We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a revamp!”
Review of Portobello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portobello Hotel
Ranked #447 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I live in London and stayed here with my friend who was over from Australia on a girly night out. This hotel really needs to be updated to London standards. Some may say this is a charming hotel but hotels can be charming, cool and of high quality. It was very expensive. The chap on concierge had poor customer service and overall my experience at this hotel was disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel looked lovely on the site, but the reality was very different. It is not charming, but old and tired and ridiculously over priced for what you get. The rooms are all tiny as on arrival we were so disappointed and asked to be changed (£300 a night and no room to put a suitcase) but found all the rooms were of the same size and comprised of the same tired old furniture and fake dusty antiques. This is a tourist trap to be avoided.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
8  Thank Penny200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Avoid at all costs this hotel which is trying to live on past glories.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank spendingpension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

After staying in Dublin, my beau and I flew to London to spend his Birthday in the Portobello Hotel, in Notting Hill. It is very small, quiet and felt like staying in someone's house rather than an hotel. Our room was bright and cheerful, the bathtub in the middle of the room. Definitely for couples only!!! We ordered breakfast up to our room every morning and the coffee, fruits and croissants were delicious as was the presentation of all silver service pieces. It was fun to walk around the area, go to the Portobello Road antique market, look in to all the lovely shops, and some cozy and delicious restaurants. We could walk to Kensington Palace, and the bus stops to everywhere were a block away, and taxis bountiful. I highly recommend to people who want to avoid the hustle and bustle of being in heart of London, and want to hear birds chirping in the morning and flowers blooming everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WiggyManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I had been invited to a very special friend's birthday party. One of those '0' ones so i knew it would be a late do, so sensible to stay over I thought. Checking around I came across the Portobello, which just happens to be in the next street to where I was going, Have a look on their web-site, I did, it looks great. About 3 weeks before the event I rang to book a room, now I should point out that they aren't cheap £145 (ex VAT) for a single up to £315 (ex VAT) for the best. The cheapest double works out at £234 inc Vat, but the 20% offer mentioned on the website apparently only applies to bookings made on the day, a novel way of pricing thought I! I found another bookings site which actually showed the number of rooms available and tracked that so I did book on the morning of the day I was staying and got the room for £200 inc.

You have to look for it in Stanley Gardens, but the ubiquitous 2 Bay Trees gave it away so I pulled up on the yellow lines outside (it was a Sunday) and went in to check in. The young lady on reception was having a blazing row with some other guests who seemed to be having a row themselves, but that's life, so when she gave me that look which sort of implies that I had no right to be on the same planet as her I put it down to her recent experience. How wrong can you be! The welcome is neither warm or polite, but check in I did and then asked (because it wasn't offered) if someone could help me in with my bags. Someone was (after a very audible tut) summoned. I went up to the room! Small didn't come into it, how 2 people manage I'd love to know, then I looked at the bathroom! Tired would be polite. It had a toilet, facing the shower room with a washbasin in between, not so much a room, more a corridor! Having driven for 2 hours I made use of the facility, but I could not get the flush to work. I knew I had to move my car so I went down to reception and explained about the problem with the flush, only to be told that 'I had to push hard' Not sure she was happy when I said that for £200 per night I didn't push hard on anything, but she said she'd get someone to look at it whilst I sorted my car out. On my return I was assured that someone had been up to the room and was again advised to 'push hard'
On the plus side this Hotel does have complimentary wifi and that was easy enough to get connected too.
Early October this year was unseasonably warm, the hotel doesn't suffer from air conditioning and my little room was getting hotter so I thought I'd have a shower. That was a challenge. Firstly you have to climb into it, secondly to get to the tap you have to close the door, thirdly the cubicle is so small you can't avoid the water, end result you either get very cold water or very hot! Not bad for over £200 eh!
It's impossible to dry yourself off in the bathroom so back into my now even hotter pen where I changed into my party outfit, sweating profusely and I set off for the party. On the way through reception I mentioned the heat and without a smile I was told that they could put an air-conditioner in my room and, fair enough it was there when I got back. These portable units could not be described as quiet and to use it you have to open the window and doing that lets in the loud traffic noise from Kensington Park Road, a bus route and hilly at that point too. So the choice was sleep cool, but be woken by the noise, or sleep warm, I opted for warm, although as they haven't yet found double glazing the noise element is still very much there.
I watched some tv, marveling at the way the wiring to the wall mounted set had been done in black with no effort made to conceal it, sent down for a glass of wine which was served by the same guy as sorted out my luggage so I assume they run the place on 2 people with some chambermaids in the morning.
Continental Breakfast is included in the rate and you can have it served in your room, but as there was nowhere to sit and not being a breakfast fan I skipped it, maneuvering round the shower was challenge enough!
There is a mini-bar, they charge for water which is not stored in the fridge.
Wardrobe space is at a premium, if you are staying more than one night and there are 2 of you, you'll struggle They do use duvets on the beds though which I thoroughly approve of.
Would I go back? No
Would I recommend this hotel, no unless you really do want to be in that particular part of Notting Hill and your stay is short.

Room Tip: The more expensive room might be bigger, I don't know, but the noise problem will be the same as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ac4941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

It's a few minutes walk from nearest tube quite nice entrance. Space is at a premium. Cooked breakfast was actually very good continental nothing special. Room was clean bed comfortable. One nasty is they mix chocs and Florentines and jelly beans in with the complimentary tea and coffee and biscuits etc the charge is £7 for a small bag. Mini bar stuff in every hotel I have ever been to is kept separate. So I thought this was sharp practice and marred an otherwise pleasant stay. Ps portobello is just a street Market, pleasant enough

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marauder65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

After googling hotels with big baths i found this beaut through rooms for romance. I instantly fell in love with it, we needed it for the next day so waited until the morning to book and get 20% off. I spoke to Hannah on the phone, and she couldn't have been nicer, she gave the discount straight away and was helpful about the size and details of the rooms. Hannah gave me the options of two rooms so i booked one and she said i could look at the other one if it was still available when we got there and upgrade if we liked.

When we got to the hotel, i ran inside to find out about parking and got some really helpful info off the other receptionist (also very nice) after parking just up the road (4 hours max and v expensive, we moved the car to the hilton later even more expensive 32 for 24 hours!!! so avoid driving if you can!) we went inside and were greeting by the smiling hannah herself! she instantly remembered me from the phone and explained the colonial room had been booked but gave us the option of two morrocan rooms and asked the porter to show us them.

both rooms were gorgeous but we went for the one with the mirrored ceilings! ;)

There was a bath in the room, a massive bed almost on the floor a huge plasma tv, molton brown smellies, airconditioning. the room was perfect. I was worried it wouldnt live up to the pictures on line but it did, the room was small but any bigger and it would lose the amazing cosy feel.

the walk to the underground was easy and there was some gorgeous delis along the main road. When we came in around 1 we were greeted by the porter straight away and when we ordered drinks via room service they too came almost instantly (probably took a while to get up the millions of stairs or the comedy lift)

There is alot of renovation going on around the area but we slept undisturbed, infact we didn't hear a thing from anywhere. we had breakfast in bed, delicious croissants, toast, rolls with tea coffee, orange juice with a selection of jams and honey.

when checking out (we thought it was 11 it was actually 12) we were greeted by Hannah and the other receptionist, after discussing what we'd had she mentioned a mini bar, i didn't even know we had one! so look out for it, apparently its in the cupboard! oh and in case you get confused like me the toilet is in what looks like a wardrobe!

I really did not want to leave the hotel its just a perfect romantic hideaway, I want to live there. I can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: When booking if you look on rooms for romance it gives a full description of each room, also speak t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristiebang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#408 of 1,077 in London
213 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#651 of 1,077 in London
211 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#336 of 1,077 in London
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#274 of 1,077 in London
1,738 reviews
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#492 of 1,077 in London
458 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#423 of 1,077 in London
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Hotel

Address: 22 Stanley Gardens, London W11 2NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #447 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £164 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portobello Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet street in the centre of West London's Notting Hill, famed for its eclectic spirit and eccentric charm, The Portobello Hotel is two converted neo-classical mansions with 21 bedrooms. One of London's most well-known boutique hotels, it was founded in 1971 and ever since has been THE hotel for those in the know from the world of music, show business and fashion. It has hosted many famous faces over the years. A stone's throw from the world famous Portobello Market, the transit links of Notting Hill Gate and an easy stroll to Kensington Gardens, The Portobello Hotel is ideally situated for those wanting to take in the local culture and many sites of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Portobello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing