We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #39 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were given an expenses paid night out in London from her work as a thank you for her commitment to the company. The company arranged it all so all we had to do was turn up.
We arrived at the hotel in a taxi and were greeted by staff to open the doors and take our bags and coats etc. We were then guided to reception. Once checked in we were shown the vip lounge and then to our room. And how everything works in the room. Less than two minutes later the bags arrived aswell. The room was plenty big enough for the two of us and was incredibly quiet. The standard of quality from the staff was outstanding. Because we arrived late afternoon. We went straight down to the spa. We both had a massage and both thought they were fantastic. The masseuse was brilliant. But we missed out on the Charlie and the chocolate factory afternoon tea. As we then went out to dinner and theatre. And again the staff got us a cab told the driver where we were going and held the doors. When we arrived back we found our room had been made up ready for bedtime. Slippers on the floor. Lights dimmed, blind and curtains drawn. Was a lovely touch. I couldn't fault anything with the whole experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JamC02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear JamCO2

It was a pleasure to welcome you to One Aldwych and thank you for sharing your thoughts following your visit. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your praise of our Spa treatments. We do hope that there will be an opportunity for you return and experience our Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea. In the meantime thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,513
    332
    93
    29
    10
See reviews for
404
742
90
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Really enjoyed the Christmas dinner and movie offer here. A cocktail in the lovely bar was a great start and the meal was very enjoyable. Afterwards we went down to the small cinema to watch It's A Wonderful Life.

A great evening out, but it's not cheap!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P-God G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear P-God G

Thank you for your review of our popular ‘Film and Fizz’ dinner and movie experience at One Aldwych. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening and hope we will welcome you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My two children and I stayed for one night at One Aldwych on our way back to the US from Malta the summer of 2013. Upon entering the doors of this beautiful Edwardian style facade, I was surprised to see the modern touches inside.
The front desk gets 5 stars for their service and suggested tea in their gorgeous lobby/bar area while waiting for our room.
If you are looking for amenities, One Aldwych has them in spades. The bath products, turndown service, and quality of linens exceeded our expectations.
With only one night, we were also able to enjoy their pool which again surprises the senses as you leave the modern mirrored elevators to find yourself feeling as you've travelled to the belly of a modern ocean liner. Surrounded in blue light, and slate with an underwater sound system; you would be tempted to not explore the best of London right outside your doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Beth B

It was a pleasure to welcome you to One Aldwych last summer and thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our modern facilities and five star service and I hope we will welcome you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Everything was actually amazing about this afternoon tea! Extra savouries offered and as much super tasty tea as you could drink! Staff very friendly and helpful. Candy floss tasted exactly like rhubarb and custard sweets! Highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear KathrynG83

We are delighted that you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Thank you very much for your review and recommendation and we hope to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Had a great experience with the Charlie and the chocolate factory themed afternoon tea. The Charlie cocktail was delicious to kick off the experience. The sandwiches were your standard for any afternoon tea, but when it gets to the sweets, wow! The creativity, presentation and taste were all AMAZING! Would thoroughly recommend to people who are going to see the show in the evening, or if you fancy a different twist on the standard afternoon tea in London.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Greg T

We were delighted to welcome you to One Aldwych and thank you your fantastic comments regarding our Afternoon Tea inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

I do hope we will see you at One Aldwych again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night July 2013.
The room was spacious for London and had excellent service. We were given a free glass of champagne on arrival in the guests area.
My favourite parts were the cocktails and swimming pool. The location is great for theatres and restaurants.
Definitely the best hotel we have stayed at in London.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mackay-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear mackay-7

Thank you for your review of One Aldwych, I am thrilled to hear that we are your favoured hotel in London. Thank you for mentioning the cocktails in our Lobby Bar and our chlorine-free swimming pool with its underwater music.

I do hope that there is an occasion when we can welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Chose the hotel due to tripadvisor recommendation aswell as location and wasn't disapointed, it was expensive but you get what you pay for and it was my partners 40th so I pushed the boat out.
Right from arriving the place is just special from the flowers and plants to the best sound insulating windows I've ever experienced.
couldn't really find a fault!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcv888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear dcv888

Thank you for writing following your stay at One Aldwych. I am happy to hear that we met your expectations and appreciate your positive feedback.

Thank you also for mentioning our wonderful floral displays by our in-house Florist, Mark Siredzuk.

We hope that we will see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#72 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#42 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#14 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Property: One Aldwych
Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing