We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not "all that"”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #42 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Location is great, the staff were really friendly and helpful but it feels like a "Crowne Plaza" or some corporate chain… it just isn't luxurious enough or unique enough to justify the cost.

I booked a large room to allow space for my young daughter, so three of us could share a room. I was quoted the cost of two adults (about £850 for two nights… kids under 16 are free) and included notes about my daughter, but charged for three adults (£1,000+) and despite a brief protest couldn't be bothered making a scene. This was exacerbated when we got to the room and they hadn't made a bed up for her.

I'm not here to promote other upmarket hotels in London, but I have stopped at others which are much better. It's also noisy as hell!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marthall_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Marthall_Nick

Thank you for getting in touch following your recent visit. I appreciate your feedback and your comments regarding our location and helpful team.

I am most concerned that there was confusion regarding your booking arrangements and I would very much like to address this. I hope you don’t mind if I therefore contact you directly and I will be pleased to look into this matter personally.

Thank you again for writing.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,528 - 1,534 of 2,176 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the One Aldwych on the 14th Feb as part of our annual London Valentines theatre trip.
We always stay in an nice hotel near the theatre and chose this one this year. We booked an exec room, the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was lovely.- Now for the bad - There was no tea and coffee facilities (no instructions for tea tray either) a half bottle of white wine from mini bar was £29.00!!! yes a half bottle of white wine from mini bar was £29.00!!! We wanted a morning up of tea with A slice of toast - £19.00 yes a morning up of tea with A slice of toast - £19.00!!!! Even the Dorchester lets you have a tea tray! We had afternoon tea and the service was so very slow - we even shared what we had with the couple beside us because we all were waiting so long!There is also a 12% service charge on everything including the morning tea!- when did it jump to 12%???
The reception staff are lovely - no complaints there but in future we will stay away from the One Aldwych because....it isnt!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else or bring a flask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Liz H

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit, I appreciate your many positive comments regarding the hotel and our team.

With regard to tea and coffee facilities, we offer coffee makers as a permanent feature in many of our rooms, and tea and coffee making facilities are available to all our guests on request. I am so sorry that this was not offered to you and I will certainly discuss the matter with our team. Reference our pricing, we have always endeavoured to be priced fairly against our competitors and we remain in line with other five star hotels in our immediate area.

Our sincere apologies for any disappointment and thank you again for taking the time to write.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Took my wife here for the chocolate tea on her birthday (4th February) with daughter in toe and can without hesitation say it was excellent and good value for money.
The food is fantastic and we were offered extra helpings of the things we liked most. The sugary deserts can be overkill if not careful but hey they so delicious you just want more.
They even ought out a little chocolate bithday cake with candle which was nice.
Italian server was brilliant (sorry didn't take her name) and made the experience even better. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Brian B

Thank you for writing following your visit to The Lobby Bar for our Afternoon Tea ‘Inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations and had a successful afternoon.

Thank you again and we hope we will welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We arrived in torrential rain and the concierge ran out to our taxi and ushered us into the hotel under his umbrella. This set the tone for our brief stay: exceptional service. I had inadvertently booked a twin rather than a double bedded room, when I spotted this during check-in the receptionist immediately invited us to have a complimentary tea or coffee in the lobby while they found us a new room. We chose mint tea, made from fresh mint - delicious! All the staff without exception were first rate. We had lunch and dinner in the Axis and Indigo restaurants, both good and fairly priced. The facilities are good, the location is excellent - right in the middle of buzzing, vibrant Covent Garden - and the prices while not cheap are reasonable for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucullus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Lucullus2013

It is a pleasure to read your review of One Aldwych and thank you for sharing such positive comments, especially regarding our first rate team.

We do hope that we will see you again and perhaps for a longer stay should an opportunity arise.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A beautiful lobby bar away from the hustle and bustle, very refined but also very friendly if you are near the Strand it's a must! We went after the theatre and were greeted warmly, the cocktail list is great I actually asked for something that wasn't on their list and it was no trouble for them at all, a really nice way to end the evening

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Gezz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear CDBLeicestershire

Thank you for your review and recommendation of The Lobby Bar at One Aldwych. The Lobby Bar team are delighted to read your comments and we all hope that we welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for my 40th birthday and we had an amazing experience
The staff is extremely helpful , the rooms are beautiful especially since we were upgraded in a Suite as it was my birthday, and offered a bottle of champagne served in our room also! The views from the rooms on the last floor of the hotel is very nice
The location is perfect, next to Covent Garden but in a quiet place, also walking distance from the River
I travel a lot and stay very often in 4 and 5 star hotels, and I must say this is one of the best experiences I've had

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emgiviro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Emgiviro

We were delighted to welcome you for your birthday celebrations and I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

I do hope there is another occasion when we can welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I was un a busuness trip to London a´nd stayed at this wonderfull hotel with very attentive staff. The receptionist suggested to follow us to the room to make sure that everything was to our likings, but that was not nescessary, because nothing was missing.
The hotel is very environmental friendly with low water and energy consumption.
Location very close to Covent Garden is ideal and food and drinks quality high.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Johannes4300

Thank you for writing a review of One Aldwych, we were pleased to welcome you for your recent visit.

We especially appreciate your mentioning the environmental aspects of our hotel. We are greatly conscious of our responsibilities towards sustainable tourism and have won many Awards for our efforts.

We do hope that we will see you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME by Melia London
ME by Melia London
#71 of 1,075 in London
2,798 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,075 in London
4,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#16 of 1,075 in London
1,026 reviews
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#56 of 1,075 in London
179 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in London
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#42 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £319 - £580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing