We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern edgy contemporary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
Ranked #54 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern edgy contemporary”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Pros: Friendly helpful staff
Nice decor very very modern
The purple lounge with in crowd and socialites
Close to a popular nightclub
Breakfast was fantastic! They had varieties and staff were nice
Cons: not child friendly kept bumping ones head in artistic decor and mirrors
Very loud bar you could hear the noise from your rooms
The corridors were dark.....
The view is not too great was facing an office building

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaraandco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Sanderson, we are pleased you enjoyed our central location, friendly staff, unique design and our delicious breakfast! We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again, linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com would be delighted to make sure your next visit exceeds your expectations so please contact her when you would like to make a reservation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    380
    120
    58
    25
See reviews for
166
757
109
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Recently stayed at the Sanderson for a week in London on business. The location is fantastic - right off Oxford St bordering Soho and the West End. It's on a pretty peaceful st even though it's so close to Oxford St. Very close access to the Central Line on the tube.

Everything about the hotel is very modern as you would expect from an Ian Schrager hotel. Definitely trendy, and on Thursday night the bar area was pretty loud and vibrant. The room design is really nice - comfortable bed, small sitting area, nice bathroom.

Breakfast at the hotel was good, I did not have any other meals at the restaurant.

Service was also excellent - the concierge had good restaurant recommendations and was able to call restaurants on my behalf to check for availability.

I don't think this hotel is for everyone - again, it's very trendy. I wouldn't really recommend it as a family destination, but it depends on the age of your children. My one complaint would be that my room was on the second floor facing the courtyard and noise / music from the bar could be heard, but wasn't too bad. It did not prohibit me from sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellanzaneMadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are so happy to have been able to provide you with a comfortable stay whilst you were in London on business and are glad that our central location was so convenient for you. Our Concierge will be happy you enjoyed his recommendations and will make sure to have some more superb restaurants for you to try when you stay next time. When you return we will do our best to room you on a higher floor so please make sure you get in touch with linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com when you are planning your next visit so that she can personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Generally: The staff here were lovely, very kind and amenable; the location is great for downtown London, I ran to Hyde Park within 10 minutes and it's right off Oxford St and yet it's quiet and peaceful; the rooms were ethereal and calming, the breakfast was delicious and the spa is really wonderful. The spa is in the adjoining building in a listed historic building which used to be a curtain showroom. The adaptive reuse of the building is perfect, super cool and very relaxing, plus the staff were great. All in all, this is a cool, chic hotel in great shape with a great vibe.

Important note, which may or may not affect stay: I stayed here with a friend with no knowledge of what it would be like before I arrived. The name gave me the idea of a traditional old school London hotel, but it was nothing like it. The building is a rehabbed 1960s perspex type, which has been renovated into a cool, hip interior. It's very modern, and very 'concept', which I think a lot of older and more traditional people wouldn't love, the hotel seems to be trying a *little* bit too hard to be cool. The public spaces are very dark, the floors are lit only by lights at the base of the doors with the room number. The lifts threw me off since they are decorated with holographic type universe motifs, and are completely dark, which might be disorienting. The rooms and fittings are so modern, that they're a little beyond practical use. The taps are beautiful chrome branches, but they were impossible to close once your hands were wet, which they usually are once you wash them. The lighting was so complicated that we couldn't even find the off switch for one of the lights in the bathroom and just left it on all night, which was a little hard to sleep with (but we could have called and asked, that was our own stubbornness.)

SO, if you're not looking for a traditional hotel, but want something more cutting edge and super cool, then this may be for you. The stay was great, and very different from regular hotels, and the staff were very kind. Also the spa is worth a visit, just for the beautiful atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sanderson Serena, thank you for your great review and for commenting on the lovely staff we have here. We always want our guests to feel relaxed and comfortable whilst they are with us so we are glad that our team helped to make your stay so special. When you are planning your next visit please make sure you get in touch with linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com as she will make sure your stay is even more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 23 nights on a business trip. This was my first stay in the area, having previously stayed in the city area/canary wharf.

Location
The hotel is located between two Underground stations - Oxford Circus and Tottenham Court Road. The hotel is within 7-10 mins walk to either stations and the cool summer weather makes for an enjoyable stroll in the morning. The hotel is conveniently located near nice restaurants such as Roka along Charlotte Street and within walking distance to Chinatown (down Berners Street straight towards Soho and onwards - 15 mins). Getting nice and reasonably-priced food is not a problem while the shopping streets (Oxford/Regent/Bond) are all short walks away. I was working in the city and had to commute which was also very convenient given Bank is 4 stops/10mins from Tottenham Court on the Central Line. I can walk to artsy Covent Garden (15mins) or take the tube down to Waterloo via Northern Line very easily.

Room and Facilities
I was surprised by the huge layout of the reception area, in-house dining area and the gym. Hotels in the city tend to be smaller whereas this was a pleasant surprise. I was given a deluxe area which overlooks a small street but could be noisy in the late night/early morning. I have read reviews about the rooms above the dining and courtyard and was initially not pleased with a first floor allocation. But I did not get any noise from the courtyard or bar even though it could be very noisy coming through the hotel doors. I see that there are rooms which either face the courtyard (nice view) or the streets. I could imagine courtyard facing rooms to be disturbed on Fri/weekend nights.

The deluxe room was huge! A friend came by and was also very surprised and interested by the layout. The toiletries were replenished on a timely basis with daily fresh clean towels a standard feature. The bed was very comfortable and the TV came with many channels (including Sky Sports!).

The gym is also very well equipped and I used the gym every 2-3 days. There are treadmills for running, stationary bikes and free weights. The room is spacious and you may find 5-6 people using the equipments every morning yet one does not feel congested. There is a meeting room on the same level (first floor) and a nice-looking spa which I, unfortunately did not get to use. There is also a relaxation area with a pool table just next to the lift lobby which was surprisingly hardly used.

Service
The upgrade to a deluxe room was a good start! Staff there are generally very nice and approachable, keeping the distance while maintaining friendliness if you need any help. The room is kept clean and there is daily replenishment of bottled water. I do find room service to be a little slower than expected given the huge in-house restaurant (about 20-30 mins). Laundry services were exceptional though the shirts were returned late by a day and I had to call for a delivery on another separate occasion. One gripe I have is with the replenishment of the cotton buds and tissue boxes. I had only a pair of cotton buds which was used by day 2 and this was not replenished for the following 3 weeks. However if this is the main problem, I think the hotel has done very well!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your thorough review of Sanderson, we are delighted you were surprised by so much about the hotel. We love to amaze our guests by our original design and layout and hope to astonish them when they walk through the Sanderson doors. It is also great to read you found our rooms spacious and comfortable throughout your long stay as the comfort and relaxation of our guests is our highest priority and we are also glad that you were able to take advantage of the facilities in our gym. The next time you stay you really must visit agua spa as they have some wonderful therapists who provide a wide range of luxurious treatments. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon, please make sure you reach out to linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com before you arrive so that she can make sure we have everything you need for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
godalming
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

A very modern refurbishment. The rooms are very attractive. Very modern very chic. Very attractive bedroom design with glass sections to bathroom, shower and facilities. All can be curtained for privacy. Quality design with quality fittings.
The hotel lobby is attractive as is the bar area.
The Purple bar ...well an acclaimed design but reminded me of 1960's ballrooms....
The restaurant....well it will not be everyones taste.
Customer service excellent. The bedrooms excellent and quality of refurbishment well done.
Its all about individual taste.
The lifts are a "must do"....you think you are in the planitarium....different and a very modern touch.
Overall great hotel....different and msy not be everyones taste but certainly great modern experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Geraldmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
What a pleasure to read your review Gerald. Thank you so much for your feedback on our newly refurbished rooms, we are absolutely delighted you are impressed with the quality and design as we wanted to improve the comfort and functionality and also include the latest technology but without taking away any of the unique design essence that Sanderson is so proud of. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again, when you have a date in mind for your next stay please contact linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com as she would be delighted to personally oversee your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This Hotel is a wonderful place to stay, close to Soho yet very peaceful to retreat to after a wild night out. Our room was so comfortable and spacious with a wonderful spacious bed and generous fluffy feather pillows. The décor was chic and very relaxing and overall the service was excellent. The atmosphere in the bar was bustling and we enjoyed a few drinks in the outdoor space before heading up to our very quiet and well planned room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejd825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are delighted that you had a fabulous experience at Sanderson, we love to read such glowing reviews from our guests. Please make sure you come back to stay with us again so that you can enjoy another pleasurable stay, linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com can make sure your next visit is even more enjoyable so please do contact her when you have a reservation in place. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights Saturday and Sunday, great quirky hotel in a great location. Rooms were great nice and clean and nicely furnished. There was a great atmosphere in the long bar on Saturday afternoon and evening. The disappointing things were the late check in, rooms weren't ready until 4.45, almost two hours late, this resulted in us having to wait at the bar, whilst pleasant also expensive! Also the breakfast was poor and overpriced full English and eggs benedict both arrived cold after about half an hour, we didn't send them back as they had taken so long to arrive. If you stay in this hotel, go out for Breakfast and all will be good. Staff were really friendly.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blueboy2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at Sanderson, it is great to read that you were impressed with our rooms and loved the buzzing ambience in the Long Bar, however we are sorry that there were a couple of issues which meant your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. We would like to make sure the next time you visit us we really exceed your expectations so please contact linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com when you have a date in mind to return so that she can personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#70 of 1,069 in London
1,158 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,069 in London
1,467 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#33 of 1,069 in London
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#21 of 1,069 in London
269 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,069 in London
2,199 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Property: Sanderson London Hotel
Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in London
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
#61 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing