We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Concierge !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brown's Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Concierge !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

I've rated Brown's a 5 instead of a 4 strictly because of the employees....My husband has stayed at Brown's several times and raved about about how charming it is. Since we were going to be there 8 nights , they offered us an upgraded room (at a price), which I understand from co-workers this is general op procedure. Hubby said he'd been in much better rooms than the one we were offered. Is being on the street side worth 40pounds a night more? I really don't think so. I considered the room (#320) shabby. The carpet was rolling and stretched in places and furnishings just weren't that nice. The King size bed is actually 2 twins pushed together which would of been ok - if a nice mattress pad had been used to smooth the area where the beds meet. However, the room was clean and housekeeping was great about bringing ice, turn down service etc.

The best part of our stay - the concierge service - need theater tickets? No problem - even scored hard to get tickets for The Book of Morman. Dinner reservations? No problem - they'll suggest and secure. They greeted us by name when we approached the desk, asked how we liked the shows, how the food was etc. The doorman welcomed me back and asked how my when I returned and was quick to offer an umbrella when it was sleeting.

It seems that all the employees of Brown's are friendly, smile and say hi - This is what makes Brown's worth staying at.

If you go, book afternoon tea reservations prior to your arrival. The sandwiches and scones are delicious, the cakes were a little dry but still tasted good.

Room Tip: Don't be tempted to get the "upgrade". The original room you booked will be just as ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor particularly in relation to my team who always strive to go the extra mile. I appreciate your comments on the room that you had taken and wish to assure you that we are some way through a soft furnishing renovation including carpets and which will be accelerated in the next six weeks. I do so hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion when if I can be of any further assistance I ask tha you not hesitate in letting me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    213
    52
    21
    10
See reviews for
287
496
69
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

You certainly will not leave hungry, if you have afternoon tea here. The hotel’s website gives a fairly accurate description of what to expect. We had tea on 19th of March to celebrate a special birthday. The English tea room was busy, but people’s arrival time was scattered. Although when you book ,you are told that you have the table for 90 minutes, no-one asked us to move after that time; the tables around us were also being very leisurely. Service was good, but no mention of the price on the website indicated that 12.5% would be added to the cost of afternoon tea in the form of a service charge. There were only 2 of us in our party and there is not an option to serve yourself! I think that the true cost should be published on the website. I was also surprised and disappointed by the fact that there were only 2 cakes, a chocolate one and a victoria sandwich, to choose from on the trolley. When we left a number of guests were still eating, but all the chocolate cake had gone. I had heard very good reports about afternoon tea at Brown’s, so was a little disappointed in the quantity of the sandwich fillings and the variety of cakes available. Sandwiches, scones ,cakes etc. are all small, but this is not a problem as you will be offered us many sandwiches and scones as you want.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your entry following a visit for Afternoon Tea and also for bringing to our attention that our website has inadvertently dropped the identification of a discretionary 12.5% service charge, now remedied. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your tea with us. You mention your disappointment at only having two cakes upon the trolley. This follows the wider selection of smaller pastries, of which you are able to have as many as you would like, and we always have ample refills of the larger cakes on the trolley as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

I joined Leading Hotels of the World last year and have tried to stay exclusively in them in order to use the member benefits. Brown's was exceptional! Incredibly helpful and attentive staff, exquisite bed, spacious room, wonderful restaurant and bar and the location...wow! You couldn't ask for more. I will most certainly be back! Many thanks.

Room Tip: Joining Leading Hotels of the World as they offer free room upgrades where available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor and for your overall appreciation of Brown's as a member of Leading Hotels of the World and the excellent service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is a lovely hotel. It's quite quiet in comparison to some of the places we have stayed and I do feel that it is geared more towards maybe older couples. However I couldn't fault this hotel for what it was as the service, rooms, food were all excellent. The doorman was wonderful and very helpful.Browns is ideally located for shopping.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Part of the charm of Brown's is that it is a quiet hotel, but located in the bustling heart of Mayfair. I am pleased you enjoyed all we had to offer and I do hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

My friend and I had an amazing experience at Brown's Hotel today. Unbelievably good tastes, lovely atmosphere, piano playing, great service and smiles by everybody, and we feel lucky to have been so well-treated by Abi - it so changes your experience when people love their job! We were surprised and very pleased to get a tea sample of the tea we had there to enjoy at home :) I would definitely recommend it and it certainly deserves the title of being one of the best in London!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystalla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit for Afternoon Tea and particularly good service from Abi. We strive always to exceed our guest expectations in delivering "The Best Afternoon Tea in London" and I am glad you were not disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Another fantastic stay at this wonderful hotel. A trip to London would not be complete without staying at Brown's. The staff are so warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Faultless room with every luxury whilst still retaining a warm and cosy atmosphere. We stayed 2 nights and slept peacefully waking each day to a glorious breakfast. Can't wait to return and well done to all the staff!!

Room Tip: All the ones we have had have been brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countryman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your glowing endorsement of another fantastic stay at Brown's with particular mention of the friendly staff and luxurious yet cosy atmosphere. I am pleased to know you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Went for champagne afternoon tea on Sunday 24th February, attended by a young man called William who had only been with the hotel for three weeks. William is a credit to the hotel, smart, well spoken, polite, attentive and made a pleasant visit exceptional. The rest of the restaurant staff were very efficient and all in all a very enjoyable experience and one we will partake of next time we visit London.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank tripper3965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your glowing comments and for remarking upon the exceptional service, in particular by William our newest addition ot the Tea Room. Your kind comments have been passed on to al concerned and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#3 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,293 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#9 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#34 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Property: Brown's Hotel
Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in London
#22 Luxury Hotel in London
#28 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Family Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in London’s most exclusive borough, Brown’s Hotel is a microcosm of chic, modern and arty Mayfair making it the ideal base for luxury travellers. Contemporary design and an eclectic collection of works by leading artists including Tracy Emin, Rankin and Bridget Riley combine to give Brown’s its inimitable style and a charismatic air that brings guests back time and time again. Each of the 115 rooms at Brown’s strike a perfect balance between style and sophistication, with elegant fabrics and furnishings offset by flashes of colour. Whether guests wish to celebrate over a decadent afternoon spent in The English Tea Room, meet for cocktails in the naughty corner of The Donovan Bar surrounded by Terence Donovan’s cheekier shots or relax in the exclusive banquettes of HIX Mayfair, Brown’s Hotel is the definitive destination to sip and savour. Also within the hotel is an intimate spa sanctuary; a place to unwind and re-centre with treatments aimed at nurturing body and mind alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing