We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel and nice location”
Review of Brown's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Brown's Hotel
Ranked #22 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel and nice location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our first stay at Brown's and we both enjoyed it. We booked through American Express which got us an upgrade to an Executive room and an £85 food and beverage credit.

The room was well sized, on two levels and as with other older hotels in London it does have character (this is with regard to the floors which aren't all perfect!!)

Huge bathroom with a very powerful shower and deep bath. Good air conditioning in the room which helped as it was a hot weekend when we stayed. One minor point - we think the room would benefit from curtains with blackout backing as opposed to the roman blind which is currently there - this did leak through light into the room.

By using the £85 credit we booked a champagne tea (for 2 of us). It was a nice tea but not as good, in our opinion, as others we've had (like the Savoy etc.). The champagne tea is £51 each which allows 1 glass of champagne (Ruinart). The sandwiches were well filled but we would have liked some slight differences here, maybe some mini-rolls? We had a second glass of champagne each (which is £17 a glass, so not cheap).

The location for us was ideal and the hotel is definitely not as "busy" as other, like Claridges that get a number of people just visiting the foyer etc. The hotel had a different, more relaxed feel but the service was of very high, and friendly, level.

Would we stay again? Possibly, it all depends where we are going in London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your first stay at Brown's and I thank you for your comprehensive review and valued comments. We like to offer a relaxed 'home from home' feeling with excellent and friendly service and clearly this was the case during your stay. I do hope your London travels will bring you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    221
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
313
521
72
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This review compares Brown's to the other "five star" hotels I've stayed at in London, including Claridges and The Savoy. It does not compare. The common areas are quite nice. But the rooms are truly pedestrian. I felt as if I were staying in a U.S. business-hotel chain. At 300 pounds a night, I expected more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFPaCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We value all feedback from our guests and I thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were disappointed in the rooms; this is not the usual response we receive, however I hope you enjoyed your stay in all other respects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is an intimate, historic, beautiful hotel in an absolutely perfect location in London. My husband and I just returned and cannot wait to go back! The staff is welcoming, helpful, knowledgable and efficient. The bar and restaurant scene is fabulous, Donovan Bar is especially fun!

Our room was gorgeous, beautifully designed and well-appointed.

The vibe of this hotel is traditional, elegant and cozy. We would return in a heartbeat and hope to very soon.

Room Tip: If you prefer a wooden floor, put in a request for a Mansard Room on 5th Floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review extolling the virtues of Brown's, its friendly and welcoming staff and all it has to offer in the way of drinking and dining. I am pleased you had such a very enjoyable stay and we shall look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, CT
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When my mother tried to convince me she was born in London centuries ago, rather than chide her, I took her there. Well, she didn't recognize anything there, but we did have an interesting stay at Brown's Hotel. The staff gave us impeccable service (Afternoon Tea is not to be missed). The room was less than modern and did not have air conditioning, but we adjusted quite well. Next time, I would stay in a more 21st Century-type of hotel, but for nostalgia, this place is excellent. Ideal location as well...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammarian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your charming review relatng the background to your interesting stay with us. I would demur on the isuse of air conditioning, as we have cooling in all the rooms in the hotel. Brown's is the oldest hotel in London (19th century) and therefore the configuration is quaint, however as you point out the location is ideal being situated in the heart of Mayfair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is located well, not far from Green Park and The Ritz. Staff were good and attentive. The doorman was particularly excellent. Rooms were well furnished with quality everything. The bed was so comfortable.
The bar prices were very "Mayfair". Very.
Where the hotel let my wife down was the total absence of in-room tea-making facilities, a usual feature of English hotels. She loves an early cup of tea, made to her exact liking. We supposed this was some strange hotel management belief making a perfect cup of tea was beneath their guests. Wrong Mr Manager.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinAlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review mentioning our excellent staff and comfortable accommodation. I am sorry your wife felt let down by the absence of tea-making facilities. There is a card in the room advising guests to contact in-Room Dining in order to obtain their tray of tea and coffee making facilities. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Brown’s Hotel is very very good. It is in a fantastic location in Mayfair, very close to Piccadilly, and surrounded by some excellent restaurants, shops and arcades. The service is excellent. We ate in HIX restaurant one night; the food, wine and service all very good. The room (we had an Executive King) was fairly plain, but quite spacious, comfortable and we enjoyed it. Bathroom was good but not luxurious. It is the oldest hotel in London and the owners have done a very good job in keeping it to a 5 star standard. The turndown service was excellent with little cards to tell us the weather for the next day and little samples of skin products: a nice touch compared to the usual chocolates. The doormen always ready with a warm welcome. We felt quite at home at Browns; nothing was too much trouble, and you are made to feel very welcome. We will return.

Room Tip: Exective King is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunTimes030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your detailed and complimentary review, pointing out all the good things about Brown's that make it so comfortable and the touches that we provide to make it feel like 'home away from home' for our guests. I am pleased your enjoyed yur stay and that you will return, when I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked the Browne´s for my graduation from Business School in 2012 and stayed there for two nights. You quickly realize that the team is versed in their business. The service is experienced, when I asked for an iPod player, I got it - unfortunately, you have to ask. The building is old and a bit contorted, but in best shape. The interior is well designed, so you can feel comfortable. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of London. I experienced the high-end-restaurant in the ground floor, which offers a very English cuisine. At all, the Browne´s is very British; distinguished, professional, elegant. If you like that - book it; I decided to try other hotels in London, to feel more home.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximilian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
As mentioned in other reviews, Brown's is the oldest hotel in London hence its rather unusual configuration. We are indeed very British, and this is reflected in the dishes on the menu in the restaurant as well as the traditional English afternoon tea we offer. I do hope you enjoyed your stay in our elegant surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,150 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 1,068 in London
387 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#6 of 1,068 in London
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,171 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,068 in London
3,497 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Property: Brown's Hotel
Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in London
#22 Luxury Hotel in London
#28 Family Hotel in London
#28 Romantic Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in London’s most exclusive borough, Brown’s Hotel is a microcosm of chic, modern and arty Mayfair making it the ideal base for luxury travellers. Contemporary design and an eclectic collection of works by leading artists including Tracy Emin, Rankin and Bridget Riley combine to give Brown’s its inimitable style and a charismatic air that brings guests back time and time again. Each of the 115 rooms at Brown’s strike a perfect balance between style and sophistication, with elegant fabrics and furnishings offset by flashes of colour. Whether guests wish to celebrate over a decadent afternoon spent in The English Tea Room, meet for cocktails in the naughty corner of The Donovan Bar surrounded by Terence Donovan’s cheekier shots or relax in the exclusive banquettes of HIX Mayfair, Brown’s Hotel is the definitive destination to sip and savour. Also within the hotel is an intimate spa sanctuary; a place to unwind and re-centre with treatments aimed at nurturing body and mind alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing