We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very British”
Review of Brown's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Brown's Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked the Browne´s for my graduation from Business School in 2012 and stayed there for two nights. You quickly realize that the team is versed in their business. The service is experienced, when I asked for an iPod player, I got it - unfortunately, you have to ask. The building is old and a bit contorted, but in best shape. The interior is well designed, so you can feel comfortable. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of London. I experienced the high-end-restaurant in the ground floor, which offers a very English cuisine. At all, the Browne´s is very British; distinguished, professional, elegant. If you like that - book it; I decided to try other hotels in London, to feel more home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximilian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

As mentioned in other reviews, Brown's is the oldest hotel in London hence its rather unusual configuration. We are indeed very British, and this is reflected in the dishes on the menu in the restaurant as well as the traditional English afternoon tea we offer. I do hope you enjoyed your stay in our elegant surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
There are newer reviews for Brown's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Location is very good. Hotel rooms are very good. Breakfast was also good. The only thing we were disappointed was the staff working in afternoon tea room. There where lots of staf but nothing happend. We had to wait an hour to get our lunch. The bar was exelent. The bartenders were great! Real professonals!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finn_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your generally glowing review of Brown's and all we have to offer. Please accept my apologies for the slow service your experienced; this is not indicative of our usual high standards. I do hope you will return to enjoy the bar and the other elements you commented favourably upon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very good location,good service,breakfast is great .I like generally Rocco Forte Hotels.This one has a boutique hotel character.It is expensive as every good hotel in London.Corridors are narrow and ceilings are very low.This ıs ofcourse due to the character of the old building

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 977Restaurantexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your review and for endorsing Rocco Forte hotels, and in particular the location, service and excellent breakfast offered at Brown's. We are the oldest hotel in London, hence the characteristic structure and layout.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had another lovely night's stay at Browns Hotel this week - as always there was a warm welcome from the doorman through to all the rest of the staff. The big WOW on arrival was the stunning, stunning huge arrangements of beautiful peonies - better than I saw at Chelsea earlier in the week. This stay lived up to our very high expectations from past visits - we enjoyed drinks and delicious eats in the buzzing bar before going out and a wonderful breakfast the following morning with the full works including gluten free toast for me. The beds seem larger and more comfortable every stay guaranteeing the best of night's sleep. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limurubabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

It is so gratifying to receive wonderful reviews from return guests such as yourself. I am pleased to know that we lived up to your high expectations and that you had a truly lovely stay. I agree the peonies were magnificent, thanks to our superb florist. We look forard to welcoming you back for another comfortable stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Having reached a special birthday I decided to celebrate by having a special afternoon with a friend. This was our first visit and first impressions were of a wonderful intimate room for afternoon tea with wonderful attention by all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble as we were plied with a delicious selection of sandwiches , tiny warm scones with clotted cream and home made jam followed by tiny cakes and a piece of Victoria sandwich or cherry and almond tart. We were offered many pots of tea - white nettle and many refills of the different food. It may seem expensive but is value for money when considering the amount of food on offer. Despite the menu stating that our table was available for 90 minutes, we were allowed to stay an hour longer without any pressure to leave. I would love to return and try the 'healthy' afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dizzyblonde8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We are always glad when guests choose to mark special occasions at Brown's and I am pleased to know you enjoyed a wonderful relaxing afternoon celebrating your birthday with us. We are famous for our afternoon tea and for offering an unlimited supply of sandwiches, scones, cakes and pots of tea delivered by attentive staff in comfortable surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit to try our healthy option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for one night this weekend - our first visit to Browns.

Our welcome was great - excellent concierge who introduced himself to us(George) and good check in. We were taken to our room and left to settle into our Executive room. We then realised we were overlooking the inner workings of the hotel which was pretty grim. We asked to move and decided to upgrade to a more expensive Deluxe room (205) for a street outlook. It was great with plenty of light/windows. However we were a little disappointed (hence the 4 star and not 5) as on their web it says we would have a double sink, separate shower and walk in wardrobe. We didn't have any of those and the shower was not great and water was only warm not hot - bathroom needed an upgrade we thought. Bed the most comfortable ever though!

However saying that - we really enjoyed our stay and it was made very special by the lovely staff who were genuinely kind and really cared that we enjoyed our stay. Sunday lunch was excellent and the roast was superb as was the atmosphere in the Donavan Bar. The bar snacks were fab too.

A special mention to whoever does the flowers! My husband had arranged for flowers in the room - beautiful!! Really quite stunning and re packed for us on departure.

Room Tip: Select a location that suits you ie: the inward facing rooms didn't suit us as we prefer to see...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your charming review of Brown's and its lovely staff. We want our guests to be comfortable and are always happy to offer a different style of room to suit. I am pleased to know you were so happy with the flowers. I hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My daughter and I have just had one night at Brown's Hotel and could not fault our stay. From arrival to departure with a wonderful afternoon tea inbetween everything was perfect....truly first class in every way.

The staff were so welcoming, warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

It really was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the road and had absolutely no noise at all
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cotswold017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for writing so enthusiastically of your faultless stay at Brown's. I am so pleased to know that everything was wonderful you, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,072 in London
1,172 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#6 of 1,072 in London
406 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#37 of 1,072 in London
3,607 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,072 in London
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#21 Luxury Hotel in London
#28 Family Hotel in London
#28 Romantic Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £434 - £843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in London’s most exclusive borough, Brown’s Hotel is a microcosm of chic, modern and arty Mayfair making it the ideal base for luxury travellers. Contemporary design and an eclectic collection of works by leading artists including Tracy Emin, Rankin and Bridget Riley combine to give Brown’s its inimitable style and a charismatic air that brings guests back time and time again. Each of the 115 rooms at Brown’s strike a perfect balance between style and sophistication, with elegant fabrics and furnishings offset by flashes of colour. Whether guests wish to celebrate over a decadent afternoon spent in The English Tea Room, meet for cocktails in the naughty corner of The Donovan Bar surrounded by Terence Donovan’s cheekier shots or relax in the exclusive banquettes of HIX Mayfair, Brown’s Hotel is the definitive destination to sip and savour. Also within the hotel is an intimate spa sanctuary; a place to unwind and re-centre with treatments aimed at nurturing body and mind alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing