We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #39 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
244 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here three nights as a treat to ourselves between family visits over Christmas and new year and I have to say I was disappointed. I thought our room, even by London standards, was very small. So small we couldn't open both suitcases at the same time and certainly couldn't dream of ordering room service, even for breakfast. There was nowhere for the tray or trolley to go.
There were just two tiny shelves in the wardrobe, the rest of the space being taken by the mini bar, glasses and so on, and one of the bedside tables was taken up by a huge telephone - does anyone use those any longer?
The bathroom went some way to making up for the bedroom, where there was plenty of space for our toiletries, though using the shower was a challenge as the head was fixed high up and if you don't want to wash your hair, what do you do?
Plus one of the reasons we chose One Aldwych was to eat at Axis and guess what, it was closed the whole time we were there.
The standout feature of our stay was the toiletries from Plantation - but that was an awful lot of money to spend on a nice bar of soap and some body lotion...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Moth

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at One Aldwych,

I am extremely sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. With regard to our guest rooms we have many categories and sizes available which may suit better for a future stay.
I also apologise that you were unable to experience Axis Restaurant, which is open on Christmas Day and New Year’s Eve only during the holiday period. I regret that this was not mentioned to you at the time of booking and I hope that you were able to enjoy our Indigo Restaurant as an alternative.

Thank you again for your comments and should you consider a future visit please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,546
    339
    96
    30
    10
See reviews for
409
760
94
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

One Alwych is a superb hotel. The decor is fabulous, rooms prisitine and service excellent, especially at reception and the concierge. The hotel has wonderful facilities with full gym, swimming pool and steam room, good bar and quiet area for residents only. Yet all of this is only 2 minutes from Covent Garden and all the theatres of the West End.
This is our favourite hotel in London and we can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Sharon B

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review of One Aldwych. I am thrilled that we are your favoured hotel in London and I very much appreciate your feedback on our service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

OK, lets start by saying I got an upgrade…that’s helps right away! Thank you One Aldwych, a lovely room with fantastic views for the London night.
I couldn’t open the door to the suite so had to go back down to the lobby as there was no phone, or at least I couldn’t find a phone by the elevators. The lady at reception knew straight away what the problem was so I suspect it was not a new issue. Once in, wow, what a lovely room. I wish I had the hubby with me to enjoy it. I was literally there for 9 hours! I had a lovely sleep although the air con was not the best. It didn’t really cool the room and there was a slight humming noise from somewhere, but I do generally tend to tune into those types of noises. Needless to say, the bed was fantastic and the pillows perfect for me. A nice overnight stay, felt very safe as a lone lady traveller. I also liked that reception was discrete advising room number when two men were standing behind me (they were not with me I hasten to add!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chappells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Chappells

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of One Aldwych. We are delighted that you enjoyed your suite and views over London. I do appreciate your feedback and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eu, France
Level Contributor
449 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It has been praised to me by locals but I was disappointed. The room was very small, the lobby was not extraordinary, but nothing bad, the concierge city directions approximate. But the personnel is nice and willing to help. The tea in the lobby is recommendable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valentin M

Thank you for writing regarding your recent visit, we do appreciate your feedback and I am sorry to hear of your disappointment. With regard to our rooms, we have many categories available and I would be pleased to discuss some alternative larger rooms should you consider a future visit. I will also address your comments with regard to directions given.

I would like to thank you for mentioning our helpful team and our afternoon tea.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

It was our first time staying overnight in London. Perfect location. Staff extremely polite, professional, friendly and helpful from stepping through the door to departure. Luxurious linens, toiletries etc. Everything was immaculate and clean. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and again staff very polite and helpful. Barely heard a sound from outside considering the busy location.
Only downside was we didn't have enough time to enjoy the rest of the facilities the hotel had on offer so we will have to return! It was thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiewhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Mrs Whiteman

Thank you for posting a review following your recent visit to One Aldwych. I am very pleased to hear that your first London stay was such a success and we do hope that you will have the opportunity to return.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights on business. I found the hotel to be good and convenient, though not a "grand hotel". Room was modern and quiet, though I found the bathroom modest sized. Comfortable bed. The gym is ok but could use a bit of an upgrade. I ate three meals at the hotel (1 at the bar and 2 at Indigo). The food was delicious and the staff was terrific. I arrived late in the eve and appreciated their willingness to prepare a light meal not on the bar menu. At every encounter I found the staff eager to be helpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank hkdad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Hkdad3

Thank you for writing following your recent visit to One Aldwych. I very much appreciate your feedback and I am pleased to hear that our team were so helpful throughout your stay. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here for New Years Eve Fireworks for one night. Used the lobby bar tate dinner in he Axis restaurant and had breakfast in the other rstaurant overlooking the lobby bar but didnt use the pool facilities. Location right by Waterloo Bridge easy access to theatre zone, Covent Garden and the Strand and no more than five minute walk to two tube stations in opposite directions. Woud have been perfect for Waterloo Bridge fireworks viewing but the crowds built up really early so we had to make our way to Temple Tube area to view from there. We went to an afternoon matinee of the Bodyguard about 100 metres away and looked out at the theatre perfoming Lion King when we had breakfast. On arrival at the hotel pleasant welcome by concierge and the hotel had a good overall modern relaxing feel. Check in was painless and our room was really nice and although located alongside a busy street the thick curtains and really comfortable beds and pillows enabled us to get a good night sleep. The main bar is a good size and had a great xmas tree in the middle and some interesting art/statues. it was reasonably busy with afternoon tea when we arrived and later in the evening before and after celbrations so good atmosphere without being boisterous. We ate a set new year taster menu in the Axis and got great service and good value food. Breakfast ihe following morning was alos high standard very tasty. We researched the hotel photis etc in advance and got no suprises All in all great hotel delivered all we expected. My wife says she would definitely return if she wanted to stay in this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkdon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear mkdon5

Thank you for choosing One Aldwych for your New Year’s celebrations. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy the atmosphere in our local area and made the most of Covent Garden’s Theatreland. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to see you again on a future visit.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#70 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#41 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Property: One Aldwych
Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in London
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing