We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Brown's Hotel
Ranked #20 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
london,england
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

For an authentic experience of the highest quality of British hospitality, service, accommodation and fine dining, nothing beats Browns Hotel. In the centre of the world's best shopping area, full of art galleries, and wonderful Bond Street shops, Browns is discreet and elegant. Afternoon tea- unlimited is London's best, while breakfasts are truly scrumptious, the salmon en croute on the trolley at lunch yesterday was sublime. Don't tell anyone,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinthurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your endorsement of Brown's and all we have to offer from our excellent location to our exceptional hospitality, service and dining. We look forward to welcoming you bak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    215
    52
    21
    10
See reviews for
300
507
70
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Once again I choose the Brow's hotel for my Christmas afternoon tea with few friends, and as usual I call it top experience. This time I brough three new friends with me, and all of them they felt in love with the tea room. We loved the Christmas decoration, with the piano player, and of course the food and the service truly amazing. I am very glad when I discover a place which never disappoint me, especially when I bring new guests. Now even my friends say: afternoon tea in London, yes lets book at the Browns!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Afternoon Tea at Brown's is famous for its wonderful ambience and excellent offering of both food and service, and I am pleased to know that you all enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you and more friends back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at the hotel for 2 nights recently. Was traveling with 2 friends, so we had a rollaway and they upgraded to a massive Jr suite for extra space. It was quite the treat. We arrived at the hotel around 10a and they told us our room would be ready in about 30 mins, however we were headed out for the day, so we didn't need early check in, but nice to know if we needed in the room it would be ready shortly. The hotel has so much amazing history and is so unique from building to building. Ask the staff, they are happy to indulge. Asked to see a few of the other room types since I will be returning again soon, and they had a few available to show - love how every room is so different. The views from all are very neat also. All of staff was amazing. We were always offered assistance by concierge/bell man going out/in. Mateo in concierge was awsesome, always greeted us by name. We didn't get to try any of the hotel's resteraunts out, although we did grab a quick cup of tea and some cookies. Which was very yum! We stayed at the hotel during the "hurricane" at the end of October. Our room was sooo sound proofed that we didn't hear any wind or rain. And when we came downstairs the conceirge offered to check our flights on time due to the storm, and also let us know that Gatwick Express was not operating, and said if we ran and grabbed our luggage he would do his best to get us a quick cab to the airport, and by the time we got back downstairs, the cab was waiting outside. Cabs were hard to find since the cities rail was down - but the staff at this hotel does not disappoint! I would stay here again and always recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: talk to the hotel about your prefences, and they can match you up with a good rooms since all are di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midoririta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for yor comprehensive and very complimentary review of Brown's following your recent stay with us. We are unique and original and have a variety of different rooms to suit all guest tastes and requirements. Excellent and friendly service is one of our hallmarks and I am pleased to know that you were so well taken care of by our concierge and other team members. We very much look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I was there last sunday with few friends of mine, their first day of the festive afternoon tea. nothing to compare with the other competitor in all Uk, and London. if you are someone just like me who does not like to hear the word NO, when you spend a certain amount of money, this is the place where you need to go. Unlimited sandwiches, pastries, scones, cakes...but what gives a plus to this place is certenaly the service. truly attentive and friendly, and genuine, even the room was full, I felt like I was the most important customer. I would truly raccommand this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent review and recommendation. Brown's is famous for its afternoon tea, in particular its unlimited replenishments of all that is on offer, delivered with friendly attentive service and I am pleased to know that this was your experience also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

You may feel like you are paying for a Large luxury suite but dont get to excited to find that your room is nothing more than a nice average size bedroom full of old exquisite bedroom furniture, which is right up my alley. SUPER friendly and helpful staff, very nice and comfortable sleeping situation, always an answer to the best resturants and clubs and activities to do in and around London.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel, otherwise up front on main street, noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of Brown's following your recent stay with us and in particular your mention of the super friendly and helpful staff - an area that we pride ourselves upon. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Staying in a very large suite recently showed again the mismatch of design and ergonomics as well as being userfriendly. No sheers to block the view of the adjacent office workers, a desk that is not suitable for business (cluttered with menues, books and pictures), no international sockets...A masterswitch at the door and not next to the bed makes you hunt for light switches, a bath vanity that is full of products and trays but too small for own amenities - not thought through! The little gym is very nice, modern, light and well stocked with drinks and fruit, the Spa next door sadly does not have sauna or steam and seems to be an renovation-after thought. Full restaurants with very task-oriented staff, we did not get a pampered feeling during the meal, just very stern, efficient yet heartless service. The Front of House team is very friendly and welcoming throughout and pleasant to interact with. Would I come back, not sure...

Room Tip: Corner suites are less noisy - as building has a lot of wooden floors you can hear your fellow guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrReeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much for your coments. We value all feedback. In relation to your room, we do have many rooms that have sheers that can be rolled up and down to guests requirements in both bedroom and sitting room and have noted this for any future stays. I am sorry that you did not find the warmth of service that we pride ourselves on during your experiences within the restaurant. Thank you however for your praise of the front office team for being friendly and welcoming. This is very much the sentiment and culture that we promote throughout the hotel. Do let me know if I can be of further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

we went to browns as it was famous for its afternoon tea it was delicous we only stayed one night but all the staff where exceptional very well trained it was a great experience for my wife and i. the hotel is just the right size and in a perfect location also has a very good bar thanks to all the staff well done!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanlivy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your commendation of our famous afternoon tea, good bar and well trained staff following your brief stay with us. We are indeed perfectly located for all that London has to offfer and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#5 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Property: Brown's Hotel
Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in London
#20 Luxury Hotel in London
#28 Family Hotel in London
#28 Romantic Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in London’s most exclusive borough, Brown’s Hotel is a microcosm of chic, modern and arty Mayfair making it the ideal base for luxury travellers. Contemporary design and an eclectic collection of works by leading artists including Tracy Emin, Rankin and Bridget Riley combine to give Brown’s its inimitable style and a charismatic air that brings guests back time and time again. Each of the 115 rooms at Brown’s strike a perfect balance between style and sophistication, with elegant fabrics and furnishings offset by flashes of colour. Whether guests wish to celebrate over a decadent afternoon spent in The English Tea Room, meet for cocktails in the naughty corner of The Donovan Bar surrounded by Terence Donovan’s cheekier shots or relax in the exclusive banquettes of HIX Mayfair, Brown’s Hotel is the definitive destination to sip and savour. Also within the hotel is an intimate spa sanctuary; a place to unwind and re-centre with treatments aimed at nurturing body and mind alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing