We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully modern and yet still practical!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
Ranked #59 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is one of the most fabulous hotels I have ever stayed in. The warm welcome at reception, the fabulous cocktails whilst we waited for our room (there are worse ways wait!) to the beautiful loft terrace bedroom, which is stunning....oh and how could I forget the extremely exciting lift...I could have spent hours in there!
The decor is stylishly modern and yet the rooms remain practical and liveable, for example the bedroom is open plan however there are practical curtains to shelter your modesty...even with your nearest and dearest you still need you time.
The thing that really makes this 5 star is the little details, the indulgent linen, the fabulous maintenance of the rooms by housekeeping, the powerful hairdryer, the electricity plug next to the large mirrors, etc, so many hotels forget that although beauty is appreciated people actually need to live in these spaces...this has not been forgotten at Sanderson.
This is a stunning hotel and I look forward to the next opportunity to come to stay again...seriously any excuse and we shall return.

Room Tip: Splurge on a loft terrace, seriously worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you Laura for your truly glowing review of your stay at Sanderson, it is wonderful to receive such great comments. We aim to create the most memorable experiences by pampering our guests with luxurious products, deliciously stylish but comfortable rooms and the highest levels of service so we are delighted that you loved everything about your stay at Sanderson. We would really love to see you again so please make sure you come back soon, linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com will personally make sure your next experience is even more enjoyable so do let her know when you are intending to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,871)
There are newer reviews for Sanderson London Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the Sanderson in July, super cool edgy design, fantastic location just behind Oxford Street, the Staff at the Sanderson couldn't have been more helpful.
A really great Hotel, and a really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end of the corridors are the quietest..
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ABHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We are delighted you had a really enjoyable stay at Sanderson. Please make sure you come back to stay when you are next in London, if you get in touch with linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com when you wish to make a reservation she will personally oversee your visit to make sure we have everything you need for your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Who could forget the undeniable glory of the Sanderson Hotel in London when it launched. It was the hippest place to be in a city that’s not short of hip spots. It was the top in unscale modernity with the famous faces walking in and out and the best fashion events and after-events happening on its premises. The decor what out of this world, capturing modern design with some appropriately placed kitsch pieces symbolized quintessentially with the large red lips sofa places directly by the front entrance ready to greet you upon arrival.

However, this glory is long gone. On a recent trip to london we opted to stop for a short time at the hotel to give it the review we thought it deserves, upon arrival the door staff we extremely friendly, but for there on it was downhill. The reception took us longer than expect and when we informed them we are here to review the hotel, they didn’t even bat an eyelid. We booked online and just by judging from our names they labelled our country on the check-in application as “UAE” without even asking. I guess all Arabs look the same to them. As person who has stayed in the hotel a couple of years ago, I know how it has changed.

There’s nothing to say here other than the place has gotten worse with age. The rooms amenities show singes of ageing and some didn’t work, the floor carpet (which was horrendous to begin with, more suitable for Vegas hotel) is tattered. The first room we got wreaked of cigarette smoke, when we asked for a room change we were given a smaller room and told that the smell was that of a chemical cleaner (even worse). The curtains has matured to say the least and the internet connection was much slower than another hotel we were at in the same area.

It’s sad to see such a hotel deteriorate in quality. it was such an iconic hotel in London, however now it has dilapitation with the same attire it came in. No investment in new creative ideas or atmospheric changes. At least the elevator is still fun, but that’s about it. The prices are still sky high, too. The drinks aren’t even as well mixed as before, from what we remember.

Original review on FLIGHT965.com, the #1 travel blog in the Middle East.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Flight965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Sanderson as we appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative. We are obviously disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations and please accept our sincere apologies for any offense caused during your check in, we have spoken to our Front Desk Agents to make sure they do not make the same mistake again. We have recently completed the refreshment of all our guestrooms and are very proud of our new rooms, the new layout is more functional and we have the latest technology along with a warmer design but have made sure we kept the unique Sanderson essence. Early next year we will be concentrating on updating and renovating our public areas and have some very exciting changes planned so we do hope you are able to return to Sanderson to see our new product as we are sure you will be impressed. I would like to personally make sure that your next stay at Sanderson exceeds your expectations so when you would like to make a reservation please get in touch with me directly at neil.mcmillan@mhgc.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Pros: Friendly helpful staff
Nice decor very very modern
The purple lounge with in crowd and socialites
Close to a popular nightclub
Breakfast was fantastic! They had varieties and staff were nice
Cons: not child friendly kept bumping ones head in artistic decor and mirrors
Very loud bar you could hear the noise from your rooms
The corridors were dark.....
The view is not too great was facing an office building

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaraandco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay at Sanderson, we are pleased you enjoyed our central location, friendly staff, unique design and our delicious breakfast! We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again, linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com would be delighted to make sure your next visit exceeds your expectations so please contact her when you would like to make a reservation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Recently stayed at the Sanderson for a week in London on business. The location is fantastic - right off Oxford St bordering Soho and the West End. It's on a pretty peaceful st even though it's so close to Oxford St. Very close access to the Central Line on the tube.

Everything about the hotel is very modern as you would expect from an Ian Schrager hotel. Definitely trendy, and on Thursday night the bar area was pretty loud and vibrant. The room design is really nice - comfortable bed, small sitting area, nice bathroom.

Breakfast at the hotel was good, I did not have any other meals at the restaurant.

Service was also excellent - the concierge had good restaurant recommendations and was able to call restaurants on my behalf to check for availability.

I don't think this hotel is for everyone - again, it's very trendy. I wouldn't really recommend it as a family destination, but it depends on the age of your children. My one complaint would be that my room was on the second floor facing the courtyard and noise / music from the bar could be heard, but wasn't too bad. It did not prohibit me from sleeping.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MellanzaneMadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

We are so happy to have been able to provide you with a comfortable stay whilst you were in London on business and are glad that our central location was so convenient for you. Our Concierge will be happy you enjoyed his recommendations and will make sure to have some more superb restaurants for you to try when you stay next time. When you return we will do our best to room you on a higher floor so please make sure you get in touch with linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com when you are planning your next visit so that she can personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Generally: The staff here were lovely, very kind and amenable; the location is great for downtown London, I ran to Hyde Park within 10 minutes and it's right off Oxford St and yet it's quiet and peaceful; the rooms were ethereal and calming, the breakfast was delicious and the spa is really wonderful. The spa is in the adjoining building in a listed historic building which used to be a curtain showroom. The adaptive reuse of the building is perfect, super cool and very relaxing, plus the staff were great. All in all, this is a cool, chic hotel in great shape with a great vibe.

Important note, which may or may not affect stay: I stayed here with a friend with no knowledge of what it would be like before I arrived. The name gave me the idea of a traditional old school London hotel, but it was nothing like it. The building is a rehabbed 1960s perspex type, which has been renovated into a cool, hip interior. It's very modern, and very 'concept', which I think a lot of older and more traditional people wouldn't love, the hotel seems to be trying a *little* bit too hard to be cool. The public spaces are very dark, the floors are lit only by lights at the base of the doors with the room number. The lifts threw me off since they are decorated with holographic type universe motifs, and are completely dark, which might be disorienting. The rooms and fittings are so modern, that they're a little beyond practical use. The taps are beautiful chrome branches, but they were impossible to close once your hands were wet, which they usually are once you wash them. The lighting was so complicated that we couldn't even find the off switch for one of the lights in the bathroom and just left it on all night, which was a little hard to sleep with (but we could have called and asked, that was our own stubbornness.)

SO, if you're not looking for a traditional hotel, but want something more cutting edge and super cool, then this may be for you. The stay was great, and very different from regular hotels, and the staff were very kind. Also the spa is worth a visit, just for the beautiful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sanderson Serena, thank you for your great review and for commenting on the lovely staff we have here. We always want our guests to feel relaxed and comfortable whilst they are with us so we are glad that our team helped to make your stay so special. When you are planning your next visit please make sure you get in touch with linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com as she will make sure your stay is even more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanderson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 23 nights on a business trip. This was my first stay in the area, having previously stayed in the city area/canary wharf.

Location
The hotel is located between two Underground stations - Oxford Circus and Tottenham Court Road. The hotel is within 7-10 mins walk to either stations and the cool summer weather makes for an enjoyable stroll in the morning. The hotel is conveniently located near nice restaurants such as Roka along Charlotte Street and within walking distance to Chinatown (down Berners Street straight towards Soho and onwards - 15 mins). Getting nice and reasonably-priced food is not a problem while the shopping streets (Oxford/Regent/Bond) are all short walks away. I was working in the city and had to commute which was also very convenient given Bank is 4 stops/10mins from Tottenham Court on the Central Line. I can walk to artsy Covent Garden (15mins) or take the tube down to Waterloo via Northern Line very easily.

Room and Facilities
I was surprised by the huge layout of the reception area, in-house dining area and the gym. Hotels in the city tend to be smaller whereas this was a pleasant surprise. I was given a deluxe area which overlooks a small street but could be noisy in the late night/early morning. I have read reviews about the rooms above the dining and courtyard and was initially not pleased with a first floor allocation. But I did not get any noise from the courtyard or bar even though it could be very noisy coming through the hotel doors. I see that there are rooms which either face the courtyard (nice view) or the streets. I could imagine courtyard facing rooms to be disturbed on Fri/weekend nights.

The deluxe room was huge! A friend came by and was also very surprised and interested by the layout. The toiletries were replenished on a timely basis with daily fresh clean towels a standard feature. The bed was very comfortable and the TV came with many channels (including Sky Sports!).

The gym is also very well equipped and I used the gym every 2-3 days. There are treadmills for running, stationary bikes and free weights. The room is spacious and you may find 5-6 people using the equipments every morning yet one does not feel congested. There is a meeting room on the same level (first floor) and a nice-looking spa which I, unfortunately did not get to use. There is also a relaxation area with a pool table just next to the lift lobby which was surprisingly hardly used.

Service
The upgrade to a deluxe room was a good start! Staff there are generally very nice and approachable, keeping the distance while maintaining friendliness if you need any help. The room is kept clean and there is daily replenishment of bottled water. I do find room service to be a little slower than expected given the huge in-house restaurant (about 20-30 mins). Laundry services were exceptional though the shirts were returned late by a day and I had to call for a delivery on another separate occasion. One gripe I have is with the replenishment of the cotton buds and tissue boxes. I had only a pair of cotton buds which was used by day 2 and this was not replenished for the following 3 weeks. However if this is the main problem, I think the hotel has done very well!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank epong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Director of Rooms at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your thorough review of Sanderson, we are delighted you were surprised by so much about the hotel. We love to amaze our guests by our original design and layout and hope to astonish them when they walk through the Sanderson doors. It is also great to read you found our rooms spacious and comfortable throughout your long stay as the comfort and relaxation of our guests is our highest priority and we are also glad that you were able to take advantage of the facilities in our gym. The next time you stay you really must visit agua spa as they have some wonderful therapists who provide a wide range of luxurious treatments. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon, please make sure you reach out to linxi.romanovski@mhgc.com before you arrive so that she can make sure we have everything you need for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#72 of 1,073 in London
1,226 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,073 in London
2,266 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#37 of 1,073 in London
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,073 in London
1,489 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#15 of 1,073 in London
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Spa Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#57 Luxury Hotel in London
#61 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £242 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing