We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of COMO The Halkin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
COMO The Halkin
Ranked #6 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. I stayed here for recently for one night. The staff are extremely attentive to your needs and they were happy to take care of taxi bookings for me.

My suite was very spacious and is a lot larger than some other hotels in the area for the price you pay. Amenities were great, room service around lunch was not very hot but tasted great.

The only slight blip happened when reception got mixed up with a taxi booking and my taxi was not actually booked for the time I required. However, one of the staff hailed a taxi and brought it round to the front of the hotel to minimise my time wasted, which was fantastic.

Overall a great experience at The Halkin and will be staying there in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Nathan
Thank you for taking the time to review The Halkin. Great to see you enjoyed your stay and the staff were excellent.
Do come back soon.
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    54
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
247
36
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed here several times before and it is our preferred hotel in London. Coming back is almost like coming home. The staff is very helpful and friendly, and the hotel nice and quiet even if you are in the heart of London. The only issue on this stay was a bed that was a bit too firm for our liking and it took a couple of attempts before we got a good top mattress. After then we did however sleep very well and very much enjoyed our stay this time as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pål L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Pål L,

Many thanks for your review of The Halkin by COMO. It is lovely to see that the team makes you feel so welcome when staying with us and I am glad that we found a comfortable set up for the bed which allowed a memorable night rest.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I was taken to the Halkin for afternoon tea and Champagne as a Birthday treat by girlfriends and had a wonderful afternoon. We were brought a glass of Louis Roederer as we settled in and then some excellent fresh sandwiches: big prawns with watercress, cucumber and chives with cream cheese, smoked salmon with salmon caviar and spicy pepper (my favourite) and turmeric chicken: when we finished we were actually offered more, but decided to save ourselves for the cakes. Glad we did as I have never had such a cake festival in my life! Two ladies sat over from us looked with interest when our sandwiches arrived, but openly goggled at us when our huge tower of cake was brought to the table! Four individual cakes each (coffee opera cake, a raspberry French macaron, lemon meringue tart and pistachio brownie) on the cake stand PLUS fabulously short scones with clotted cream and jam AND a shot-glass strawberry, mango, mascarpone creation. Wow. We didn't know where to begin. To our credit, we ate the lot, but let's just say I wasn't needing any dinner that night, or anything until after lunch the following day. High quality food. Great service. We weren't hurried at all (staying for a while after we'd finished - couldn't move) and a gracious farewell. Definitely on my 'to do again asap' list.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Jo64adventures,

Thank you very much for your excellent review of our unique afternoon tea. It was such a pleasure to read about your experience and I am delighted that you and your girlfriends had such a memorable time with us.

I would very much welcome the opportunity to welcome you back to The Halkin by COMO and look forward to meeting you in person.

Best,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Looking to make a good trip excellent, then a stay at The Halkin is a must! The hotel was immaculate and the service provided to customers is second to none. We stayed in the deluxe room and it was better than we could have imagined. The bed is extremely comfy and along with the black out curtains you are guaranteed a peaceful and full nights sleep. The staff are extremely helpful and go above and beyond for each customer. Our shower was leaking (not that we knew anything of it) And after a day in London on our return to the hotel we were made aware of the problem in our room, The manager spoke to us personally and offered us an upgrade to a suite for our troubles (be crazy to say no). He they showed us to our new room and helped us move all our belongings across always being very apologetic. After we returned from dinner that night looking forward to another peaceful night we were most surprised but grateful to return to our lovely suite to find a hand written note from the manager saying how sorry he was for the inconvenience earlier that day, accompanying this note was bottle of champagne on ice. This another example of the class and excellence of the service by the staff. The only slight blip with our stay at The Halkin by COMO was when checking out we were charged for a bill that was not ours. This was quickly and politely dealt with by the young girl behind the desk and again after many apologies we agreed the mix up must have been because of the room swap. I fully recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing and overall outstanding stay in London. (it is also very handy to a tube station and easy to get around).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callum s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear callum s,

Many thanks for your great review of The Halkin by COMO following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read about your overall experience and that you had such a memorable stay. I would also like to apologise again for the inconvenience caused due to the minor leak in your original room. However, it is great to see that the Duty Manager was able to assist so promptly and that you had so many nice encounters with the rest of the team as well.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when planning your next visit to London. It will be my pleasure to assist in making the necessary arrangements.

Best,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

el personal es sin duda de 5 estrellas, el servicio impecable, llegue con un catarro enorme, la recepcionista debio notarlo, y justo había llegado a mi habitación cuando llamaron a la puerta con una botella de agua caliente, una manzanilla con limón miel y limón y un trocito de tarta deliciosa!! me dijeron que el portero podia ir a una farmacia si necesitaba algo, increíble, me sentí muy bien cuidada, el pan recién hecho por la mañana, la cena todo excelente, he estado en varios hoteles en londres, este es mi favorito!! la ubicación para andar en el centro de londres es perfecta.
I loved the way they treated me here, I arrived with a very bad cold, the receptionist noticed and when i had been only for 5 min in my room a waiter came with a hot camomile with lemon and honey, a hot water bottle and a piece of delicious cake, also they offered to go to the chemist for me...I felt so well look after that is my favourite hotel in london,I have been in quite few five star hotels this one is the most charming. very confortable. such a good location to walk in central london.

Room Tip: Mi habitación estaba en la segunda planta muy cómoda y dormí muy bien. dos noches. My room was in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familiapughcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear familiapughcor,

Many thanks for your lovely review of The Halkin by COMO. I am so pleased that not only the location worked so well for you but also that the hotel facilities such as our beds made your stay so comfortable. I hope you have fully recovered now and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Best,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is an excellent establishment in a fantastic location, walking distance to Knights bridge.

The Hotel just projects efficiency and cleanliness coupled with phenomenal attention to detail and courtesy from staff.

Food is excellent, beautifully served and great value for money.

A must stay when in London if you wish to feel special.

Room Tip: If traveling alone the executive room is spacious and complete with working desk and king size beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Christopher M,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at The Halkin by COMO with us and other travellers from around the globe. I am very pleased that so many aspects of your stay stood out for you and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Friends recommended this hotel and I was not disappointed. If you're looking for an intimate, friendly hotel that is understated, yet extremely sophisticated then you will not be disappointed if you stay at the Halkin. From taking care of deliveries for me, to organising dinner in their fabulous restaurant to sending post for me the Halkin team could not be faulted.

Not everything did run smoothly, but when minor issues occurred they were rectified quickly and effectively with minimal fuss. I always think the mark of a hotel is how any errors are dealt with, after all none of us are perfect.

I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Waggler,

Thank you so much for your review of The Halkin by COMO. I am very pleased that our facilities and in particular the Concierge service made your stay so memorable. Also, I am pleased to hear that my team was able to promptly assist with the few minor issues you have unfortunately encountered.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best in the meantime,

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO The Halkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO The Halkin

Property: COMO The Halkin
Address: 5 Halkin Street, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in London
#6 Luxury Hotel in London
#23 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
#172 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO The Halkin 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO The Halkin is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your COMO The Halkin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing