We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic afternoon tea!!”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #40 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic afternoon tea!!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of enjoying the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon tea last week. It was worth every penny. The service was great, staff were attentive and friendly. The food was amazing, we were offered a top up of sandwiches and pastries which we gladly accepted and all for no extra charge. The desserts were superb!! My friend and I had huge smiles on our faces for the whole experience and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Kay P

It is a pleasure to read your lovely review of our Afternoon Tea and thank you so much for taking the time to write.

I will be delighted to pass on your comments to all our Lobby Bar and kitchen team. Thank you very much for your recommendation and we hope that we will welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,612
    353
    101
    30
    10
See reviews for
426
792
97
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

So many hotels barely acknowledge repeat guests - One Aldwych is the opposite. The staff remember you extremely well and treat you superbly. Little things make all the difference, and One Aldwych does pay attention to the details. Door and porter staff seem to have really upped their game too and very impressive to see them watching for taxis pulling up outside and running out with umbrellas to keep their guests dry.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian-Mc-SOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Ian-Mc-SOR

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to One Aldwych and thank you sincerely for your super review.

We greatly value our many regular guests and I am so pleased that this is always displayed to you by our team. Thank you in particular for your comments on our Door and porter colleagues, whom I know will be thrilled to read your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Whilst we did not have the pleasure of an overnight stay, I have visited the lobby bar several times and had the pleasure of experiencing the Charlie & The Chocolate Factory themed afternoon tea earlier this week. This was a celebration for one of my daughter's graduation and we spent over 2 hours experiencing the food and enjoying cocktails and champagne. My only small criticism would be that (compared to other London hotel teas) the sandwich selection was not very imaginative, rather lacked flavour (apart from the delicious salmon) and the bread was a little dry. The sweet selection and presentation however was simply stunning and I would say, the candy floss, chocolate eggs and chocolate milk really special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear BB2511

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to One Aldwych for Afternoon Tea.

I am pleased to hear that you and your granddaughter enjoyed your special celebration and I very much appreciate all your comments. My apologies that there were some aspects that were not to our usual standards and I will certainly discuss these with our kitchen team.

Thank you once again and I do hope that we will welcome you back, either to the Lobby Bar, or if an opportunity allows, for an overnight stay.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Came for drinks in the lobby bar, the cocktails were wonderful with a great selection to choose from. We were seen to immediately and told to wait at the bar until a table was free, which was only a few minutes wait. Will definitely be back, hopefully for dinner.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Simon S

Thank you for your great review of the Lobby Bar at One Aldwych. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to One Aldwych again soon and I do hope that you have the opportunity to enjoy dinner with us on your next visit.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights for my Birthday and loved the Hotel, I stayed in an Aldwych (standard) room. I was very spoilt, given a complementary bottle of Champagne and birthday cake, then a couple of days later a bottle of red and nibbles and then chocolates. There is always some fruit in the room and the flowers in the hotel are stunning. The Wi-Fi is easy to use and didn't cut out during my stay and is included. The pool is a good size and there is a sauna and steam room. I enjoyed the bar, it had a great atmosphere and the afternoon tea looked amazing, I saw it after having had Sunday lunch, so unfortunately did not try but definitely next time (I don't normally do afternoon tea). The location is ideal for the theatre and Covent garden which has great restaurants. The river Thames is very close by, Waterloo bridge is across the Strand from the hotel which takes you to the South bank. What I liked most about the hotel were the staff, everyone was very friendly and helpful especially at breakfast and in the bar. Housekeeping were very thoughtful, they gave me a plastic bag for my liquids for security at the airport and were not mean, with bottled water, toiletries or towels, (I often have a room to myself when I travel and some hotels I have stayed in halve everything, even when the room price is the same for 2 people as for 1). One Aldwych is the 6th five star London hotel that I have stayed in over the past year and is my favourite.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harriet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Harriet R

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at One Aldwych. We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday with us and I very much appreciate your super comments regarding our friendly service, facilities and ideal location in Covent Garden. We are very happy that we are now your favourite five star hotel in London and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My friend and I stayed at One Aldwych for 4 nights in January. It was more expensive than I usually allow myself, but I was sharing and we decided to treat ourselves. We were basically visiting London and Stratford Upon Avon on a "Play Blitzkrieg" vacation...9 plays in 8 days altogether. The Aldwych was an ideal location for our program. A few minutes away from fun restaurants and several of the plays we were seeing; walk across the Waterloo Bridge and we arrived at the National Theatre, walking down by the river to the Globe and the Wanamaker. We visited Hampton Court Palace, walking over to Waterloo Station and taking the train, we walked to Westminster Abbey, and the British Museum....for us the most ideal location in London. Our room was very comfortable, the staff were welcoming and attentive, helping with doors, suitcases, and advice. I especially compliment Alan the concierge who was really helpful with advice about best walking routes and general information. We splurged on fancy cocktails in the very comfortable lounge after plays and really enjoyed them. I used the beautiful swimming pool early in the morning and loved the experience, We loved little touches like cards left for us every evening about the weather forecast for the following day. I wondered before if I might feel a bit intimidated at the hotel...but no, it was very welcoming and comfortable. For the rest of our trip we sighed when we remembered our stay there! Thanks to all the staff and it was a really enjoyable stay in London. And a shout out to David Tennant, Simon Russell Beale, and Jude Law who shared Shakespeare with us. The new Wanamaker Theatre at the Globe is a jewel.
All our theatre was superb. London is wonderful, and so is One Aldwych.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Susan Z

Thank you for your lovely review of One Aldwych. I am delighted that you found our location in the heart of Theatreland ideal for your busy schedule. Thank you also for your kind feedback regarding our colleagues and especially Alan and his Concierge team. We hope that we will see you again on a future London visit.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here three nights as a treat to ourselves between family visits over Christmas and new year and I have to say I was disappointed. I thought our room, even by London standards, was very small. So small we couldn't open both suitcases at the same time and certainly couldn't dream of ordering room service, even for breakfast. There was nowhere for the tray or trolley to go.
There were just two tiny shelves in the wardrobe, the rest of the space being taken by the mini bar, glasses and so on, and one of the bedside tables was taken up by a huge telephone - does anyone use those any longer?
The bathroom went some way to making up for the bedroom, where there was plenty of space for our toiletries, though using the shower was a challenge as the head was fixed high up and if you don't want to wash your hair, what do you do?
Plus one of the reasons we chose One Aldwych was to eat at Axis and guess what, it was closed the whole time we were there.
The standout feature of our stay was the toiletries from Plantation - but that was an awful lot of money to spend on a nice bar of soap and some body lotion...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Moth

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at One Aldwych,

I am extremely sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. With regard to our guest rooms we have many categories and sizes available which may suit better for a future stay.
I also apologise that you were unable to experience Axis Restaurant, which is open on Christmas Day and New Year’s Eve only during the holiday period. I regret that this was not mentioned to you at the time of booking and I hope that you were able to enjoy our Indigo Restaurant as an alternative.

Thank you again for your comments and should you consider a future visit please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#66 of 1,069 in London
2,649 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#39 of 1,069 in London
4,613 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#19 of 1,069 in London
997 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,069 in London
791 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,069 in London
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Property: One Aldwych
Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#40 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing