We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sleek, stylish and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of COMO The Halkin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
COMO The Halkin
Ranked #5 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sleek, stylish and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

My sister, friend and I stayed at The Halkin while in London for the Royal Wedding. What an amazing experience! From our arrival to departure we couldn't have been more happy. The room was amazing! The bathroom may be the largest I have experienced while traveling in Europe! The water pressure in the shower was a bit insane (very powerful!), I would take it over a trinkle any day of the week! The nightly turndown service was great and I believe the housekeeping staff were magical fairies because I never saw a housekeeping cart or employee!

The hotel is located right off of a main road and within walking distance to Buckingham Palace and Hyde Park. It's a quiet and beautiful neighborhood.

I look forward to visiting The Halkin during my next visit to London!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meganmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    54
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
247
36
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Me and my wife, we were celebrating our 4th Anniversary when we chose to spend a couple of nights at the Halkin. You know, a special occasion needs a special treat.
As the hotel's location is prime due to its proximity to areas such as Hyde Park, Mayfair, Knightsbridge... it made easy for us to also enjoy sometime around the city.

The Hotel amenities are quite astonishing... starting from the room, which had a "enormous" king-size bed, a walk-in closet and a bathroom.
I love those bed-side touch screen controls they have for you to turn the lights on/off, control the temperature and off course an alarm.

On the first night we decided to have dinner at Nahm, the Thai restaurant located within the hotel. What a restaurant... we had such a great time, enjoying great Thai food and lovely atmosphere.

The staff in general was really friendly and professional. Top notch!

Really special place, strongly recommend!!! And I'll be definitely coming back soon!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaBragaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, IA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

I rarely write reviews, but I must say my experience at The Halkin left a hugely positive impression. The rooms are top notch, the location is great, the service and food were terrific. But what made the biggest impression was the quality, helpfulness, and general friendliness of the staff--it was truly a delight to stay there. Expensive, yes, but very very well worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

I stayed at THE HALKIN with my wife last September 2010 for eight days to celebrate my birthday and I aprecciated very much this boutique hotel. Front desk, concierge and housekeeping were just perfect. Everything you need offered in a top level just like a five star boutique hotel should be.

The suite was very charming and nicely decorated, very comfortable, providing small details that made a difference such as: the touch screen control panel of all lights, music in the bathroom, TV, sofa and two armchairs, complete bathroom with their own line products (COMO Shambhala). We felt like in our own home.

At THE NAHM Restaurant we had the best Thai food of our lives. We study and appreciate wines very much and we were very surprised with the "chart of wines". It is very well selected and completed, with an amazing variety including from South Africa, Australia and New Zealand, great champagnes, like a Cristal Louis Roederer, Krug and Dom Pérignon, to the Bordeaux PremiÃ?re Gran Cru Classé exclusive wines, like Chateau Pétrus, Château Cheval Blanc, Château Mouton-Rothschild and Château Haut-Brion.

TONI SIMIONI
Av.Epitacio Pessoa, 2030/1001-Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
tonisimioni@uol.com.br

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonisimioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Stayed at the Halkin for a night in a Deluxe Room. Probably one of the greatest rooms I ever slept in, even comparing it to suites of more than 1000 sqft. This one was around 450 sq ft and that's the perfect size for a solo traveler or even a couple.

Loved the bathroom with the deep bathtub that takes 90 seconds to fill. Vanities and Products could indeed have been better. I was expecting something nicer for that kind of room and hotel.

The location is very central but remains quiet and provides an opportunity to sleep well.

Only drawback because there has to be one: the price: around 420 GBP a night, without breakfast. That's quite high.

If I find some promotions or discount code, I will definitely be back because I loved the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeamasterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

My girlfriend and I have decided to spend a night in hotel to celebrate a special event.
We have never had such a great experience in a hotel. Wonderful and helpful staff, great service, divine thai food. The cocktail I had, 'Nahm Godfather', was just perfect.
Our Superior Double room really exceeded my expectation. We really see the Halkin as a luxury romantic place where to stay and relax.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scaperrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

This hotel was designed by Armani and is located in Belgravia, very close to Hyde Park Corner, and Embassy Row, so transport (taxi or Tube) is no issue. It's around the corner from Buck House, should you have an invite for tea with Her Majesty. It's also perhaps 10 minutes walk from Lowndes St and Cadogan Square, which runs into Sloane St. There are a number of high-end shops, boutiques and a couple of charming cafes in Lowndes St. In short, we loved the location.

Yet the hotel itself we found to be very quiet and restful, as Halkin St. is a side-street. The ambience is high-end chic. It's small, which we liked. I'm not sure this is the place for you if you're traveling with kids and/or with a large family. Similarly, if you like the hustle and bustle of a buzzy, busy larger hotel, this place is not for you. The hotel has a bar on the ground floor, which was adequate for our purposes, but, again, if you want a bar with more buzz, certainly the Mandarin Oriental in nearby Knightsbridge, or the bar at The Connaught in Carlos Place is more your speed.

The staff at The Halkin were terrific. Typically, we were greeted by name and every request was honored and executed swiftly. For example, we checked in very late -- about 10pm and had dinner reservations. We looked disheveled after our 7-hour transatlantic trip, but were greeted warmly. I had called the preceding week to request a room upgrade and was told the front-desk staff were busy but that a note would be made on the file. Sure enough, the request was honored and we had been upgraded. Our bags were whisked up to our room while we went out to dinner. Further, every time we left the hotel, the room was made up again flawlessly following our request-- that's twice a day, every day. Finally, room service was very prompt. For example, ice arrived within moments of a request. Breakfast arrived within the time promised -- and the latte and capuccino were both first-rate.

There is a restaurant on site called Nahm. It's Thai, but we did not try it as we had made all our dining plans ahead of time. Too bad. Turns out this is supposedly the only Michelin-starred Thai restaurant in all of Europe!

The room we were upgraded to was not huge, but certainly large enough by European standards. I would estimate that it was perhaps 20 feet by 10, while the bathroom was perhaps an additional 15 feet by 8? Separate shower and large tub are standard. Fine materials throughout -- marble bath, high-end wood everywhere, very high ceilings and many windows throughout all contributing to sense of light and space.

A nice touch was the wi-fi. No charge. At a nice hotel. In London. How unusual, and what a pleasure not to feel gouged. However, while it's very fast, you won't be able to download Itunes purchases -- congestion concerns? It's a small gripe and was of little moment to us.

The posted rack rate for a Superior Room on The Halkin's website was GBP 480 per nite. We were upgraded to a Deluxe Room with a posted rate of GBP 550 per nite.Not cheap and hardly my definition of "value". Yet I gave The Halkin 5 stars in this category. Why? Quite simply because we booked an air/hotel package through Expedia and paid nothing like the posted rates. Frankly, I would not pay those rates for ANY hotel. But the deal we got online made staying at The Halkin a reasonable proposition for us.

Quite simply, The Halkin and its staff provided us with the best hotel stay we've ever had anywhere in Europe. So much so, I was tempted to NOT post a review for purely selfish reasons. If you do get to stay at The Halkin, I shall be very jealous.

I look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#9 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO The Halkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO The Halkin

Property: COMO The Halkin
Address: 5 Halkin Street, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#23 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
#172 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO The Halkin 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO The Halkin is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO The Halkin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing