We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice bed and breakfast in Central London”
Review of COMO The Halkin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
COMO The Halkin
Ranked #9 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A nice bed and breakfast in Central London”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It is an excellent central London hotel, a la carte breakfast was great, friendly staff, my room was pretty large, but it is just a bed and breakfast, no 5star hotel facilities, no lobby, etc. sometimes it is hard to get a taxi and is not close to tube station. If you are on holiday and targeting West End, the traffic can be a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Alchemist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Alchemist
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Just as an update Hyde Park Corner Tube is less than 2 minutes from us and Victoria Tube and rail less than 5 minutes walk or alternatively we will are always able to get a taxi within 2 minutes for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Halkin and once again thank you for your positive review.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    57
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
256
36
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Halkin settled in Knightbridge brings you calm in the busy London. You can be lost in the small streets of Belgravia. Old carriage houses mixed with luxury condos.
Rooms with all new devices and rain showers. If walking distance between Hyde Park and quiet neighborhood are your must, you should stay in this charming hotel.
Nearby do not forget to try Zafferano Restaurant by lunch. Lovely terrace.

Room Tip: belgravia suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear selomo

Thank you for your reviewing The Halkin by COMO. Really pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and the central location for the shops, park and restaurants.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Best Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I was loathe to write this because we loved this hotel so much that I'd prefer it remain our secret! On a quiet street in Belgravia, it is two blocks from the Hyde Park tube stop and very conveniently located--yet the room was quiet and tranquil. The food, from both room service and in the fascinating Ametsu restaurant, was superb. But what really sets the Halkin apart is its service. Everyone on the staff is enormously helpful and kind. We made restaurant reservations in advance through concierge Paolo (a good idea--going out to eat in London is a competitive sport), and he kindly checked on our transport to the airport, offered walking advice, and along with his excellent peers, provided a level of service and warmth that one rarely encounters. Let's keep this exquisite boutique hotel our little secret. It is not cheap but in terms of value, it is well worth it. Mary from New Haven, CT, USA

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are particularly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Mary M,

Thank you so much for your lovley note. I was delighted to read about your experience and that the entire team, and Paolo in particular, made such a meaningful difference to your stay. I am also pleased that you had the chance to experience Ametsa and look very much forward to welcoming you back to your new London home.

Warm regards,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,045 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,099 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Boutique hotel located in a quiet street in Belgravia. Peaceful rooms - the superior ones are spacious and really nice. Former home to Michelin-starred Thai restaurant Nahm. The new Basque restaurant wasn't yet opened during my last visit. Service is courteous but pretty basic for this class of hotel. The gym is less than basic, so you'll gain weight while staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Lam
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do look forward to your return and to try the new restaurant. Our Gym is also fully equipped with Life Fitness equipment and weights.
Best Regards
Simon Wakefield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Unfortunately, the hotel's service is not very sophisticated: there is no one to pick the luggage, the reception is only ok as is concierge. It is not bad, but just appears uncoordinated, somewhat unwelcoming or disengaged.
Location is wonderful and our room was very nice, which balanced it out well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear liapa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for having missed the opportunity to make this a special stay. I appreciate your comments and will personally address the areas of concern you have kindly brought to my attention.

Please feel free to contact me directly when planning your next visit to London. I would be delighted to assist in making the necessary arrangements and would welcome the opportunity to let you experience the Halkin in the way we strive for every day.

Sincerely,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A one night's stay (like I had last week) is definitely not enough at The Halkin. It is a spectacular hotel, with an accomodating staff and fantastic rooms. I wish every hotel could be like The Halkin! The room rates are high, but if you book far enough in advance and are willing to pre-pay for your stay, you can generally get a somewhat discounted rate. But, even at full rates, the hotel is really spectacular, with a very good location, wonderful ambience and attention to detail/luxury that truly makes you feel pampered. I highly recommend it and am already saving up for my next stay there!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAPHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear JAPHouston,

It has been an absolute pleausure to have you as our guest. I am delighted to hear that your first stay with us has been such a memorable one and we look forward to many more in the future.

With best wishes,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macroom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I have been staying at the Halkin for years and thoroughly enjoy staying there. They make sure that everything works very effectively for me. I am almost nervous about sharing my thoughts as I would hate the Halkin to be full of new guests the next time I book.

This hotel is my home from home in London.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have used are excellent, quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Cynthia B,

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your experience. We truly appreciate your loyalty to The Halkin by COMO and look forward to many more years together! And rest assured there will always be a room for you at your London home!

Until next time,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,732 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,067 in London
373 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,067 in London
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO The Halkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO The Halkin

Property: COMO The Halkin
Address: 5 Halkin Street, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#23 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
#172 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO The Halkin 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO The Halkin is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your COMO The Halkin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing