We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run 5 star hotel in the heart of London”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #39 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I have stayed at One Aldwych several times and it is consistently professional and well run. I would not hesitate to recommend to a 5 star traveller who wants accomodation in the heart of London. Close to Covent Garden tube station, great restuarants and theatres, the location cannot be beat

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IslandHopper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,159)
There are newer reviews for One Aldwych
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,742 - 1,748 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Nice Location- central location, 5 min walk to underground. Stayed in Deluxe Room, very clean. Bathroom was nice- lots of horizontal space for toiletries, and nice shower that does not leak water. We ended up eating in the indigo restaurant, and it was excellent, with good service and competitively priced. Service was very nice as well. We had 3 people in room, so a bit snug, but worth it to be together. We did not have a view, the room was very quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelchat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Location: Close to covent garden theatres, square and opera house with the main covent garden underground station only a short walk away. Close to many bars and restaurants (closest restaurants majorly grills but others close by). Very good for a bit of a tipple at Martini Club, or B@1 for cocktails.

Rooms: Clean, classic layout. Simple but met all my requirements with lovely big beg and linen, a big window looking of to the view of the strand, and a pleasant bathroom. All major amenities given.

Breakfast: Not a buffet but still delicious with a choice of continental, british, vegetarian and various pastry choices.

Service: Quick breakfast service, very speedy check in and friendly professional staff.

Spa and Amenities: I had a lovely massage, i fell asleep! Recommend highly. Small but pleasant sauna, steam room, gym and pool.

Booked the deal via Wahanda for £175 Per person for one night with the spa and massage treatment. Well worth the price tag. A lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayseavci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We spent 6 nights at One Aldwych, along with our teenage son. It was perfect. A beautiful room with a view of the Waterloo bridge; well appointed, lovely amenities, fruit appeared daily… attention to detail made for a special stay. The location could not be more convenient – for restaurants, theatre, shopping, and transportation. Great nightcaps at the lobby lounge. Excellent breakfasts were included. For us, the best was: the people at the hotel - very kind and accommodating… friendly and helpful. Our entire stay was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Checked-it-0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The One Aldwych Hotel is a beautiful Edwardian boutique hotel with a delightful Parisian influence designed by Charles Mewes and Arthur Davis, whom also created the Ritz hotels in London and Paris. The architectural grandeur is a jewel within the area of Aldwych and the Strand. Featuring the coppered cupola dome, female head keystones, cornices, and balconies, the elegance of Paris is clearly evident.

I stayed in the Deluxe Room on the fifth floor, which offered a peaceful environment from the rapid pace of London, with soft muted pastel decor, hypnosis beds, a grohe shower that allowed you to select the exact temperature for your shower (as the temperature is clearly marked in degrees) and a perfectly sized bathtub. The Hypnosis bed allowed for the perfect nights sleep, from which I emerged truly refreshed. I was delighted to discover a glass plate of four Laduree French macaroons in four different exquisite flavours.

My moment of heightened indulgence was the signature Floral Ritual using Natura Bisse products. The level of relaxation reached within the 90 minute treatment was incomparable as the heavenly fragrance of roses surrounded me, allowing every muscle to surrender to the nurturing massage with the nourishing Amaranth Oil, rich in squalen, high in antioxidants and known for its moisturising, soothing and anti-inflammatory effects. On researching the amazing benefits of Amaranth oil, including strengthening the immune system, improvement of the circulatory system, I began to comprehend the amazing results from the treatment. Normally I opt for deep tissue massages, and other very deep and firm massages to release the tension from my back, neck and shoulders (one of the hazards from prolonged periods of writing), yet this very gentle massage with rose bud compresses and warm amaranth oil loosed all the tension from my shoulders in such a short period of time. The rose bud compresses provided more stimulation than the usual herbal compresses one traditionally experiences. The floral ritual signature massage has provided me with a metaphor for life, as I am truly amazed that the most gentle massage with the highly beneficial Amaranth Oil coaxed my shoulders into relaxing away the effects of hours (years) of writing at my computer, almost re-educating my body that nature (and life) may bring to me exactly what I need, yet this may happen in the most gentle manner (rather than pummelling my body to unlock the tension in my muscles).

The dining experience at Indigo Restaurant was a culinary adventure, exploring further vegetarian options. As I was seated on the Mezzine Balcony at The Indigo Restaurant, I was graced with views from One Aldwych Bar through the elaborate arched windows out onto the Aldwych/Strand Junction. I was both delighted and surprised to receive a vegetarian menu, allowing my selection process to be that much easier and swifter. I commenced my dining experience with Celeriac Soup with glazed salsify, and trompette de la mort. The creamy celeriac was greatly enhanced by the wonderful tangy taste of salsify, certainly one of the most wonderful culinary soup creations I have tasted. The tompette de la mort, also known as the horn of plenty, added je ne sais quoi, and a starter I recommend when visiting The Indigo Restaurant. For the main course I selected the Sweet Potato Pancakes with caramelised aubergine puree, vegetable skewers, cherry tomatoes, marinated chillies, khobz, dukkah and hummus. I was informed that the Sweet Potato Pancakes are a favourite choice for many people, and it was clear as to why, as I tasted the perfect contrast of sweet and tangy flavours with a little heat from the chilli peppers. The aubergine puree, khobz, dukkah and hummus provided a journey of taste exploration. For dessert I chose the European Cheese board, homemade chutney and crackers. Generous portions of Comte, Brie de Meaux, Epoisse and Roquefort with oatcake and Lavoche crackers created the perfect ending to a delightful meal.

One Aldwych Hotel uniquely weaves elegance, grace, architectual beauty, culinary genius, exclusive spa treatments, allowing a rebalancing of mind and body, and the full emergence of your Joie de Vivre.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahelianarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I have stayed at other hotels in London but once I have stayed at One Aldwych I would not stay anywhere else. Great location, could walk to my office on Fetter Lane and close to theatres and Covant Garden. Cant wait to find reason to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenP48095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The facial at the spa was excellent 5*
The food was consistently excellent whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner- I ate in the hotel a lot.
Small touches abound- plate of fresh fruit in the room, toiletries nicely laid out, slippers by the beside, a weather report update on a card every day and bottles of the nicest water.
There was absolutely nothing I disliked about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kristal1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#66 of 1,072 in London
2,759 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,072 in London
4,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#16 of 1,072 in London
1,019 reviews
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#102 of 1,072 in London
168 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in London
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £323 - £591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing