We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding West End place to stay”
Review of One Aldwych

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
One Aldwych
Ranked #39 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
193 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Outstanding West End place to stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Walk to Covent Garden and the Opera, stroll to all the shows you might want to see. Walk to the old pubs at the Inns of Court Bus stops across the street with direct service to Shoreditch.

Very comfortable not over designed rooms. The lobby bar is a great space.

We have stayed many times in Mayfair and wanted to go East (into the West End). Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear marekw

Thank you for your comments and recommendation of One Aldwych. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our terrific location in Covent Garden.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,546
    339
    96
    30
    10
See reviews for
409
760
94
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We tried this hotel especially for the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Tea they were offering and also after seeing it on Master Chef 2013! We were not disappointed.
Excellent hotel and service, but the afternoon tea, pre seeing the Charlie Musical that night was truly magical. Amazing, well designed, filling deserts and it was one of our birthdays and they even gave us a special cake. An unforgettable experience both food and stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandKim_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear PaulandKim_10

I am delighted that you decided to visit One Aldwych following the Master Chef programme last year. We are thrilled that we met your expectations and that you had an enjoyable afternoon celebration.

We do hope to see you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a beautiful hotel set in a lovely location. We went for our anniversary with our 3 month old boy and were upgraded to an executive suite. It was a cot for our little one with a really adorable gift in the form of a cute OneAldwych teddy bear. We went to explore the hotel a little later and there was a lovely swimming pool which is chlorine free! A lovely gym and private lounge for hotel guests so you can get away from the noise in the lobby. The staff were lovely and had a smile on their face, especially the Manager Alessandro. The hotel is a short walk away from Covent Garden, the theatre district and Waterloo bridge. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and had a lovely sleep, the cushions in particular were so soft! Even though we were near the theatre, we could hardly hear any noise from outside! There was only a couple of negative points: when we were in the room one of the cleaners came in without knocking which was slightly odd and also the robes in the bathroom are quite heavy which means you don't end up wearing them! Also we felt the breakfast would have been much better as a buffet breakfast like served in other hotels. Overall though it was an amazing stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Noreen M

We very much appreciate your taking the time to write following your recent visit to One Aldwych.

Thank you for all your positive comments regarding our location, Health Club and Spa and our cheerful staff. I hope you will accept my apologies for our disturbing you unexpectedly and I will ensure this is followed up with the team.

Thank you once again and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to One Aldwych and if anything I think it got better. The service was exceptional; an early check in, really friendly, attentive staff, lots of helpful information and nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms are a good size if not huge, lovely linen and comfy beds, the bathrooms are a good size too, although the Eco friendly waste system is a little disconcerting until you get used to it.

The hotel is in a great position for the West End, Covent Garden and exploring the rest of London.

Breakfast was really good, nothing was too much trouble for our server.

Highly recommend this
Hotel and expect more trips!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank floridakeys2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear floridakeys2009

We were delighted to welcome you back to One Aldwych and thank you for your review and recommendation.

I very much appreciate your many positive comments and in particular our exceptional service. We do hope that we will see you again on a future London visit.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is quite cozy. The location is fantastic if you are into theatre and shopping. All the major plays that are being shown are just a stone's throw away. There good restaurants and cafes nearby. This hotel is extremely close to Covent Garden. If you don't feel like going out, the cafe serves good food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheosrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear oriss

Thank you for your review of One Aldwych. We very much appreciate your feedback on our great location in London’s theatreland. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I love One Aldwych! I recently celebrated my 50th Birthday at the hotel and from start to finish it really was the most amazing experience. The hotel is stunningly modern, smart and elegant at the same time and perfectly located in the heart of Covent Garden. There were 17 girls in our group but everything ran so smoothly. The food was fabulous, from the personalised Birthday cake to the delicious and very clever Charlie and the Chocolate Factory themed afternoon tea. The cocktails were lovely too, especially the flamboyant Charlie smoking with dry ice. The cute cinema within the hotel was perfect for evening entertainment. Dinner in Axis restaurant was sublime as was the award winning breakfast. But the credit has to go to the amazing staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Everything had been thought of, as you would expect from a 5* hotel. They were genuinely such lovely people who seemed to love their jobs and love us all too! Ask for the very, very, petite/tiny tiny Italian lady to look after you, she was wonderful. The whole experience was perfect from start to finish. Really made turning 50 an absolute pleasure. I would definitely suggest you hurry there. Even if you don't stay over just go for a cocktail, or the Food Film & Fizz evening or the Afternoon Tea. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkFozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear NorfolkFozzy

Thank you for your terrific review of One Aldwych, we were delighted to welcome you for your special celebration.

I am thrilled to read your comments and to hear how much you enjoyed Afternoon Tea and our ‘Film and Fizz’ experience. Thank you also for mentioning our wonderful team, of whom we are very proud.

We very much appreciate your recommendation and hope that we will see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My friend and I treated ourselves to the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Afternoon Tea at One Aldwych and we had a wonderful experience. The surroundings were open and spacious, there was music playing softly and the staff were quietly there when you needed them.

The sandwiches and little tartlets and quiches were lovely and the pastry melted in your mouth. When they brought the sweet part of the meal, it was fabulous. They had really gone to town with the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory theme. Even the menu's were part of the theme. They were beautifully illustrated. There was candy floss, cake pops, chocolate eggs filled with vanilla cheesecake, warm scones, different flavoured jams, eton mess and a few other delicious edibles.

I also went to The Ritz recently, for afternoon tea, and I have to say that for food and service, One Aldwych was far better. It was also fantastic value for money too.

Madalena was our main waitress and she was fantastic. She was friendly, chatty when asked questions, smiling and just a lovely person. Her customer service made the experience even better.

When I asked if I could keep my menu, as it was a birthday treat with my friend and I wanted the menu as a souvenir, she said it was fine and then later appeared with a little birthday cake with a candle. I was so touched by her gesture. It was lovely.

All in all, it was a wonderful experience and I would love to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lincolnlass28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KostasSfaltos, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Lincolnlass28

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your thoughts on Afternoon Tea ‘inspired by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’ at One Aldwych.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday celebration and it was most thoughtful of you to personally mention Magdelana. I shall ensure that your comments are passed on - I know they will be greatly appreciated.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again.

Yours sincerely

Kostas Sfaltos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London Hotel
ME London Hotel
#70 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#41 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Aldwych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Aldwych

Property: One Aldwych
Address: 1 Aldwych | Westminster Borough, London WC2B 4BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#27 Romantic Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One Aldwych 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Aldwych is an award-winning contemporary luxury hotel with a superb location in Covent Garden. Set in the heart of Theatreland, just moments away from the world-famous Royal Opera House and many of London's top attractions, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the capital. Each of One Aldywch's 105 bedrooms and suites has been individually designed to provide the utmost in comfort and feature original works of art from the hotel's private collection. Guests are welcome to use The Health Club's stunning chlorine-free pool with underwater music and state-of-the-art gym during their stay. Indigo restaurant is popular with guests and locals alike and ideal for pre and post theatre suppers. Showcasing innovative and thoughtful food, courtesy of Executive Chef Dominic Teague, the Indigo menu incorporates the finest seasonal ingredients carefully sourced from the British Isles, and also happens to be entirely gluten and dairy-free. The Lobby Bar's inventive cocktails and afternoon tea inspired by Charlie & the Chocolate Factory are just some of the many other reasons that make a stay at One Aldywch so memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your One Aldwych reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Aldwych
One Aldwych Hotel London
One Aldwych London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing