlooking Mayfair and on arrival were given a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries which we enjoyed in the mammoth bath. After our wedding we returned to the room to find more strawberries and a lovely card from the hotel manager congratulating us on our wedding.
We ordered breakfast in bed and the amount of food that was delivered was brilliant. We ate in the room and the server set up the table and came back later to collect the dishes. We forgot toothbrushes and they kindly brought them up along with a comb and toothpaste.
The staff are the blood of the hotel. Everyone was extremely friendly and the service second to none. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

The Dorchester is the top of London elegance. Many celebs are spotted in the lobby or staying here. We chose this hotel because of it's fine reputation. We stayed in a Dorchester Suite which had two bedrooms and magnificent views of Hyde Park. The Rolls Royce picked us up from the airport and took us promptly to the hotel, the front staff (who are dressed to the nines) greeted us extremely friendly). The staff are wonderful and keen to help you. The Theatre Desk is extremely helpful in securing last minute tickets to hot shows, which in our case was the Sound of Music. The Promenade features award winning afternoon tea which we had one afternoon as well as breakfast most mornings. One day we had breakfast in the Grill Room was was a little too formal for our taste. The Bar serves lovely light lunches (we had the day we got there). Alain Ducasse is a gastronomic experience and one of the best meals I have had in my life. The Dorchester Spa is outstanding for massages as well as facials. The location of the hotel is hard to beat and overall just a great experience, no flaws in my opinion and would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitzCarltonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We stayed at The Dorchester in the easter half term for 2 nights. It was our second visit to the Hotel and just as good. The only draw back to staying here , is that it completely spoils you from staying anywhere else. We have as a family stayed in some beautiful hotels all over the world, but The Dorchester in our opinion is the best and most luxurious. It has a perfect position at Hyde Park Corner, which allows you to be out of the hussel and bussel , but within walking distance to most of the attractions. The hotel itself is beautiful, very classy and luxurious. The bedrooms are sumptuious with almost every amenity( no tea or coffee making facilities though). From the crisp white bedlinen, to the gorgeous marble bathrooms with floris toiletries ,it is literally a dream to stay here. On this, our second visit, there was a complimentry bottle of champagne in our room on arrival, and handmade chocolates and gifts for the children, the Dorchester certainly go out of their way to make you feel special . We had booked a show for our first night stay, so after a long soak in the deepest bath ever, we ordered room service and had a lovely meal brought to the room. The room service menu is quite substanial with lots to choose from and actually not as expensive as you would think, considering your in London. You can get quite a good deal from their website, they do lots of spring and summer offers and xmas specials, which can make it affordable to stay there.
The restaurants in the hotel seem very good also. Weve eaten in the grill room and had afternoon tea in the promenard but havent tried the alan ducasse restaurant. Also as well, the spa has undergone a refurbishment and wasnt in use until may, so could not use the spa and pool which was a bit disappointing but hey i bet it will be superb when its done. I defy anyone not to like The Dorchester, its one of the most famous , luxurious hotels in the world, whats not to like...........!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_s_jCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, General Manager & Regional Director UK at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 8 May 2009
Dear Ms Cheshire,

Thank you for your recent review of
The Dorchester. We appreciate your kind comments and pride ourselves on the level of service that we offer to our guests.
We are delighted to announce that
The Dorchester Spa has finished its refurbishment and was opened today. Everyone is talking about it being the most indulgent day spa in London and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the pampering and indulgence that only
The Dorchester can offer!

Regards,
Roland Fasel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

There are 2 brilliant hotels at the top of the London market and this is one of them.It is a favourite of film stars.I amnot one but always receive the genuinely warm welcome that one expects at a hotel but rarely receives.
There is not a bad bedroom here.All are a decent size with crisp bed linen and superb bathrooms overloaded with Floris toiletries and fluffy towels.
The staff are kind to all,particularly children.
Room rates are fair and not as high as one might expect! The set lunch in the Ducasse restaurant is the best and best value in London today.See my recent review on Tripadvisor.
The manager here used to run the other perfect hotel,Claridges.It shows.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DominicBathEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

stayed here 20 dec very nice hotel we usually stay at the savoy in riverside suite but as it was a little tired its now closed for major refurb. the dorchester roomsEXECUTIVE DELUXE DOUBLE quite large and very nice decorated nice touch was a tea on silver tray on arrival the service in this hotel was totally spot on. the bars very nice. we eat at rodes24 in a private dinning suite which was not up to the great standard you would expect. my advice would be go to china tang or if you can eat at the krug room if you cross the road the at the top of the hilton galvin at windows the food here was first class book a window table in advance
in a nut shell this hotel is one of the best in london we will return and a big thanks to the management and staff totally A1

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#53 of 1,067 in London
1,090 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,067 in London
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#22 of 1,067 in London
240 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#6 of 1,067 in London
807 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,067 in London
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Property: The Dorchester
Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing