We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very large, comfortable, quiet room in a classy hotel in a very convenient location”
Review of COMO The Halkin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
COMO The Halkin
Ranked #5 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We received an upgraded room that was very large with a comfortable seating area. After 17 hours in the air, we were delighted to be offered a glass of wine upon arrival and were pleased to sit on the couch and relax. Extra amenities like the heated towel rack and the separate dressing area were very welcome. The tube is quite convenient (although there was a tube strike during part of our stay), and it was a relatively short walk to Buckingham Palace and Victoria Station. The staff were friendly and helpful. And there was an internet station available on our floor that was nice to be able to use.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonoluluTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for COMO The Halkin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2010

Me and my husband stay for 5 nights. Everythink was excellent. The hotel is very quiet and charming. The room, service and staff hotel were far beyond expectations. The dinner at Nahm was perfect.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea201030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Stayed overnight to celebrate my patner's 40th. At recenption they tried to sell me an upgrade for £90 (from a junior to a Belgrave suite) and when i declined just gave me the upgrade anyway. Trying to sell it to me first felt vaguely dishonest.

The room was a major disappointment. Poor quality fabrics,including bed linen, real lack of atmosphere or feeling of quality. Poor TV. And all for £530 for one night, B&B, and that was s discounted rate!

The food at dinner was good, not great. Service was not good. The waiter brought the wrong dish,. It was then replaced when we had already finished our dinner, and they suggested boxing it up for us to take away! The restaurant manager then did remove the dish from the bill.

Breakfast the following morning was good.

Overall, I really felt cheated. This was meant to be a real luxury treat, and it wasn't.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patrickch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We had read reviews stating that the rooms next to the lifts could be a litlle noisy, so unbeknown to me my wife had phoned asking if it was possible to be be located away from the lifts as I was celebrating a birthday on the weekend that we were due to stay at the Halkin; and as such we didn't want to be troubled by any noise. She was assured that noise wouldn't be a problem, but due to the tariff that we had paid for the room, we woud in all likelihood be in one of the rooms adjacent to the lifts.As it turned out even though we were in a room next to the lift, there was absolutely no problem with noise coming either from that or from other guests waiting to use it. However, a nice touch was provided by the staff in that they presented us with a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate my birthday, which provided a lovely start to the weekend.
During our stay the concierge was extremely efficient in organising a meal at short notice at the restaurant of our choice on the first evening, and we had a meal in the hotel's own restaurant the followingevening, which, we both agreed was the nicest curry that we'd ever tasted.
This is without a doubt the most pleasant hotel stay I've ever experienced, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a touch of luxury in a quiet locale, which is still very close to many of London's attractions

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reluctantlyolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

If you don't mind spending a few extra pounds, the Halkin is well worth it. This is our third visit over the last couple of years. We arrived during the one day transit and against the advice of the spectacular concierge, Stefano, who's been there for years, tried to find our own transportation to the hotel. Big mistake, no cabs or cars. We called Stefano from Paddington Station and within 15 minutes, we were at the hotel. We were warmly welcomed back. The location is within walking distance to Hyde Park, Harrods, Buckingham Palace, Sloane St, Piccadilly, and Kings Row. The rooms are amazingly quiet, the water pressure incredible and the beds quite comfortable and this is from someone with back problems. Kim Koskinen, the front of house duty manager, offered restaurant and bar options and made sure this birthday celebration was memorable. One thing to note, some areas could use an update, i.e., the mural in the lobby atrium.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

A great hotel in a great quiet location.
The staff is very good, a little nervous but very good.
The restaurant should not be missed if you like Thai.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This trip was a surprise birthday present from my boyfriend. We arrived at the hotel (such a quiet street for such a central area of London) where the gentleman on reception told me that i had been upgraded to a suite and that complimentary champagne and strawberries was on its way. At this point i think i nearly fell over! The suite was incredible; crisp, spacious and the most comfortable bed. Orded room service in the evening - Chicken Caeser Salad is a MUST! The hotel is situated in a perfect location; we could walk absolutely everywhere that we needed to... even to Big Ben and Back! We also had a drink in the bar in the evening which was very relaxing after a busy day of shopping and walking.
Overall; a birthday i'll never forget. A-MAZ-ING

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totolambert1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,072 in London
2,819 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#8 of 1,072 in London
1,337 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,072 in London
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO The Halkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO The Halkin

Address: 5 Halkin Street, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#23 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
#172 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £318 - £580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO The Halkin 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO The Halkin is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your COMO The Halkin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing