We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at the this upscale boutique hotel in Mayfair.”
Review of Brown's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Brown's Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff at this hotel is wonderful and attentive. I love the location- quiet street. So easy to walk to many key areas. Donovan Bar is very cool. Artsy photos on the walls. Old world with an edge.
The rooms are the same...love the combination of the modern and old.
Fabulous English breakfast. Great concierge. The hotel cannot do enough for you.
I highly recommend this hotel if you like 5 star unpretentious luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DillPickle2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your excellent review - we seem to have ticked all the boxes! Your comments sum up all this is special about Brown's. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
There are newer reviews for Brown's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Excellent restaurant, tea room and bar.
Disappointing as a hotel:
- Very poor soundproofing: lots of noise from the street at night. The alternative is a courtyard view, but the courtyard looks sinister.
- The blinds in the room were too short (!), allowing way too much daylight in the early morning.
- Tiny spa, without any steam room or sauna.
On the plus side, the hotel staff is charming.
Will not go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yamazato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review of two halves. Perhaps I can start by thanking you for your positive comments in relation to the team, and in relation to Hix Myfair, the Tea Room and Bar.
The hotel was created out of 11 town houses and so no room is the same. It often takes guests a stay or two to choose a room that they find to be their home away from home and thus I hope that you might try us again, making your booking through my office in order that we can exceed your expectations. Our Spa indeed does not have any water treatment areas although we are looking at creating these in the not too distant future. In relation to your room blinds, without knowing the specific room in which you stayed, I wonder if it was, as is our standard at this time of the year, when evening turndown is made we do not lower the blinds 100%, allowing the guests to walk into the room with some light, as the days are so long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have stayed at Brown's several times in the past years. It is my absolute favourite hotel with the perfect location, friendly staff, lovely afternoon tea and a great bar. My last stay this spring was perfect as always. I was with my husband and we stayed in a wonderful room (which is now our new favourite room). It was my birthday while we were there and when we came back to the hotel in the evening a beautiful birthday cake was waiting for us in our room. After a fantastic breakfast in the morning we left Brown's wishing to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mari424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

It is lovely to know we are your favourite hotel and that you last stay was so perfect. We like to spoil our guests and to mark the special occasions of their lives. We very much look forward to taking good care of you again on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at Browns Hotel for 2 nights having stayed at a couple of other Rocco Forte properties expecting the same standard. What a disappointment. Yes Browns has history and a good location but the rooms and many of the public areas were tired and in need of some tlc.
Our room felt like an after thought - the minibar door couldn't open fully due to location against a table, the sofa was off to the side so to watch tv you had to move the tv ( not an a turntable ), you couldn't watch tv in bed unless you sat up as the bed end was to high, the bathroom was tired and when using the toilet you actually felt like it was going to pull off the timber wall. The corridors were in need of a refurb. Generally the room was not up to the RF standard one would expect especially when paying the money asked.
On a positive note - the staff were fantastic - Concierge was brilliant - thanks guys.
Over the last few years we have stayed in Rome, Berlin, Florence and now London - sorry RF Hotels you've lost us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weenjoyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Such feedback is always appreciated and your comments in relation to the style and upkeep of the hotel are not consistent with the positive feedback that we normally receive. We continuously spend substantial amounts of money on an annual basis to ensure the hotel is kept in good condition. As a hotel that has been created out ot 11 townhouses, we are different from other purpose built properties. All of our rooms are different. Perhaps we might have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion and exceeding your expectations, when if I can personally help in making the booking please donot hesitate in letting me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We enjoyed afternoon tea sitting in comfortable arm chairs in a wood-panelled room with a pianist playing discretely in the background. The service was quietly efficient, the food generous and the highlight was the delicious scones, jam and clotted cream. It was expensive, but so very British, and a lovely way to spend the afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank samruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We like our guests to savour the whole afternoon tea experience in comfort and we are well known for our generous helpings of food. Thank you for your particular appreciation of the home made scones. I am pleased you had a lovely afternoon and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My first stay at the hotel (with my daughter) had been a little underwhelming but at the hotel's request I was invited to give them a second chance and I'm so pleased I did. As a returning customer Brown's couldn't have welcomed hubby and I more warmly. We stayed in a junior suite and were delighted with the extra space. The hotel treated us to complimentary fruit, water, tea and coffee making facilities. Shortly after arrival we thoroughly enjoyed our champagne afternoon tea (which was on the house to make up for a previous disappointment). Last time, at the end of Afternoon Tea, I thought it was a nice touch that the hotel presented you with a sample of your tea to take home - this didn't happen this time and I wasn't going to complain about such a small oversight - simply to say if it is something that Brown's no longer do - it is a shame and they should reintroduce it. Breakfasts were equally good.
Throughout this stay all staff were extremely attentive and courteous - we couldn't have asked for more. Thank you to all the staff at Brown's for making our stay so pleasant. We really hope to be visiting you all again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We like our guest to leave the hotel feeling happy, and I am pleased that you decided to give us another chance and that we were able to make your stay so enjoyable this time around. Thank you too for mentioning the attentive and courteous staff. We do still give tea samples and I am sorry we missed you on this day. Please call our English Tea Room Manager and she will be happy to forward some to you. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Afternoon tea at Brown's is excellent - relaxed and friendly but effortlessly efficient service with traditional tea-time treats (proper clotted cream for the scones for example) and a great range of teas. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at Brown's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are famous for our Afternoon Tea at Brown's and as the oldest hotel in London we keep our offering traditional. I am pleased that you enjoyed all that we have to offer and I look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,072 in London
1,172 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,072 in London
3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#6 of 1,072 in London
407 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#37 of 1,072 in London
3,610 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,072 in London
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Hotel

Address: 33 Albemarle Street | Mayfair, London W1S 4BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#21 Luxury Hotel in London
#28 Family Hotel in London
#28 Romantic Hotel in London
#35 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £443 - £848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in London’s most exclusive borough, Brown’s Hotel is a microcosm of chic, modern and arty Mayfair making it the ideal base for luxury travellers. Contemporary design and an eclectic collection of works by leading artists including Tracy Emin, Rankin and Bridget Riley combine to give Brown’s its inimitable style and a charismatic air that brings guests back time and time again. Each of the 115 rooms at Brown’s strike a perfect balance between style and sophistication, with elegant fabrics and furnishings offset by flashes of colour. Whether guests wish to celebrate over a decadent afternoon spent in The English Tea Room, meet for cocktails in the naughty corner of The Donovan Bar surrounded by Terence Donovan’s cheekier shots or relax in the exclusive banquettes of HIX Mayfair, Brown’s Hotel is the definitive destination to sip and savour. Also within the hotel is an intimate spa sanctuary; a place to unwind and re-centre with treatments aimed at nurturing body and mind alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brown's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing