We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and excellent staff: a welcome Jan treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
Ranked #55 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay and excellent staff: a welcome Jan treat”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My partner booked the Sanderson for a January surprise treat. We live in London so it’s there is no real reason to visit London hotels (apart from to the great dining experiences and great bars). However we will definitely be visiting the Sanderson again. The concierge (Cam I believe he was called) was simply fantastic; he made us feel really special. It’s great to be treated to good service. We were planning on dining out but initially but he found us a lovely table in the restaurant. The food and the cocktails were great. I’ve been the bar before so knew what to expect- it’s always quite buzzing and the DJ was good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you, Anne, for your great feedback and we delighted that you’ve had the opportunity to enjoy Sanderson both as a visitor to the outlets and also as a guest. Your comments on service and Suka as well as about Cam, one of our amazing Concierge team, are really appreciated and it’s lovely to know that you had a memorable surprise stay. We look forward to continuing to welcome you back for more surprises such as agua, our urban bathhouse and spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    374
    118
    58
    25
See reviews for
163
752
109
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Great stay for a week in mid-January 2012 - staff very attentive and helpful, meeting room well-conditioned and catered for, bedrooms fresh clean and spacious. Nice touch with lit candles in bedroom every evening (very special). Minor criticisms would be the lack of fresh air circulating, bedroom windows did not open, they were very dirty and the view was beyond depressing. Also TV channel choice is appalling. However, given the location, the overall standard of the hotel and the outstanding staff, the windows & TV are only small issues. London has a world of entertainment to choose from. Internet service is excellent, showers and bathroom fabulous. Food great, cocktails could be improved upon (e.g. lychee martini's should actually have martini in them!!).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiamondSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcelaAlmeida, Guest Relations Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, it’s really appreciated and we're delighted that you enjoyed so many elements of the service, food and design. Over the next few months, we have a recabling project for the guestrooms as part of a new entertainment system to include more choice of channels and video on demand. We do have some windows that open and window cleaning is carried out on a regular basis, unfortunately this did not coincide with your stay. We have a great team of mixologists in both our bars who are working on a new and exciting cocktail menu, our apologies for any disappointing drink during your stay and this will be reviewed. We look forward to welcoming you back for another quirky stay and please let us know when you are returning so we can oversee a room with a view for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotel's website gets your expectations quite high but the experience wasn't that special and not worth the price. Trendy furnishing and details here and there. The hotel's bar was one of the Soho's hot spots but there were old rich men hanging around with their escorts, so not very tempting. Location is excellent and lot of great restaurants near by though the concierge managed to mess the reservations several times. Room was spacious with wooden floor and modern furnishing. I'm confident that with this price I'll get better service and atmosphere elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saima11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Saima, we pride ourselves on extending a warm welcome with friendly and attentive service, therefore it is disappointing if we let you down on this stay. Our rates will fluctuate in line with occupancy, however our website always has some great offers and promotions and we hope that the positive elements of location and spacious room will bring you back to stay with us, please let me know at that time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Sorayareid@o2emial.co.uk... I enjoyed this stay, as the service was excellent especially Cam the Concierge, whether its Sanderson or St Martins Lane his attention to detail is spot on and he makes you feel welcomed before you arrive, and continues throughout the stay, he definately goes beyond the 1st class service you would expect from a hotel. I have and will tell my friends and always make them ask for Cam. I hope that he is available for when my partner books the penthouse for my birthday in April as we will expect the same service.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Star in London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Soraya, it’s fantastic to know that Cam, one of our amazing Concierge team, created such a memorable stay at Sanderson on this occasion and we really appreciate you sharing your story with friends. Please let us know when the reservation is confirmed for April, we look forward to celebrating your birthday with another memorable stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed over xmas, the room was superb and the staff were excellent at seeing to our every need. Definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: All great rooms so no need to worry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you, Chris, we’re so pleased you enjoyed a first class and memorable Christmas with us and that you’ll definitely be back – from our side, we definitely look forward to welcoming you back and please let us know when you have booked!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

great location, specta (Berner street), spectacular room and one of the coolest bar in London.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djmkzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
We love your comments, and look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in London. When you’re back with us, as well as enjoying the bar, we hope you have a chance to experience other sleek elements of the hotel such as our restaurant, Suka, and agua, our urban bathhouse and spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I have been traveling to London with my business for over a year now and each month I am down I stay here. It's perfect. The staff are great, the purple lounge is Devine and the interior is minimalist/modern. I was even given a complimentary upgrade. You can't beat it central location and as it always seems to be "the name on everyone lips, it's got to be.. Sandersons" I have two more evenings here before I go and I will enjoy them.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidinkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
We're delighted that you enjoy a perfect experience every time, and Sanderson definitely loves to be the name on everyone's lips! Thank you so much for such lovely words and we look forward to continuing to welcome you whenever you are in London. Please let us know when you are next with us, that would be perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#70 of 1,067 in London
1,129 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#32 of 1,067 in London
675 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#21 of 1,067 in London
1,449 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#24 of 1,067 in London
199 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,067 in London
3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Property: Sanderson London Hotel
Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in London
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
#61 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing