We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you soo much !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
Ranked #54 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Uberlingen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Thank you soo much !”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Best hotel stay ever, they saved my life! Thank you Kris! You know how to handle problems ! Will do it again not cause I loved it but because I feel to be in debt toward you guys ! Next time all drinks all on me :*

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your visit to Sanderson. Kris is calm in a crisis and serves all our guests with integrity and sophistication so we are glad that he was able to help you in your hour of need. We hope that you will return so we can look after you again, if you contact linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com when you are planning your next visit she will personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    380
    120
    58
    25
See reviews for
166
757
109
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

this hotel is the dogs do dars!!i have been lucky enough to spend various weekends at this truly stunning hotel,and have actually been spoilt and stayed here twice over the past 3 weeks :)
the staff in this hotel could not be more helpful and they go out of their way to make your stay special.we arrived home yesterday evening and i would say i had one of the best weekends ever.it was a double celebration,my partners birthday and our engagement!!
the sanderson truly excelled themselves.on arrival we were greeted by J J on reception,lovely guy.also concierge recognised us and came over to say welcome back.we were upgraded to a loft suite,the rooms in this hotel are stunningly furnished.we went out and on our return a bottle of wine and a welcome note left from linzi,how lovely.and the sanderson reccomended a fab restaurant to me a few weeks ago,aqua neuvo(northern spanish food).had a lovely meal with friends and on our return someone had been to our room and lit all the candles on the terrace.truly magical.its all these touches that make this hotel one of a kind.every single member of staff so lovely.i truly felt like a princess this weekend.thank u,we cannot wait to return.x

Room Tip: if you can afford to,i would highly reccomend the loft terraces.stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 191michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Congratulations on your engagement Michelle and also a belated happy birthday to your partner! We are delighted that you decided to celebrate such happy occasions at Sanderson and are thrilled to read that you had one of your best ever weekends whilst you were with us. To read that you had a truly magical experience at Sanderson is exactly what we desire to hear as we really love to go the extra mile to make sure our guests can escape into dreamlike fantasy world when they enter our hotel. We cannot wait to see you again so please get in touch with Linxi (linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com) when you have a date in mind as she will do everything she can to wow you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Unusual decor, chic unusual style rooms, not totally practical but fabulously comfortable bed. Love the funky lifts but don't like the dim dark corridors. We travelled as a large party and experienced the amazing mad hatters tea, very inventive and tasty. The purple room is very purple but cosy nonetheless. Breakfast was well cooked and there was plenty of choice. Service was a little hit and miss but the staff who looked after us were polite. Would definitely visit again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Sanderson and we are glad to read that you would like to return to us on another occasion. Please get in touch with our Guest Experience Manager Linxi at linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com and she will make sure that your next visit to Sanderson is even more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Once you pass through the front door of the Sanderson you suspect your stay will be unique. Many hotels are just creative in the lobby but this hotel is unique everywhere. I think our brain function improved by considering curtains for walls instead of plaster. Angled furniture and 3 d art in the elevators. Beautiful outdoor deck attached to our ro by floor to ceiling windows - wish the weather had lent itself to using the deck. Fantastic and very popular bar attracts the young business crowd. Try it for the light and fun environment.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FineThingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are delighted that you loved Sanderson’s authentic iconic design and enjoyed a unique experience with us. We pride ourselves on offering our guests something very special at Sanderson so to hear such positive feedback is much appreciated. We hope the next time you stay the weather will be more favourable so you can make the most of our outside space, although should it be chilly outside you can always treat yourself to some pampering in agua spa or some of our delicious cocktails in the bar until the weather improves! When you are planning your next visit please email linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com as she would be delighted to personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I returned to the Sanderson again this weekend having stayed here on a few occasions in the past and again I can not fault my stay!!

We chose the romance package which consists of a room upgrade, bottle of champagne, breakfast and a late checkout of 4pm! We stayed in one of the renovated room which was lovely very spacious and nice touches like rose petals on the bed. I have stayed in many hotels in London but I love the Sanderson as it's quirky and modern! With it being only. Few minutes from Oxford street it's location is perfect!

Service from staff from dining to bar to front house, spa and valet is impeccable! They are all very polite and very accommodating

We also returned to the agua spa which is a must if you have time during the visit I recommend a back massage and eve lom experience!

The bar is great atmosphere in the evening and if staying at the hotel be sure to take advantage of the purple bar as well which is very quirky seating.

Thankyou to all the staff at the Sanderson for another great stay I will for sure be returning again very soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Karla, it was a pleasure to be able to look after you both and we are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your romantic weekend with us. We always like to hear when our guests have loved so many aspects of their experience at Sanderson so thank you for your great review. Thank you also for your comments about our new rooms, the design retains Sanderson’s unconventional spirit of fun but with a modern approach to luxury and comfort so we are glad that you liked our new look. We look forward to when you return to us for your next weekend of romance and pampering, please get in touch with linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com when you have a date in mind as she would be delighted to make sure your next visit is even more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at many 4 & 5* London hotels from The Savoy and Mandarin Oriental to The Haymarket and Soho Hotel this is the one hotel I had visited for drinks on numerous occasions but never as a resident.

I had been on at my partner for a while saying we needed to have a weekend here and he decided to treat me to just that for my birthday.

To cut a long story short, I wish we had booked into any of the above or the Mayfair. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left the staff were rude, obnoxious, pretentious and thought they were a lot better than they actually were. We had an issue that we had recently changed our accounts from one bank to another and our new cards hadn't been activated so we left a cash deposit at reception because we don't use or own credit cards as don't feel the need to. However you would have thought we second class citizens for doing this. Check in ended up taking almost 20 minutes as a result and checking out was not much quicker as the money we had left in an envelope was no longer there and we had to wait for the staff to go and get it and have it signed off! Nothing like efficiency. It's not as though they never knew what date we were checking out so one would assume they would have had this ready.

The only saving grace on a staffing level was the waiter in Suka was brilliant. Kind, courteous, helpful and with a great sense of humour! There was also one lovely bar hostess in the Purple Bar however the other one was horrendous. When we ordered our cocktails she came straight over to ask for the cash before we could be served as there was no card attached to our room. Therefore making us feel quite inadequate and rather red faced in front of others in an intimate area where everyone can overhear. Again made to feel we were second rate for not having a credit card and for paying in good old fashioned sterling pounds!!! It wouldn't have been so bad if she had spoken to us in a polite and respectful manner but her tone and behaviour were nothing short of appalling. When we left after one drink the other hostess asked why we were leaving so soon and I actually explained this to her and thanked her for her hospitality.
She did apologise for her colleagues attitude but it was too little too late. Off to Zuma for us.

Aside from the staff the room itself was looking a tad tired and although the bed was extremely comfortable I feel this hotel is very over rated and over priced.

I've only given the 2 stars for the comfy bed, the lovely waiter in Suka, the great meal we had there also and the Long bar.

This hotel has had it's day and I would not recommend it to anyone. If the hotel management read this I would encourage them to send their staff to the same training school that The Savoy use as I could not find one fault with anything on my previous stays there. And the staff are beyond exceptional.

We were made to feel uncomfortable our entire stay here to the point that even after an amazing proposal from my now fiancée on that weekend the only thing that ruined it for us was our stay at this hotel. We ended up booking into The Haymarket (Firmdale group) for the following night, which as per usual was amazing with first class service all round.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review Helen, we really do appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative, as it helps us to continuously evaluate and monitor the experience received by our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies that your first visit to Sanderson as a resident guest was not as pleasurable as you had expected. To have let you down is incredibly disappointing, especially as you had chosen to come to Sanderson to celebrate your birthday. We aim to serve all our guests in a friendly and attentive manner, it is certainly never our intention to make our guests feel unwelcome. If you were made to feel uncomfortable during your stay we are so sorry and assure you that we will ask the team to be more gracious in future. We would like the opportunity to restore your faith in us and hope you reconsider and come back to Sanderson on a future occasion. Our guestrooms are currently being refreshed, the new design is luxurious and modern, retaining Sanderson’s iconic style but offering more colour and comfort along with the latest technology. Our Guest Experience Manager would personally like to oversee your visit so she can make sure your next stay exceeds your expectations so please get in touch with her at linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com if you would like to make a reservation. We hope to welcome you back to Sanderson in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here with my friend for a girly London shopping trip, fantastic location just off Oxford street.when we arrived the reception was extremely friendly, couldn't do enough for us, introduced to the concierge, shown around the hotel and escorted to our room and shown how to work everything.Great greeting and made to feel very welcome.
The hotel is very modern and contemporary , fab furniture, very white rooms and lovely comfy bed.Had drinks and ate at the long bar, great atmosphere and as the evening went on it got even more interesting, people watching , no need to leave the hotel as such a great place and then just upstairs to bed !
we will be back soon and take in the lovely afternoon tea which was going on in the lovely courtyard.
Book this hotel for a lovely stay, great location and fantastic staff and even better if they have an offer on !

Room Tip: we where on floor 4 looking onto Berners street, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martineIow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
We are so glad you and your friend enjoyed a warm welcome at Sanderson and hope that you had a great time browsing the amazing shops just around the corner. We are delighted that you loved so much about Sanderson and intend to return for our Mad Hatters Afternoon Tea. If you contact greg.iglicki@mhgc.com when you would like to make a reservation he will make sure your experience is extra special. Thank you Martine for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#70 of 1,068 in London
1,158 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,068 in London
1,467 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#34 of 1,068 in London
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#21 of 1,068 in London
273 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,068 in London
2,201 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Property: Sanderson London Hotel
Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in London
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
#61 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing