We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
One Aldwych
Nearby Hotels
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,314)
Filter reviews
2,314 results
Traveller rating
1,774
391
108
30
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,774
391
108
30
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate factorylobby barafternoon teacovent gardenindigo restaurantwaterloo bridgeprivate loungehealth clubturn down servicewest endbottle of champagnewonderful hotelperfect locationdeluxe roombirthday treatlondon hotelchlorine
Filter
Updating list...
1,881 - 1,886 of 2,314 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Our meeting was scheduled for The Waldorf Astoria but as we entered the fire alarm went off and the building was evacuated!

It was an easy decision to visit an “old friend” - the lobby bar at One Aldwych.
It wasn’t crowded, the welcome was, as always, professional.
The Martinis were perfect and we left refreshed and relaxed after a thoroughly professional business meeting in a light, airy and inspiring space.

It’s nice to see that standards haven’t dropped here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopTripie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear TopTripie
Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to our Lobby Bar. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and in particular our special Martinis. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again soon for your next meeting.
Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The location, the design, the rooms, the staff, the food, the bar, everything is perfect. But what I prefer above all is the pool. It has to be one of the most stunning pool in London and just the perfect way to start the day or recover from a day out. The location is perfect for making the most of your stay in London, will definitely return.

Room Tip: The circular rooms are breathtaking
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Richard H
Many thanks for writing a review following your recent visit. I am pleased to know that you are a fan of the hotel and I appreciate your commenting on our stunning pool, which is chlorine free and features underwater music. We do hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

It has been a few years since I stayed at this property, but it's just as good as I remember.
The rooms are mid-sized and sparkling clean. Restaurant is good and the lobby bar is terrific.
The location in the theater district near Covent Garden can't be beat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgtravles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear mgtravles
We were delighted to welcome you back to One Aldwych after so long and I am pleased to know that you found us to be as good as you remember. Thank you very much indeed for your positive comments and for noting our convenient Covent Garden location.
Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Love One Aldwych - a true luxury boutique hotel as central as you can get in London. Its not cheap by any stretch of the imagination, but then you wouldnt expect it to be. Great restaurant and bar area, friendly reception, great rooms (at least the one I had which looked out onto the Alwych). Despite the location, I found the room quiet and comfortable with a good bathroom. I would not hesitate to stay here again and found it better and more personal than other nearby luxury hotels.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms looking out onto the Aldwych to watch people go by. I suspect the rooms looking out onto the Lion King Theatre are quieter if you wanted to open the windows.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Ross H
Many thanks for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at One Aldwych. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time with us and noted our individual approach. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon.
Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We didn't know much about this hotel but were attracted by the idea of their Martinis and Movies night and decided to try it out.

The location was very convenient for theatre goers, with many of London's theatres just around the corner and others within easy walking distance. The staff couldn't have been more professional or helpful - from the moment the door staff whisked away our decidedly unimpressive car to park it for us, to the moment they brought it back and carefully deposited our luggage in the boot. I really liked their grey and purple uniforms too - they were smart and modern and set the tone for the smart, modern interior of the hotel.

The movie that night was the lovely, quirky 'Moonrise Kingdom'. The cinema is very small - only 30 large, leather covered seats in four or five rows. We were ushered to our seats and offered a cocktail, made before our eyes in the cinema. Be warned - the Vodka Martinis are VERY strong! They thoughtfully also offer bottled water in case you need to sober up. My only qualm concerns the popcorn, offered in large styrofoam cups - it was a bit tasteless.

Bland popcorn apart, it was a lovely experience and we shall do it again. The movie was followed by a meal in their AXIS restaurant, which is part of the package. The set menu wasn't large but it was delicious and the service was excellent.

We ended our evening with champagne cocktails in their large, elegant but very comfortable bar area, and then wandered off to bed, more than slightly fuddled. Even the bed was comfortable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear kittywise
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Martini Movies experience. I am very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your evening. All feedback is invaluable to us and we have noted all your comments – my apologies that you found our Martinis rather strong! I will certainly share your thoughts with the team and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews