We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool as Ice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
Ranked #54 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool as Ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stylish with quietly attentive staff, funky minimalist bedroom, huge bed, lively bar scene and a very cool ambience. It's got to be checked out if you are staying in London and want to be within a few minutes of the West End and Soho. The understated breakfast was served in a calm atmosphere, perfectly rounding off our overnight stay. Faultless.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review Willy, you have given a superb description of Sanderson - it is always a pleasure to receive great reviews and recommendations from our guests. Please make sure you visit us again soon as our Guest Experience Manager would love to make sure your next experience with us is even more pleasurable. Her email address is linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com, please get in touch with her when you wish to make another reservation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,199
    364
    118
    58
    25
See reviews for
156
737
108
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for a weekend in London with friends. Our room looked exactly like the one in the picture.....modern, not too spacious but adequate. The bed was a bit low but comfortable nevertheless.
We stayed in the hotel bar which was great, played some pool, the atmosphere was great, busy but not overly crowded, vibrant.
The service was great overall, we had a great time - would highly recommend the Sanderson.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for your review Lilly and for recommending Sanderson on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate all feedback from our guests and are delighted that you enjoyed the vibrant ambience we love to offer here. We are glad that you liked our newly refreshed rooms and hope that you have the opportunity to return to us so you can experience our services again. When you have a date in mind for your visit please get in touch with linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com as she will make sure your next stay is even more fun. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uberlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Best hotel stay ever, they saved my life! Thank you Kris! You know how to handle problems ! Will do it again not cause I loved it but because I feel to be in debt toward you guys ! Next time all drinks all on me :*

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your visit to Sanderson. Kris is calm in a crisis and serves all our guests with integrity and sophistication so we are glad that he was able to help you in your hour of need. We hope that you will return so we can look after you again, if you contact linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com when you are planning your next visit she will personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

this hotel is the dogs do dars!!i have been lucky enough to spend various weekends at this truly stunning hotel,and have actually been spoilt and stayed here twice over the past 3 weeks :)
the staff in this hotel could not be more helpful and they go out of their way to make your stay special.we arrived home yesterday evening and i would say i had one of the best weekends ever.it was a double celebration,my partners birthday and our engagement!!
the sanderson truly excelled themselves.on arrival we were greeted by J J on reception,lovely guy.also concierge recognised us and came over to say welcome back.we were upgraded to a loft suite,the rooms in this hotel are stunningly furnished.we went out and on our return a bottle of wine and a welcome note left from linzi,how lovely.and the sanderson reccomended a fab restaurant to me a few weeks ago,aqua neuvo(northern spanish food).had a lovely meal with friends and on our return someone had been to our room and lit all the candles on the terrace.truly magical.its all these touches that make this hotel one of a kind.every single member of staff so lovely.i truly felt like a princess this weekend.thank u,we cannot wait to return.x

Room Tip: if you can afford to,i would highly reccomend the loft terraces.stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 191michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Congratulations on your engagement Michelle and also a belated happy birthday to your partner! We are delighted that you decided to celebrate such happy occasions at Sanderson and are thrilled to read that you had one of your best ever weekends whilst you were with us. To read that you had a truly magical experience at Sanderson is exactly what we desire to hear as we really love to go the extra mile to make sure our guests can escape into dreamlike fantasy world when they enter our hotel. We cannot wait to see you again so please get in touch with Linxi (linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com) when you have a date in mind as she will do everything she can to wow you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Unusual decor, chic unusual style rooms, not totally practical but fabulously comfortable bed. Love the funky lifts but don't like the dim dark corridors. We travelled as a large party and experienced the amazing mad hatters tea, very inventive and tasty. The purple room is very purple but cosy nonetheless. Breakfast was well cooked and there was plenty of choice. Service was a little hit and miss but the staff who looked after us were polite. Would definitely visit again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Sanderson and we are glad to read that you would like to return to us on another occasion. Please get in touch with our Guest Experience Manager Linxi at linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com and she will make sure that your next visit to Sanderson is even more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Once you pass through the front door of the Sanderson you suspect your stay will be unique. Many hotels are just creative in the lobby but this hotel is unique everywhere. I think our brain function improved by considering curtains for walls instead of plaster. Angled furniture and 3 d art in the elevators. Beautiful outdoor deck attached to our ro by floor to ceiling windows - wish the weather had lent itself to using the deck. Fantastic and very popular bar attracts the young business crowd. Try it for the light and fun environment.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FineThingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are delighted that you loved Sanderson’s authentic iconic design and enjoyed a unique experience with us. We pride ourselves on offering our guests something very special at Sanderson so to hear such positive feedback is much appreciated. We hope the next time you stay the weather will be more favourable so you can make the most of our outside space, although should it be chilly outside you can always treat yourself to some pampering in agua spa or some of our delicious cocktails in the bar until the weather improves! When you are planning your next visit please email linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com as she would be delighted to personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I returned to the Sanderson again this weekend having stayed here on a few occasions in the past and again I can not fault my stay!!

We chose the romance package which consists of a room upgrade, bottle of champagne, breakfast and a late checkout of 4pm! We stayed in one of the renovated room which was lovely very spacious and nice touches like rose petals on the bed. I have stayed in many hotels in London but I love the Sanderson as it's quirky and modern! With it being only. Few minutes from Oxford street it's location is perfect!

Service from staff from dining to bar to front house, spa and valet is impeccable! They are all very polite and very accommodating

We also returned to the agua spa which is a must if you have time during the visit I recommend a back massage and eve lom experience!

The bar is great atmosphere in the evening and if staying at the hotel be sure to take advantage of the purple bar as well which is very quirky seating.

Thankyou to all the staff at the Sanderson for another great stay I will for sure be returning again very soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Karla, it was a pleasure to be able to look after you both and we are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your romantic weekend with us. We always like to hear when our guests have loved so many aspects of their experience at Sanderson so thank you for your great review. Thank you also for your comments about our new rooms, the design retains Sanderson’s unconventional spirit of fun but with a modern approach to luxury and comfort so we are glad that you liked our new look. We look forward to when you return to us for your next weekend of romance and pampering, please get in touch with linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com when you have a date in mind as she would be delighted to make sure your next visit is even more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#76 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#34 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Property: Sanderson London Hotel
Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in London
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#52 Luxury Hotel in London
#61 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing