We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First UK trip a success” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Ranked #297 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First UK trip a success”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

I did a lot of research in order to pick a hotel that met my needs for my first trip to London - proximity to museums/cultural sites/the theatres etc, reviews from others, price, size, etc
This hotel became my choice - of which I am very pleased - the room was as large as many I have stayed at here in NA (contrary to the 'too small" mantra I saw over and over in hotel reviews about rooms in London)

The location turned out to be perfect for my needs - I walked everywhere for 2 weeks from this hotel (mind you I like walking!) - it was literally a block from the British Museum and only a few minutes - 5-15 from most theatres and hundreds of restaurants and shops and places like Leicester Square and Covent Market Garden etc - I was actually very surprised at how close even after my research

The staff were all pleasant from start to finish - the room was cleaned and tidy - was surprised at the heated towel racks :)

The shower/tub was nice but different than what is found here in NA but easy enough to get used to - the only off putting thing was the height of tub from floor - I expect that someone less limber might find it a challenge.

I was a bit dismayed at the poor TV channel choices (not hotels issue really but certainly a bit of a change from basic TV offerings here) -really only 4-5 channels - mind you I found some interesting viewing :)

Elevator was quite chatty - was always talking to occupants - mind the door - floor xx and so on..could hear it easily if you stood in elevator lobby :)

hotel bar/restaurant seemed to always be busy and noisy in the evenings - nice enough place - cant speak to food as I never ate there (was out and about trying all sorts of the multitude of restaurants in the area) -Otherwise the place was quiet including in my room

The fitness room was well equipped and well maintained - however (and this is my only complaint of entire hotel experience) the TV’s built into every machine could only be heard if you had a set of earplugs from an Ipod or similar - I didn’t know this first day and had to work out in silence - when I did bring my own I found it clumsy to wear them plugged into the machines - this ,off hand, seems a good idea as you don’t disturb others (on the other hand in 2 weeks I only ever shared the room twice) - eventually my ear plugs died - maybe from excess sweat and I was back to silence - and then the recumbent bike started acting up - after some use it would zoom up to maximum tension and refuse to be lowered - had to stop using it as it happened every time. Unfortunately I did not report it at the time as by the time I cleaned up afterwards in my room and left the hotel I had forgotten in my excitement to get going on my days adventure

It wasn’t a cheap hotel but not the most expensive I have ever used however I knew this when I booked it because everything else met my needs in the planning stage and worked out as hoped in actuality.

I stayed for 14 days during some unexpectedly pleasant October weather - balmy days - felt like May or early June here in Toronto

I highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WGS534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasnain-N-Alloo, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bloomsbury Hotel for 14 nights, and for giving such a detailed review. I see that you were only able to locate the basic TV channels; when you next stay with us please select more options on the TV menu to view additional channels. Your suggestions on the gym have been gracefully received, and we thank you for highly complimenting your stay with us. For your return visit please contact our teams directly who would be delighted to personally assist with your accommodation requirements.
We look forward to welcoming you back to London and the Bloomsbury Street Hotel

Sincerely,

Hasnain N. Alloo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    880
    311
    106
    69
See reviews for
358
1,154
159
715
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

I've stayed at the Radisson twice now within a couple of months. The staff are very friendly and the location is decent. You are not directly near a tube station, but Tottenham and Holborn are within a short walk's distance. There are plenty of convenience stores and food within easy walking distance and the British Museum is only a couple of minutes away by foot.

However, both times I've stayed here I've had trouble with other patrons. The first time the person in the room next to me would start smoking every night about 1am. Because there was a connecting door, my room filled with smoke and woke me up. When I called the front desk, nothing was done about it. I was told the second time that they could not ring the bell of the room due to the late hour. Both times rowdy patrons have also been a problem: yelling in the hallways late at night, loud parties. This trip when I called the front desk, these issues were addressed.

To follow-up on the smoking issue: I completed their customer survey after my trip and received an email from the hotel manager saying he had spoken to the staff involved and hoped I would give the hotel another chance. This is the first time a hotel has responded directly to a survey and I thought this was an excellent example of customer service. I was planning another trip to London, and did reserve at the Radisson. I requested a room without a connecting door and had a better experience, minus the loud patrons a couple of nights on my floor.

The rooms are nice, standard size rooms for Europe, fairly well organized and provisioned. My only major complaint is that all the lighting is overhead and very harsh, making reading laptop screens difficult due to the glare.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TinainWonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasnain-N-Alloo, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on the Bloomsbury Street Hotel, Please accept my apologies for the issues you had encountered during your first visit. I am however very pleased that we were able to turn your negative experiences into a positive returning stay. Sometimes things can and do go wrong, it is the way in which the team and I deal with these non frequent incidents that help us to achieve our goal of 100% guest satisfaction. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Hasnain N. Alloo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

We're just back from a stay for the holidays at the Edwardian on bloomsbury street - from dec. 26 to jan 2nd - The hotel looks great modern and cool - the service and staff was above average- this is a fantastic value - Rajni was especially kind to us- on new year eve we decided to stay in for a little champagne and foie gras in our room they provided us with everything we needed with a smile-
They have a great breakfast with fresh fruit - specialty coffees no charge - don't miss it -
we do travel a lot and are very critical with hotels - this one is a keeper - can't wait ot go back

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dalllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasnain-N-Alloo, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Bloomsbury Street Hotel to be your home during the Festive Season. We are delighted that you had a great stay. Rajni is one of our shining stars; thank you for your kind comments. We very much look forward to welcoming in the New Year with you again for 2012.

Sincerely,

Hasnain N Alloo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

In a fantastic location, this hotel keeps getting better and better.... the rooms are nicely appointed and so comfortable, the staff is amazing..... friendly, helpful....
the lobby/bar is welcoming and alive.... we just love staying here.....nothing to improve upon!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kjam4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasnain-N-Alloo, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a complimentary review, we are very pleased to be your preferred hotel whilst in London. When you do return may I invite you to experience fine dinning at the Bloomsbury Street Restaurant, we have some very tasty and delightful dishes for you to enjoy. The tastes, colours and textures will leave you wanting more every time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Hasnain N Alloo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Excellent stay. Nice, quiet hotel with helpful staff and good service. Very good location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aspegren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasnain-N-Alloo, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Bloomsbury Street Hotel. For your return visit may I invite you spoil yourself with an In-room Spa treatment whilst enjoying a glass of champagne. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your return visit.

Sincerely,

Hasnain N Alloo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

I have stayed here quite a few times when on business in London. the rooms are clean, spacious and modern. The staff a friendly and helpful and it is good value for money, when so many other London hotels aren't!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clockend71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasnain-N-Alloo, General Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Bloomsbury Street Hotel to be your Home-Away-From-Home when working in London. We are pleased to be able to offer spacious & modern rooms. We are also very proud to have a friendly & helpful team who are passionate about exceeding guests expectations. I have every faith that your future stays will continue to be just as rewarding & delightful.

Sincerely,

Hasnain N. Alloo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We have just spent two nights at this Hotel, New Years Eve & Day. We were not expecting too much as it was a last minute booking, and we usually go for a 5 star Hotel.
We checked in early and we were greeted by really friendly staff, Always a good start to any break. After a day of Shopping and what a great position, went to our room, We were not disappointed. Tea & coffee facilities. everything in this Hotel has really been thought through to make one stay Perfect... Dressing Gowns, slipper's and a well supplied Bathroom.. Fautless...
The hotel was dressed Beautifly for Christmas. And after a Wonderfull New Years Eve in town, Great to be able to come back to a relaxing Bar. Breakfast did not disappoint. The only thing that let that down were the quality of the sausages,Which is no big deal considering the choice on offer. There are somethings that happen in life which are a joy from start to finish, And this was one of those times. We will be back

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arundelmews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#379 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Address: 9-13 Bloomsbury St, London WC1B 3QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in London
#160 Romantic Hotel in London
#165 Business Hotel in London
#195 Family Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of London's creative quarter, where Bloomsbury set writers, artists and thinkers once met, the newly transformed Radisson Edwardian Bloomsbury Street Hotel offers an upscale experience at an affordable price, moments from the British Museum and nearby Covent Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Lastminute so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edwardian Bloomsbury Street Hotel London
Radisson Hotel London
Radisson London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing