We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”
Review of COMO The Halkin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
COMO The Halkin
Ranked #5 of 1,069 Hotels in London
chicago, illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I was surprised to see this hotel had such a high approval rating from Tripadvisor (95% I think), after scrolling through the official and visitors' pictures, decided to stay there. I typically stay in 5 star hotels and have found London hotels to have small and poky rooms but this hotel changed all my expectations. My room was large, the bathroom huge, the toiletries excellent, everything was modern and updated. Renovation was taking place on two of the five floors but apart from some hammering noises in the middle of one day I didn't notice anything.

This is a small boutique hotel, very quiet and private, on an equally private and quiet street in Belgrave Square. I didn't see more than five guests at any one time, no children. 5 minutes walk to a Pret a Manger for sandwiches, Waitrose for other necessities (mini-bar is very expensive) and the Hyde Park tube. 10 minutes to Sloane Street and major shopping.

When I arrived my room was still being prepared so they offered me complimentary drinks from the bar. The staff was courteous and knew me by name after a couple of days. Had a club sandwich late on night but did not eat at the Thai restaurant which seemed rather empty. Yes, the hotel was expensive, but you could pay much more in London and have a bad experience/room anyway.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cforlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    57
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
262
37
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We got a really welcoming reception. The service was outstanding. I requested an electrical extension lead and it appeared within five minutes. The hotel is just completing various upgrades; but there was no disturbance to our stay.

This was a special break for us and the hotel exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonUKjohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, UT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

It was only a brief one night stay but the few staff members we met were genuinely lovely and my mum and I loved the decor.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We stayed 4 nights at the Halkin then returned for a night at the end of our trip as we loved it so much! We arrived around 9.30am after a 24 hour flight fully expecting to be told we could not check in until 2pm, however we were pleasantly surprised when told our room would be ready within 20 minutes. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The room was quite spacious and very clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel provided a perfect end to busy days we spent sight seeing. The showers had fantastic water pressure, best I have ever encountered in a hotel. The area around the hotel felt safe to walk around at night and everywhere seemed easy to access. We walked to Buckingham Palace, the theatre in Victoria and caught numerous trains and buses from Hyde Park Corner just a couple of minutes up the road. All in all we would highly recommend The Halkin and would certainly stay there again if we return to London.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parralel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Frankly speaking, we had already booked rooms in London at a five star hotel chain we've frequented as guests in other cities. At the suggestion of my brother-in-law, we switched reservations to The Halkin. This hotel turned out to be a little gem situated in Belgrave square, a quiet and pleasant area within walking distance to London's renown shopping districts and popular restaurants.

During our two separate stays at The Halkin, we found the staff to be professional, pleasant and attentive. They made us feel like welcomed guests throughout our visit.

Although The Halkin may appear to be a small boutique hotel with its intimate entry and lobby area, the rooms and bathrooms were fairly large and tastefully designed. They were nicely appointed, well maintained and very clean.

If you are interested in finding a pleasant hotel experience in London, I would definitely encourage you to consider the Halkin.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights with my husband in November 2010.
Great location for shopping and sight-seeing.
All the staff were very professional and friendly.
Room was a good size, clean and comfortable, I liked the touch screen control for the lighting/air conditioning.
Breakfast was excellent, service was flawless.
I would definitely recommend this luxury hotel and I would choose this hotel again when I next visit London.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2010

The Halkin was SUPERB. Everything from the quiet elegance, to the peace and quiet within, this hotel is amazing. The staff were impeccable. Restaurant was phenomenal. I honestly can't say a single negative thing about our 4 night stay here.....it was just perfect. The comfort
of the room was outstanding, decor was gorgeous, the console beside the bed that operates all the lights in the entire suite was perfectly situated and very useful.
Can't imagine staying anywhere else ever again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gyoungdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonWakefield, General Manager at COMO The Halkin, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your review of The Halkin , Happy New Year and we look forward to seeing you this year
Best Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,786 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#8 of 1,069 in London
399 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,069 in London
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO The Halkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO The Halkin

Property: COMO The Halkin
Address: 5 Halkin Street, London SW1X 7DJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#23 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
#172 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO The Halkin 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO The Halkin is a haven of luxury in the heart of London’s Belgravia with the shopping of Mayfair and Knightsbridge both within a 10-minute walk. With a discreet, efficient approach to service, everything about The Halkin is about elegant understatement and its intimate feel. With just 41 rooms and suites, The Halkin is a true boutique hotel. Bespoke Italian design is combined with subtle nuances of Oriental influence with wools, silks and linens in taupes and creams. Rooms are furnished with soft carpets and warm wood panelling, and boast some of the largest bathrooms in London. The hotel restaurant Ametsa with Arzak Instruction,is a unique collaboration between Elena Arzak – voted Veuve Clicquot World’s Best Female Chef in 2012 – along with her father Juan Mari Arzak, and Mikel Sorazu, Igor Zalakain and Xabier Gutierrez.Ametsa’s approach is rooted in the traditions of ‘New Basque Cuisine’, pairing the earthy flavours and techniques of Spain’s Basque region with modern, surprising twists featuring locally-sourced and organic produce from land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your COMO The Halkin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halkin Hotel London
Halkin London
Halkin Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing