We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel, with highly attentive staff and fabulous spa treatments”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #41 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel, with highly attentive staff and fabulous spa treatments”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The One Aldwych Hotel is a beautiful Edwardian boutique hotel with a delightful Parisian influence designed by Charles Mewes and Arthur Davis, whom also created the Ritz hotels in London and Paris. The architectural grandeur is a jewel within the area of Aldwych and the Strand. Featuring the coppered cupola dome, female head keystones, cornices, and balconies, the elegance of Paris is clearly evident.

I stayed in the Deluxe Room on the fifth floor, which offered a peaceful environment from the rapid pace of London, with soft muted pastel decor, hypnosis beds, a grohe shower that allowed you to select the exact temperature for your shower (as the temperature is clearly marked in degrees) and a perfectly sized bathtub. The Hypnosis bed allowed for the perfect nights sleep, from which I emerged truly refreshed. I was delighted to discover a glass plate of four Laduree French macaroons in four different exquisite flavours.

My moment of heightened indulgence was the signature Floral Ritual using Natura Bisse products. The level of relaxation reached within the 90 minute treatment was incomparable as the heavenly fragrance of roses surrounded me, allowing every muscle to surrender to the nurturing massage with the nourishing Amaranth Oil, rich in squalen, high in antioxidants and known for its moisturising, soothing and anti-inflammatory effects. On researching the amazing benefits of Amaranth oil, including strengthening the immune system, improvement of the circulatory system, I began to comprehend the amazing results from the treatment. Normally I opt for deep tissue massages, and other very deep and firm massages to release the tension from my back, neck and shoulders (one of the hazards from prolonged periods of writing), yet this very gentle massage with rose bud compresses and warm amaranth oil loosed all the tension from my shoulders in such a short period of time. The rose bud compresses provided more stimulation than the usual herbal compresses one traditionally experiences. The floral ritual signature massage has provided me with a metaphor for life, as I am truly amazed that the most gentle massage with the highly beneficial Amaranth Oil coaxed my shoulders into relaxing away the effects of hours (years) of writing at my computer, almost re-educating my body that nature (and life) may bring to me exactly what I need, yet this may happen in the most gentle manner (rather than pummelling my body to unlock the tension in my muscles).

The dining experience at Indigo Restaurant was a culinary adventure, exploring further vegetarian options. As I was seated on the Mezzine Balcony at The Indigo Restaurant, I was graced with views from One Aldwych Bar through the elaborate arched windows out onto the Aldwych/Strand Junction. I was both delighted and surprised to receive a vegetarian menu, allowing my selection process to be that much easier and swifter. I commenced my dining experience with Celeriac Soup with glazed salsify, and trompette de la mort. The creamy celeriac was greatly enhanced by the wonderful tangy taste of salsify, certainly one of the most wonderful culinary soup creations I have tasted. The tompette de la mort, also known as the horn of plenty, added je ne sais quoi, and a starter I recommend when visiting The Indigo Restaurant. For the main course I selected the Sweet Potato Pancakes with caramelised aubergine puree, vegetable skewers, cherry tomatoes, marinated chillies, khobz, dukkah and hummus. I was informed that the Sweet Potato Pancakes are a favourite choice for many people, and it was clear as to why, as I tasted the perfect contrast of sweet and tangy flavours with a little heat from the chilli peppers. The aubergine puree, khobz, dukkah and hummus provided a journey of taste exploration. For dessert I chose the European Cheese board, homemade chutney and crackers. Generous portions of Comte, Brie de Meaux, Epoisse and Roquefort with oatcake and Lavoche crackers created the perfect ending to a delightful meal.

One Aldwych Hotel uniquely weaves elegance, grace, architectual beauty, culinary genius, exclusive spa treatments, allowing a rebalancing of mind and body, and the full emergence of your Joie de Vivre.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahelianarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,638
    361
    101
    31
    10
See reviews for
438
805
101
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I have stayed at other hotels in London but once I have stayed at One Aldwych I would not stay anywhere else. Great location, could walk to my office on Fetter Lane and close to theatres and Covant Garden. Cant wait to find reason to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenP48095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The facial at the spa was excellent 5*
The food was consistently excellent whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner- I ate in the hotel a lot.
Small touches abound- plate of fresh fruit in the room, toiletries nicely laid out, slippers by the beside, a weather report update on a card every day and bottles of the nicest water.
There was absolutely nothing I disliked about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kristal1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We had a work function in the restaurant here about 10 years ago when the place was shiny and new but now, in the rooms especially, it's beginning to look ever so slightly worn (chipped woodwork, scratched doors, loose taps and so on). The rooms are not huge either - you could swing a cat, but not a tiger.

The public/communal areas are still immaculate, and the style hasn't dated at all: the food in the restaurant still super. We were here over Christmas and it was very warm and festive inside. Despite it being a busy period, service was attentive and even the valet-parking worked (it has to be fast, or you get a ticket if you leave the car outside for more than 2 mins).

It's also a great location near Covent Garden - we went (I admit it) to the Lion King just around the corner, and visited the Build-a-Bear shop - something we'd never done despite 15 years living in London. Lovely for the kids.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacDaddyinSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Have stayed at One Aldwych in the past and found the hotel was expensive but very classy. The attention to detail was immaculate, the staff were friendly and efficient and any shortcomings were outweighed by the pleasure of being there.
Last month, however, the shortcomings carried more weight. Lots of minor details were irritatingly wrong - and, more significantly, were not corrected when pointed out. The rooms we had asked for were meant to be twin-bedded but we were given doubles. The hotel's response to this was to replace a large double duvet with two single duvets, nothing more. Orders were either lost or not responded to with any speed, etc, etc.
There are places in London that give you a lot more space for the same money - and that get orders right and respond to them promptly. Sadly, this last visit was enough to make us look elsewhere for trips to London.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear RS B

I am concerned to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and I firstly wish to apologise sincerely to you.

At One Aldwych we go to considerable lengths to recruit team members who are meticulous and focused on our guests. This type of feedback is extremely rare and taken most seriously. I hope that you don’t mind if I contact you directly for further details, so we can investigate.

I am sorry that you did not have the experience you had hoped for on this occasion and I do hope that we may have the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.

Yours sincerely

Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I think that the One Aldwych hotel in London is fantastic. I really like the design. It looks like a hotel in space with all the good human values.

I do not seam to discover many hotels with such a positive attitude at a management level and the staff picks up this attitude and really strives at their job, so the service is great.

The concierge service is off the charts. I found there all the answers I could ever need. All the best!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The location is wonderful, the service is superb. From the best bathroom, excellent beds, top class leisure facilities and to start the day a magnificent English breakfast. This really was an excellent hotel from which to base our stay in London. Two minutes up to Covent Garden and easy access to the river. It was first class.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the front of the Hotel which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,069 in London
4,661 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#67 of 1,069 in London
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#17 of 1,069 in London
1,002 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,069 in London
794 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,069 in London
4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Property: One Aldwych
Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in London
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing