We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creative decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanderson London Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
Ranked #52 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Creative decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Once you pass through the front door of the Sanderson you suspect your stay will be unique. Many hotels are just creative in the lobby but this hotel is unique everywhere. I think our brain function improved by considering curtains for walls instead of plaster. Angled furniture and 3 d art in the elevators. Beautiful outdoor deck attached to our ro by floor to ceiling windows - wish the weather had lent itself to using the deck. Fantastic and very popular bar attracts the young business crowd. Try it for the light and fun environment.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FineThingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are delighted that you loved Sanderson’s authentic iconic design and enjoyed a unique experience with us. We pride ourselves on offering our guests something very special at Sanderson so to hear such positive feedback is much appreciated. We hope the next time you stay the weather will be more favourable so you can make the most of our outside space, although should it be chilly outside you can always treat yourself to some pampering in agua spa or some of our delicious cocktails in the bar until the weather improves! When you are planning your next visit please email linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com as she would be delighted to personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    361
    117
    57
    25
See reviews for
153
732
107
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I returned to the Sanderson again this weekend having stayed here on a few occasions in the past and again I can not fault my stay!!

We chose the romance package which consists of a room upgrade, bottle of champagne, breakfast and a late checkout of 4pm! We stayed in one of the renovated room which was lovely very spacious and nice touches like rose petals on the bed. I have stayed in many hotels in London but I love the Sanderson as it's quirky and modern! With it being only. Few minutes from Oxford street it's location is perfect!

Service from staff from dining to bar to front house, spa and valet is impeccable! They are all very polite and very accommodating

We also returned to the agua spa which is a must if you have time during the visit I recommend a back massage and eve lom experience!

The bar is great atmosphere in the evening and if staying at the hotel be sure to take advantage of the purple bar as well which is very quirky seating.

Thankyou to all the staff at the Sanderson for another great stay I will for sure be returning again very soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Karla, it was a pleasure to be able to look after you both and we are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your romantic weekend with us. We always like to hear when our guests have loved so many aspects of their experience at Sanderson so thank you for your great review. Thank you also for your comments about our new rooms, the design retains Sanderson’s unconventional spirit of fun but with a modern approach to luxury and comfort so we are glad that you liked our new look. We look forward to when you return to us for your next weekend of romance and pampering, please get in touch with linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com when you have a date in mind as she would be delighted to make sure your next visit is even more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at many 4 & 5* London hotels from The Savoy and Mandarin Oriental to The Haymarket and Soho Hotel this is the one hotel I had visited for drinks on numerous occasions but never as a resident.

I had been on at my partner for a while saying we needed to have a weekend here and he decided to treat me to just that for my birthday.

To cut a long story short, I wish we had booked into any of the above or the Mayfair. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left the staff were rude, obnoxious, pretentious and thought they were a lot better than they actually were. We had an issue that we had recently changed our accounts from one bank to another and our new cards hadn't been activated so we left a cash deposit at reception because we don't use or own credit cards as don't feel the need to. However you would have thought we second class citizens for doing this. Check in ended up taking almost 20 minutes as a result and checking out was not much quicker as the money we had left in an envelope was no longer there and we had to wait for the staff to go and get it and have it signed off! Nothing like efficiency. It's not as though they never knew what date we were checking out so one would assume they would have had this ready.

The only saving grace on a staffing level was the waiter in Suka was brilliant. Kind, courteous, helpful and with a great sense of humour! There was also one lovely bar hostess in the Purple Bar however the other one was horrendous. When we ordered our cocktails she came straight over to ask for the cash before we could be served as there was no card attached to our room. Therefore making us feel quite inadequate and rather red faced in front of others in an intimate area where everyone can overhear. Again made to feel we were second rate for not having a credit card and for paying in good old fashioned sterling pounds!!! It wouldn't have been so bad if she had spoken to us in a polite and respectful manner but her tone and behaviour were nothing short of appalling. When we left after one drink the other hostess asked why we were leaving so soon and I actually explained this to her and thanked her for her hospitality.
She did apologise for her colleagues attitude but it was too little too late. Off to Zuma for us.

Aside from the staff the room itself was looking a tad tired and although the bed was extremely comfortable I feel this hotel is very over rated and over priced.

I've only given the 2 stars for the comfy bed, the lovely waiter in Suka, the great meal we had there also and the Long bar.

This hotel has had it's day and I would not recommend it to anyone. If the hotel management read this I would encourage them to send their staff to the same training school that The Savoy use as I could not find one fault with anything on my previous stays there. And the staff are beyond exceptional.

We were made to feel uncomfortable our entire stay here to the point that even after an amazing proposal from my now fiancée on that weekend the only thing that ruined it for us was our stay at this hotel. We ended up booking into The Haymarket (Firmdale group) for the following night, which as per usual was amazing with first class service all round.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review Helen, we really do appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative, as it helps us to continuously evaluate and monitor the experience received by our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies that your first visit to Sanderson as a resident guest was not as pleasurable as you had expected. To have let you down is incredibly disappointing, especially as you had chosen to come to Sanderson to celebrate your birthday. We aim to serve all our guests in a friendly and attentive manner, it is certainly never our intention to make our guests feel unwelcome. If you were made to feel uncomfortable during your stay we are so sorry and assure you that we will ask the team to be more gracious in future. We would like the opportunity to restore your faith in us and hope you reconsider and come back to Sanderson on a future occasion. Our guestrooms are currently being refreshed, the new design is luxurious and modern, retaining Sanderson’s iconic style but offering more colour and comfort along with the latest technology. Our Guest Experience Manager would personally like to oversee your visit so she can make sure your next stay exceeds your expectations so please get in touch with her at linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com if you would like to make a reservation. We hope to welcome you back to Sanderson in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here with my friend for a girly London shopping trip, fantastic location just off Oxford street.when we arrived the reception was extremely friendly, couldn't do enough for us, introduced to the concierge, shown around the hotel and escorted to our room and shown how to work everything.Great greeting and made to feel very welcome.
The hotel is very modern and contemporary , fab furniture, very white rooms and lovely comfy bed.Had drinks and ate at the long bar, great atmosphere and as the evening went on it got even more interesting, people watching , no need to leave the hotel as such a great place and then just upstairs to bed !
we will be back soon and take in the lovely afternoon tea which was going on in the lovely courtyard.
Book this hotel for a lovely stay, great location and fantastic staff and even better if they have an offer on !

Room Tip: we where on floor 4 looking onto Berners street, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martineIow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We are so glad you and your friend enjoyed a warm welcome at Sanderson and hope that you had a great time browsing the amazing shops just around the corner. We are delighted that you loved so much about Sanderson and intend to return for our Mad Hatters Afternoon Tea. If you contact greg.iglicki@mhgc.com when you would like to make a reservation he will make sure your experience is extra special. Thank you Martine for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I went to this hotel to spend the weekend with my husband. The rooms were new, a bit noisy, but I will definitely come back because of the great experience we had at bar. It was always alive, full of interesting people. It felt good to come from a long day of shopping to this nice bar. Our bartender ( I guess his name was Eddy, he has a beard) was the highlight of our evenings. I never had so many great drinks in my life. He made one with strawberry and chocolate aroma that was just amazing! I can't wait to come back! The food at the restaurant was also very good. The breakfast was lovely and the staff was very friendly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbuleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thanks for your review of your recent visit to Sanderson. We hope you liked our new rooms as we have aimed to maintain the sleek stylish essence of Sanderson but introduce more colour and comfort to the rooms, along with the latest technology so I do hope you enjoyed our new look. It is great to read that you loved the friendly and fun atmosphere in our bars and we are delighted Eddy provided you with great service and delicious drinks which helped to make your evening so memorable. Please do come back to see us again soon, if you get in touch with linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com she would be love to personally oversee your next stay at Sanderson. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you are looking for truly outstanding service, great food and an overall excellent experience, look no further. The Sanderson London has it all, from tailored, personal service to fantastic food and an extremely service minded staff.
The rooms are quiet and stylish, the restaurants have great food and equally great service, and everyone you meet, from the porter to the concierge, waiters and managers, are doing everything they can to make your experience a wonderful and unique one.
Combining such excellent service with a more casual, laid back atmosphere makes it the perfect weekend getaway hotel, and our new preferred home in London!

Room Tip: The most quiet rooms are on high floor towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Gunnar, thank you for your amazing review. Sharing your experience by telling the Tripadvisor community that Sanderson is the only place to stay in London is a huge compliment for us. We are so pleased that our team helped to create such a fantastic experience for you as we are devoted to ensuring our guests receive a truly unique and magical stay when they are with us. We are delighted to be your new London home and cannot wait to welcome you back when you next visit the capital. Please contact linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com when you have a booking in place as she will make sure your next stay is even more pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel with funky bedrooms and a stunning lobby and bar area. The courtyard is gorgeous but we were disappointed our friends had to go back through the hotel and stand on the street to smoke especially considering we were the only tables outside in the courtyard all evening.
Drink are pricey but service, flair and style make it worth it.
Will definitely be back as this hotel is a great base for London exploration !

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your review of Sanderson, we are so pleased you loved the unique style and ambience of the hotel. We are lucky to be so centrally located as many of London’s attractions are right on our doorstep, not to mention the great shops just around the corner. Please come back to stay with us again soon, if you contact linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com she will be delighted to make sure your next visit is even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#78 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#32 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Property: Sanderson London Hotel
Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in London
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#51 Luxury Hotel in London
#61 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing