We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To the last detail”
Review of Brown's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Brown's Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“To the last detail”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

When you go to a 5-star hotel that you've heard is fabulous, your expectations tend to be very high. To the point that you may be overly sensitive to the slightest imperfections. At Brown's, it's as though they have thought about every possible thing the traveler might experience, and figured out how to make it effortless and pleasing. It's hard to say even what makes it so special. It's in every little detail. The way you're always greeted, the way you're casually walked through the little elements of your room that other hotels often leave you to figure out on your own (like how the hot water in the shower comes on by pressing the little red button), like supplying an electrical converter on the desk so you can quickly plug in your computer. I absolutely loved my experience there and will be back. Plus, the Churchill martini (and the bartending staff) are absolutely second to none.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Triumph826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    221
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
311
518
72
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

OVERALL
This is we hear the oldest hotel in London. And, as our friends from the UK said, this is a "very posh hotel". And we totally agree. We were treated with great respect and all of our needs were pre-taking care of.

GREAT WITH KIDS
We were particularly impressed with how well they took care of the children guests -- giving them a unique experience with the hotel with:
- cookies made with their name on them
- special treats left for them every day
- gave them books to read and play with
- unique bed trimmings for the kids
- fun bathroom items - shampoos and toothpastes for kids (see pics)

WHAT WAS EXCELLENT
- the beds and bedding were exquisite, like a soft fluffy pillow to lay in
- bathrooms were large and luxurious
- the staff thought of everything, and did not seem to be begging for any tips either
- the size of the rooms are fabulous (we had upgraded to a deluxe -- do that for sure!)
- the food was excellent, including the breakfasts AND special afternoon tea
- the concierge was super helpful and coordinated our every need
- the turn down was also exceptional - putting out slippers and special gifts

WHAT WAS JUST OK
- not much
- it WAS confusing walking between rooms because there are many houses put together into one hotel. So you have to really read the numbers to get around (i got lost a few times)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room and enjoy the extra space you do get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sashu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
793 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in December 2011. The concierge is great, and the setting is excellent, this part of Mayfair is the place to stay. The lounge is the place to meet people, great vibe. Concierge is excellent. Room had a view on a quite boring courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Brown’s is an individual top-end boutique type hotel located on a peaceful street but just 3 or 4 minutes walk away from the hustle and bustle of Oxford Street. The staff are incredibly polite and attentive. The reception is small but with attentive staff who once the formalities of registration are taken care of show you to your room. I've rarely stayed at a hotel where registration and check-out was so pleasant, quick and easy - and individual.

We stayed in a classic room (bottom end room) which was very comfortable and tastefully decorated and with some nice touches including some interesting art, books and more unusual magazines including Wallpaper (on interior design) and School House (a scary magazine for pushy parents looking at private schools in the UK). The bed was very comfortable and considering we were in central London the room was very peaceful. The sound insulation is infact excellent - we really didn't hear a thing from anyone else during our two night stay.

[The only odd thing considering the quality of everything and the thought that has clearly been put into the Brown’s experience was the clutter around the small television and the picture behind the TV itself – I’d clear the clutter away and get rid of the unnecessary picture but I’m being picky here].

The bathroom was the best I’ve had in a UK hotel – roomy, tasteful and clean – with a good-sized bath and powerful over bath shower. The toiletries, my wife told me, where very good quality – Ren – and with turndown in the evening came small sample sizes of more Ren goodies (face cream, etc.).

Breakfast is a combination of silver service ala carte and buffet style – not the best or best value breakfast I’ve had but I think Brown’s is more about the experience than value … (of course this is all a matter of definition) and we enjoyed the experience very much.

[A general gripe I have about some, but certainly not all, top end hotels is when internet access is charged as an extra (£15 per day here). Internet access is now a normal expectation – like having a TV in your room – and should be included.]

This is a special occasion rather than a business hotel and we enjoyed our stay immensely (and despite my comment about internet access above I didn’t want nor need it on this visit!).

I'd warmly recommend this hotel - excellent staff, location and nice touches.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank espressoHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights. Everything about the hotel was first class, modern but with plenty of character and very well located for shops and theatres. We had a standard room but it was very comfortable. The staff were attentive and friendly. We had lunch twice in Hix and it was excellent. Our only slight problem was that the only place in the afternoon to get a cup of tea, (rather than the formal afternoon tea) seemed to be the bar, which is fine in the evening but has no windows and is rather dark in the afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

A fantastic hotel where nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. An atmospheric, historic hotel with a lively bar.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelog505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I visited Browns on Friday for Afternoon Tea as a treat for my birthday, and what a treat it was! I have to say the service, attention to detail and food was beyond what I expected.
The property itself is a beautiful building and in a great location, the street is quiet but only a short walk from the hussle and bussle of Piccadilly, Mayfair or Oxford Street. The warm greeting and atomosphere is followed up with exceptional service. Our waitress was personal and attentive without being intrusive. The beauty and elegance of the room is filled with delightful music from the pianist and sets perfectly the scene for a traditional afternoon tea.

We enjoyed a wide variety of fresh sandwiches which were refilled when we had finished them, along with hot scones, desserts and even a slice of cake. I was then made to feel truly special when they found out it was my birthday and brought out a cake with a candle. Harry and the team really made this an unforgettable experience and I would go back again and again. Thankyou!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,067 in London
1,134 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#6 of 1,067 in London
810 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,067 in London
373 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#30 of 1,067 in London
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Property: Brown's Hotel
Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#23 Luxury Hotel in London
#28 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Family Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in London’s most exclusive borough, Brown’s Hotel is a microcosm of chic, modern and arty Mayfair making it the ideal base for luxury travellers. Contemporary design and an eclectic collection of works by leading artists including Tracy Emin, Rankin and Bridget Riley combine to give Brown’s its inimitable style and a charismatic air that brings guests back time and time again. Each of the 115 rooms at Brown’s strike a perfect balance between style and sophistication, with elegant fabrics and furnishings offset by flashes of colour. Whether guests wish to celebrate over a decadent afternoon spent in The English Tea Room, meet for cocktails in the naughty corner of The Donovan Bar surrounded by Terence Donovan’s cheekier shots or relax in the exclusive banquettes of HIX Mayfair, Brown’s Hotel is the definitive destination to sip and savour. Also within the hotel is an intimate spa sanctuary; a place to unwind and re-centre with treatments aimed at nurturing body and mind alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing